We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tarpon Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tarpon Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A bit of history but that's about it. Rooms are very small and a/c window unit made it hard to sleep. It does have history and I can say we have stayed there but probably not again. We go to Port A at least one a year and there are a lot of other places to stay. Try Sunday Villas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcsnook79
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay for a family reunion and deep sea fishing trip. The hotel has kept it's ambiance furnished with antiques and hardwood floors. Rocking chairs on the porch were a great spot to watch Port A on parade. There are no TVs or phones in the rooms. The only complaint would be the old, slippery,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect place to slow down and recharge away from modern technology....Always a friendly staff, and easy to check in...Nice just to sit out on the porch in the rocking chairs and enjoy the evening breeze.

Helpful?
Thank Maruitta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We have been staying at the Tarpon Inn for over 9 years. It's old and has some of the quirks of an old place...but we love rocking on the front porch with a drink in hand and our dog at our feet. If you enjoy chatting with strangers and people watching, it's a fantastic location. We always meet the greatest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and thank you for loving the Tarpon Inn! Come back and see us soon! More 

texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

The historic inn is really a wonderful experience for relaxation and being close to everything. They don't have T.V.s or telephones, but they do have charm! It's kinda like visiting The Gage in Marathon, but you're surrounded by restaurants and a short drive to the beach. Great to rock in the rocking chairs and watch people, too. Definitely going back.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetlover
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review and thanks for loving the Tarpon Inn! Please come back and see us soon! More 

Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

The tarpon Inn has a great location--awesome rooms-easy check-in--very friendly Sitting on the common porch watching the traffic go by was very relaxing. Beautiful landscaping. Only several blocks from the beach. A must stay

Helpful?
1 Thank michael H
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, and thanks for loving the Tarpon Inn! Come back and see us again soon!! More 

Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
535 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

It is historic hotel, and has lots of character, but there were some issues, and the hotel will not be for everyone. I am pretty forgiving when it comes to older hotels, as they are always a work in progress, and there will always be projects to tackle. That said, Room 23 had terrible furniture. The picture appears to be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl B
tarpon1886, General Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and letting us know what we need to do better. Like you said this is an old Inn and is a constant work in progress. We are always trying to do better. Hope you'll come back and see us again soon! More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

Centrally located port Arkansas Texas the hotel very centrally located walking distance from everywhere no television in room I like that no telephone in room also like that quiet peaceful just a little bit pricey although spring break is coming

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it's always nice to hear you our guest have enjoyed the Inn. We hope you enjoy the rest of you stay here this week! More 

San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

We have stayed at the Tarpon Inn Dozens of times over the years with the latest being Valentines Weekend. It is a historical site for sure. The rooms are all decorated differently with vintage photos from the area. The small swimming pool is great to dive into after a day on the beach or fishing. It is also very close... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Matt J
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We at the Tarpon Inn love it here, and we really appreciate hearing when our guests have enjoyed themselves and get what makes the Tarpon Inn so special! Please come see us again! More 

millerton, ny
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

The Tarpon Inn has a charming exterior but offers terrible value compared to the competition. Not enough room to open your suitcase and get to the other side of the bed. No TV or phone. I'm fine with that but it shouldn't cost extra. Room for only one bedside table and one bed-no chair, no desk. Then the restaurants that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank critic735
tarpon1886, Manager at Tarpon Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but in fairness you were allowed to view the room on your own, Before you decided to stay here and after viewing the room and asking if there was anything bigger you were informed that we did in fact have larger rooms but it would be at a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Aransas hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
2.0 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.7 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#14 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 200' long porches to relax on since 1886, the longest porches in Texas stretches and relaxes along with you. The salt air and breezes are gently encouraged by old-fashioned ceiling fans.  The sweet creaking of roomy rocking chairs blends with the pages of a novel being turned. Where each room is decorated in period antiques and no two rooms are alike and where there are no televisions nor telephones.      If our place sounds like your kind of place, then please consider this an invitation to make yourself at home. We're waiting to treat you as part of our Tarpon Inn family and encourage you to wonder if it's possible to stay forever,or at least a couple more days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tarpon Inn

Address: 200 E Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5124
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range: $100 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Tarpon Hotel Port Aransas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing