We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Av. Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Arona, Tenerife Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/21/22
Travelocity$90
Hotels.com$90
travelup.com$99
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1241)
Room & Suite (274)
Dining (88)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Catalonia Oro Negro
Updated 06/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 60 hotels in Playa de las Americas
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.2
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Head massage
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
99Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
26Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3225Reviews568Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,123
  • 1,321
  • 537
  • 142
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jenna F wrote a review Yesterday
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Lovely holiday from the day we arrived we was checked in by Joel and then went to our rooms and noticed a lovely pool view. All the bar staff was very friendly and couldn't help us enough. We was greated every morning and evening and taken to our table in the restaurant and all the restaurant staff are friendly and are always happy to help. There is always something to choose from either fruit, cold meats and bread, pancakes and waffles or a cooked breakfast. In the evening you can choose from fruit, cold meats and bread, meat and fish on the grill, pasta, pizza and other dishes aswell. There is always a variety of cakes and ice cream to choose from. The entertainment team are fab and keep you entertained throughout the day and evening and it is only a short walk to the beach if you like to have a look around. Sometimes you can hear people coming in from being out at night but you get this in all hotels. We would definitely return to this hotel😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tina wrote a review Yesterday
7 contributions7 helpful votes
I've just got back from a 5 night stay, honestly this hotel is lovely I couldn't fault it! ALL the STAFF from front of house to the lifeguards were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Amazing shows and events put on everyday and evening the pool party was so much fun. We had a room that faces the pool and sea, people say you can here the music from Veronica's till early hours of the morning least to say we didn't and I'm a light sleeper. The rooms are basic but no faults had everything you need plenty of plug sockets, air con, celling fan and a mini fridge, the beds were very comfy a nice thick mattress, our rooms were cleaned and beds made and changed regularly. Drinks are a good price, I'm normally a fussy eater but every night in the restaurant there was always something I liked the food was lovely plenty of choice eg steaks, chicken fillets,chicken kebab,lasagne, pallea, salad fresh rolls, Each night there was always a different main meal! And food is cooked fresh in front of you. Location wise is fine if your happy to walk beaches, Veronica's strip, local shops and restaurants near by, if not taxis are cheap enough to get you about. All in all to sum up my stay it was fantastic and would definitely come back to your hotel, all your staff are a credit to your hotel. Thank again for a great stay 😍😀
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Heidi J wrote a review Aug 15
1 contribution
Ive just returned from a weeks stay here with my partner we really enjoyed it the rooms where basic but clean the hotel staff are friendly the food was good with a different selection every evening. We are booking to go back next year as we enjoyed it so much
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the good rating and for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel covered your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the island. Best regards, Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa M wrote a review Aug 13
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom49 contributions7 helpful votes
Loved this hotel, it might be a bit basic to some people but it has everything you could need, there were 3 of us in 1 room & there was still loads of space, the only thing i think it was missing was some drawers, had shelves in the wardrobe but drawers would be better for smalls etc. Air conditioning was great, food choice was great, beds & pillows were really comfortable, we paid for a premium room & the view was brilliant , some comments say you can hear the noise from veronicas but we never heard a thing, I also like the fact that the sunbeds around the pool were locked up till around 9.30 so no mad rush at silly o’clock to get one. we will definitely be back to this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday is for us the best confirmation that we are working in the correct direction. We are looking forwards to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann Marie robertson wrote a review Aug 13
2 contributions1 helpful vote
On arrival at our hotel we were greeted by a friendly receptionist on the front desk who booked us straight in and told us there was a cold buffet down stairs if we wished to eat,we did was ok our room was nice plenty room and overlooking the pool which was great nice size balcony and bathroom we had nothing to complain about apart from 3 things also other guests were complaining about firstly 1 socket in the whole room no mirror to use where this socket was,us women like to do our hair&makeup in the mirror if we were there with children there would be a struggle to charge fones tablets etc so maybe put more sockets in also on the 4th floor there was every day a strong smell of weed constantly I know you can't stop that but not nice at all iv never visited a hotel with this problem this probably wouldn't put us off visiting as we really did enjoy our stay food and bars were lovley nice staff pool area spot on on our last day we went in for dinner only to be told we couldn't eat there that should be told to guests straight away upon arrival as we could of made other arrangements a lot if guests did the same was a bit embarrassing to be honest, told you can't eat half hour before your coach is due family's with kids aswell but would of rather had dinner on leaving instead of cold food upon arrival would definitely visit just returned this morning and are looking to visit again myself and my husband did enjoy our stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the good rating and for your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that all in all the hotel covered your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the island. Best regards, Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RL_Fan wrote a review Aug 10
St Helens, United Kingdom18 contributions53 helpful votes
The hotel deserves a 4.5 stars , giving it a four is too harsh so I’m going to give it a 5 to help balance it towards a 4.5. I’ve got a family here and stayed with another group and we’ve had a great time here. The hotel does everything fine. Nice helpful staff who tried to silence a couple of potheads making a racket in the room next to us. They did this. The food is perfectly good. Standard euro fare with a wide mix of food. The hotel is a solid 4 - 4.5 However the main reason I’m giving a 5 is to do justice to the entertainment staff. There are 4 of them. One from Argentina , one from Cuba and the two girls. They put an outstanding effort in to entertain the people at the hotel. It’s British heavy, but there are a number of German and Dutch also stay here, as well as some Spanish too. They work hard to involve people without annoying you and they deserve a lot of praise. The bar, restaurant and reception staff are excellent too, For that they deserve a 5. I dealt with Adrian, a manager in the hotel over some noisy guests and they helped us. So they fully deserve a 5 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday is for us the best confirmation that we are working in the correct direction. Please come back again soon. Kind regards, Catalonia Oro Negro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michelle w wrote a review Aug 8
1 contribution
We arrived at the hotel at 1 in the morning to be told that we had missed the evening meal (we all redy knew that) thare was some cold food on offer if we wanted it thay youst to give you an extra meal on your last day but not now.Me and my husband had room 345 and my son's had room 347 over looking the bizy Road we did put in a request for rooms overlooking the pool before we got thare but didn't get it. I did ask to be moved as you can't sit on the balcony in pece because of the noise or leve your door open wen you where in the room either. My son's got moved to room 349 after 4 days as thare air-conditioning wasn't working. The bedding was only changed 4 times in 2 weeks and thare was a spot of blood on one of the sheets after the house keeping was in I did report it and the next day I thought it had been changed but thay just turned the sheet around. My son also had a bad nose bleed in the middle of the night thay changed the cover of the pillow but not pillow itself tha3t had blood soked thru it. The food was very verry repetitive it got to the point that I didn't really want to go down for anything to eat thare was no theam nights like before. On the day we checked out thay yoused to have a curtsey room you can book but now you have to yous the worst showers possible at the toilets next to the pool. That are trying to say its because of covid lol 😆 ok then if you say so. I was so looking forward to this holiday but it really wasn't good it has went down hill from wen we where thare 4 years ago.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Sorry to say but try a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your recent experience. We are sorry we did not fulfilled your expectations. The hotel offers cool dinners to all guests that arrive late at night. Regarding room request, you have to take into consideration that this is always under availability. As far as the beds not being changed, we will share your comments to the head department. We hope to welcome you back and offer you a improved experience. Best regards, Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren M wrote a review Aug 8
15 contributions
+1
I traveled alone with my 6 year old daughter we both had such a wonderful time the weather was lovely all week and the hotel was beautiful we had room 202 over looking the pool food was nice although repetitive but was plenty of choice entertainment staff were brilliant my daughter loved them. Wasn’t a bad walk to places we would definitely come back all staff were friendly and approachable. One main downside was the late check out fee. Our flight home wasn’t till gone 11pm and had to check out of the room 12 noon to stay till 3 it was 30euro and till 6 was 60euro we weren’t getting picked up till 08:05 although there’s a luggage storage and outside shower you can use it wasn’t practical with my asd child. We flew there on the Monday but didn’t get to the hotel till gone midnight so we missed the full day a cold lunch was provided although not sufficient enough despite that we still had a lovely time and next time will try and get earlier flights
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest We are very happy to read that our hotel has lived up to your expectations. We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing such a nice review of your stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday means that we are working in the adequate direction. Please come back again soon. Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie W wrote a review Aug 7
Exeter, United Kingdom35 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
I read the reviews before we went so wasn’t sure how our visit would be but it was lovely! The food was good for both breakfast and evenings, with a grill where they cooked the food in front of you. A couple of nights the choice wasn’t so great but we all found something we liked. The staff were friendly and entertainment filled the evenings when we didn’t want to go out. There was a pool party on Wednesday which was fun too. Sunbed wars were rife at the hotel with people trying to reserve them but luckily we had access to the rooftop pool with our room so it wasn’t a problem. The room had air con, fridge etc and we got free water, coffee etc every day. The balcony looked over the pool so was noisy in the evenings but always quiet by 11:30pm. Ignore the bad reviews - a lovely hotel, nice staff, a relatively small hotel in comparison to others in Tenerife. We enjoyed our stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Trying to get a lift at peak food time is good to avoid but really nothing wrong with it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We are very happy to read that our hotel has lived up to your expectations. We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing a nice review of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kindest regards, Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mas wrote a review Aug 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom10 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Lovely hotel. You can see that it was clearly built a good while ago - but also where they’re making improvements to design and decor. We were on floor 3. Balcony with a view over the pool (really big, very deep) also meant you could sit on the balcony to enjoy the night entertainment. There was lots of entertainment through the day too, exercises, pool party, neon party, games. A fridge in our room was handy for water and after sun! Air con was great. I might be tempted to upgrade to have a kettle in the room but I suppose you could take your own. There were plugs near the bed and USB connector. Food was lovely - so much choice! Staff were helpful and friendly and you could see they worked SO hard. Do expect that you have to buy a drink with your evening meal. Wine was €2 a glass but there was also beers, soft drinks and water. I didn’t spend over €5 per night. It was about €18 for a safe for the week, it wasn’t very big but quite deep so you may fit a laptop in it. Plenty of wardrobe space for two people and a basic but clean bathroom. Really enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: You might have to get a sunbed fast. Only because others bagsy them at 10:00 and then disappear...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catalonia Oro Negro, Other at Catalonia Oro Negro
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday is for us the best confirmation that we are working in the adequate direction. Please come back again soon. Kind regards, Catalonia Oro Negro.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia oro negro hotel playa de las americas
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeAronaPlaya de las Americas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
269
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Oro Negro
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Oro Negro?
Nearby attractions include Tramps The King Of Clubs (0.2 miles), Vivo Decades (0.2 miles), and The Anchor Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Oro Negro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taberna Tío Martín, PJ's Bar, and China Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Catalonia Oro Negro?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Oro Negro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Catalonia Oro Negro?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Casa Fuerte (4.2 miles), Mariposa (4.4 miles), and La Fuente de los Tres Chorros (4.3 miles).