We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (180)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (26)

About

#9 of 21 Specialty lodging in Fuerteventura
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Massage
Concierge
Restaurant
Poolside bar
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Family rooms
Iron
Kitchenette
193Reviews
10Q+A
11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 35
  • 60
  • 52
  • 19
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have to admit that the beach is gorgeous BUT 1. The place is full of germans and they are rude. The staff barely speaks any english but very good in german. Sometimes you feel like an outsider.... 2. My mom has gluten allergy and after asking at the reception if they could cook gluten free pasta for her they took our room number and nothing happened afterwards. 3. Food was boring and sometimes too salty or just bad quality. Kitchen staff was rude. (Not to germans......) 4. On our last night there were 3 cockroaches in our apartement and had to call reception for help. It was a horror show really. 5. Did not change our towels in 5 days and cleaning was okay but not great. I do not recommend this place if you are not german. Staff is unhelpful and its not the cleanest and food is not great. Pay more for a better hotel. Not worth to save money on this.. wish i chose a better one i honestly wish
Read more
Response from BLSH, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Jandia Luz
Responded yesterday
Dear kemenynati It would appear that your visit to our hotel did not meet your satisfaction and so we must apologise for this. However, we cannot accept your comments that our staff only look after the German guests. Even though we have many German clients we treat all of our guests in the same friendly and professional manner. We must apologise if your mum's dietary requirement was not dealt with effectively. Our restaurant team try our hardest to deal with all requests but unfortunately we did not meet you requirements which we regret. Regarding the cockroaches this has nothing to do with the cleanliness of the apartments but is due to the hot and humid climate in Fuertaventura. We must bid farewell with an expression of our sorrow for not being the place you had hoped for.
Read more
The food is great: good choice, local delicacies. The ocean is near 3-5 minutes walk. You only need to cross a road (which proved to be quite busy most of the time of day and night). A number of cafes and bars are located nearby as well as shops and supermarkets. The staff has never explained how the catering system works and that there is a bar on the pool and near the restaurant which we can use complimentary as we selected the "all inclusive" option. This is quite upsetting and surely did not add to our experience. The hotel is ok for the price we've paid, however, most of the staff are reluctant to understand anyone unless you speak Spanish. They are also quite impolite. If you want to enjoy your time, you might want to consider not staying here. Zinaida, the receptionist, has been very unprofessional and rather unwilling to help whenever we have approached her. The rooms are not being cleaned every day, the cleaners are clearly avoiding doing a full proper cleaning and don't even change towels unless you ask at the reception for this to be done. No toiletries are replenished from the arrival time. All these little things amount to quite a big frustration and leave unpleasant aftertaste after lovely local wines served in the canteen.
Read more
Response from BLSH, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Jandia Luz
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Anastasia E We regret that you gave us a low score, as this shows that our efforts to please you and give you a good experience have not achieved the objective. We read your opinion and the information you have shared carefully. Without a doubt, all of this will be useful to us in order to improve what is in our hands. But we must tell you that the staff is working hard to maintain kindness to all visitors, including English-speaking visitors. However, we apologise if you have not been satisfied in this respect either. We bid you farewell with our thanks for visiting us.
Read more
+1
Upon arrival, we noticed the receptionist out the back on her mobile phone & wasn't in a hurry to greet us. We had no idea where to find our room as she didn't point us in the direction but luckily a lovely couple saw we were lost & helped us. When I noticed we were allocated to the road side of the hotel I was so upset as I had read a lot of reviews that said to avoid the road side! But the bedroom was located at the front of the room & therefore we never heard any traffic, we rarely had disturbed nights due to noise. The balcony overlooks a very busy road & there was building work going on just under our room, so it was far from relaxing & had no pretty views either. We witnessed a car accident right outside our room (the car ended up on the walkway) the hotel staff reacted quickly & helped the injured driver which they must be praised for, however we learnt to be mindful when walking down the path as the cars do go very fast & can easily lose control - like this driver did! Our apartment was "cleaned" once during the whole week, sheets were not changed once & we had to ask the cleaners for clean towels one day. When they cleaned the apartment they simply empty the bin & make the beds. Unsure why this is as every day we saw the cleaners around the hotel. During the night I was horrified to use the bathroom to be greeted by LOADS of insects!!! All in the bath, on the floor, in the kitchen & lounge. The bedroom was very basic and dated, but we weren't too bothered as we do not come on holiday to spend time in the apartment. There was a kitchen area with a variety of utensils which is useful if you're self catering. The beds were really uncomfortable & hard, have to pay for air conditioning, the TV only had 1 English Channel, stains on the ceiling, funny smell from the shower curtain, the bath plug hole looked as though it had polyfilla around it or painted white? The bath was so small it's uncomfortable to actually have a bath, the floors left our feet dirty & we actually tested them out - we used a damp white towel & wiped the floor & the towel was covered in dirt, the fridge was falling apart & was covered in stains, & the curtains were stained. Food - Weekdays food was absolutely fine, lovely variety & considering I can be quite a fussy eater I always managed to find something to eat. The desserts are more often than not the same each night, however quite tasty nevertheless. The weekend on the other hand... Appalling!! Despite being early for breakfast, lunch & dinner & often being one of the first in the restaurant, the food was always stone cold. Not much of a variety at all unless you like fish. Unable to make a meal out of anything. Desserts were basic, Christmas tree biscuits one evening that I actually hurt my teeth on trying to bite into. On the first evening when we were leaving the restaurant after dinner we were approached by a very rude waitress NYDIA, who told us there's a dress code & that we are not allowed to wear sliders & sleeveless t-shirts & shorts. We apologised & said as it's our first night we didn't realise there was a dress code, nor had anyone told us, & the sign was displayed inside the restaurant - so it was only visible when you're leaving. During the rest of our holiday we always ensured we were dressed in SHOES (not flip flops or sliders), & t-shirts & dresses with sleeves. However quickly noticed almost everyone else in the restaurant were dressed wearing the banned items! Unsure why it was only us who was told off by Nydia? The staff cleaned the tables quickly, but as soon as you're finished with your plate it's quickly whisked away & it makes you feel like you're unable to relax for a few minutes after eating. We went to use the Lounge Bar for a drink as we were a little early for dinner, we attempted to order a drink at 18:20, and had to ask for a waiter to come over. He told us the bar is not open yet, but allowed us to get a drink nevertheless. When we checked the opening times, the bar clearly said it opens at 18:00. No idea why there isn't any staff covering the bar area during opening hours, & why staff do not know themselves when the bar is actually open. We booked "all inclusive"... The only snacks available during the day was yoghurt pots full of ice-cream in 3 different flavours at the pool bar. However the pool bar closes at 18:00, so after dinner there's not really any snacks you can eat. The drinks were pleasant enough, but VERY watered down. Staffing - The staff speak very little English!!! And it's very clear they tend to favour German & Spanish folk over the British, perhaps because most of the staff also speak German? We often tried to make conversation with the staff out of politeness... But most of the time they were quite rude back, but that could be because they didn't understand English. There's a lovely barman / waiter called Miguel, & a lovely blonde waitress - we didn't catch her name unfortunately, but they were always very polite and happy when we saw them. But unfortunately the waitress Nydia, & the reception staff were not so pleasant & welcoming, which let the whole team down! The pool is very cold & very small for the amount of guests at the hotel. The sea actually felt warmer than the pool! Brilliant idea having "help yourself drinks" by the pool. Despite there being a sign to say sun lounges must not be reserved, a majority of guests DID reserve them. The sign says that the pool staff may take away towels if they're not being used for 20 minutes... But this was not the case. Each day we were by the pool, we often saw German couples / families leaving their towels on the sun lounges for over an hour before returning... But the staff did nothing. Upon leaving.... We had a very early transfer (06:45am). We went to check out & the gentleman on the desk did not ask if we had a good stay, thank us, wish us well, or even barely looked at us! He simply asked for our room number & said "OK". We were sat outside in the cold waiting for our transfer... & saw 2 German couples were also checking out, the receptionist escorted them to the restaurant with a huge smile on his face so they could have an early breakfast before they left!!!! Why weren't we offered the same special treatment?! These couples were also late for their transfer (due to eating), & the driver had to go into the hotel to get them whilst the rest of the coach waited. We were unable to eat from 19:00 (after dinner) until we arrived at Fuerteventura airport, because the staff did not offer us the same privileges as the German guests. This preferential treatment disgusted me the most, & completely confirmed that English guests do NOT receive the same treatment. The hotel does not have a gym & does not have a "cosy cafe" as advertised. Air conditioning comes at an extra cost. To use the TV in your apartment, the remote is an extra cost. The safe is an additional cost. Overall... we felt very left out by the staff, & felt as though if we were of a different nationality... We may have been treated much better. The best night of our stay was when we met another English family & went out to the most beautiful bar along the seafront with live music. We wish we had met them sooner! We will NOT be returning & we will NOT recommend this hotel, we wish we had spent a few hundred more on another hotel across the road. It's disappointing because we really wanted to like this hotel because the location is brilliant, we had high hopes despite reading a few negative reviews & went in with an open mind. Now... we wish we had truly took in all the terrible reviews we had read, because we can absolutely see how true they all are.
Read more
Response from BLSH, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Jandia Luz
Responded 1 week ago
Dear caffeinatedhannah You have spent a lot of time commenting in detail and unfortunately negatively on your stay in our Hotel. We are sorry to see that you gave us a low score, which means that we were unable to meet your personal expectations and that you found several aspects that you did not like either. For us the complete satisfaction of our visitors is our main priority, therefore we will read with your feedback and criticisms carefully with the intention of finding points of improvement that without a doubt will make other guests feel more satisfied than you. To conclude, we would simply like to thank you for your visit even if we have to apologise once again for not being the hotel you expected.
Read more
Stopped in Jandia a few times at different hotels, nice rooms, lovely staff, enjoyable food at the Blue Sea hotel, certainly stop again, only 1gripe, if you wish to sit outside at the front of the hotel and you don’t smoke, it’s not pleasant with the stale tobacco smell, were non smokers.
Read more
Response from BLSH, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Jandia Luz
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Keith d, We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and that we have contributed to it. In addition, we are delighted to know that such important aspects as the facilities or our great hotel team have been to your complete satisfaction. We would like to say goodbye to you, thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Welcome to, Blue Sea Jandia Luz.
Read more
+1
A lovely hotel in a great location, just a short walk to shops and the most beautiful beach I’ve been on. Food was great with lots of choices, drinks were plentiful and staff were friendly. Room was basic but nice nonetheless, you’re not in your room long as there is plenty to do and no one comes on holiday to be in their room all week. My only downside would be the evening entertainment or lack of as there was only 1 night of entertainment in our 7 night stay.
Read more
Response from BLSH, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Jandia Luz
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello ladypimms11 Thank you very much for giving us four points. We were glad that you had a happy stay and that the hotel services were to your satisfaction. We wrote down your point about entertainment with the intention of improving it as much as possible. Thank you for commenting on the good location of the hotel, close to a fantastic beach and on the buffet where you were able to enjoy plentiful and varied food. The staff would also like to thank you for your good feedback about them. We hope to see you again soon. You are always welcome. With best wishes receive a cordial greeting from BLS Jandía Luz.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Relaxia Jandía Luz Apartamentos
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsFuerteventuraJandia PeninsulaPajaraMorro del Jable
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing