We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor

Save
Share
Valmeinier 1800, 73450 Valmeinier France
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (153)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (12)

About

#1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Valmeinier
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Hiking
Ski rentals
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Ski In / Ski Out
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Ski school
Skiing
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Full view
59Somewhat walkable
Grade: 59 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1115Reviews13Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 225
  • 563
  • 206
  • 82
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
ruddyhell wrote a review Feb 2020
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom154 contributions70 helpful votes
We stopped over new year's eve week. We were expecting it to be busy but the parking for the hotel was horrendous. We arrived early in the evening and parking was already starting to become impossible. We managed to find a space and went to check in only to be told we needed to drive further up the resort to some other buildings. Because even though you book a room in the thabor you could actually be in one of several other buildings it would seem. After driving to the top of the resort to our building parking was full. I dropped my wife and child off with the bags as close as I could then spent well over an hour driving up and down the resort to find a space. Which was further away then if we had just stayed where we were when we checked in at the thabor. As for the room we had one of the largest rooms for 3 of us so there was plenty of room but if it was filled to capacity it would be very cramped, kitchen was very basic. The bathrooms were a bit cramped and the beds were uncomfortable. The view from the balcony of the slopes was amazing. I loved being able to ski in and out too. The ski locker set up was one of the best we've had as well it felt secure enough and plenty of space allocated to each apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dwskiman87 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
The resort was perfectly located on the side of the piste, with ski in and ski out boot room. However, the apartment was very outdated and desperately needed refreshing. The kitchen was cramped and missing some implements. If you had the max amount of people staying in the apartment that it was advertised for you really would have struggled! The double bed was two singles pushed together, a double duvet supplied but only a single duvet cover! Such a shame as it has so much potential but needs some money spending to make it feel more like a homely chalet like others I have stayed in before.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own pillow!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Philipp B wrote a review Jan 2019
Moscow, Russia12 contributions18 helpful votes
Despite the perfect location, the service is very poor, I would even say the worst I have ever seen:1. No heating in the bedroom (it did not work).2. Bathroom flush problems (reception did not fix it after 3 notices made during the 7-day stay).3. Dust on each table and chair means that cleaning is not performed properly.4. Windows are not hyrmetic - hence, wind always blew inside the main room.5. Sauna is subject to payment and additional booking which is weird. Guest shall be well-informed on such conditions in advance - but there is no such info on the website and at check-in desk receptionist do not give any advise on that. Moreover, the decision whether to attend sauna or not is usually taken after the ski-day depending on muscles conditions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ambassador776338, Directrice at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Responded Jan 12, 2019
Nous nous excusons vivement pour les inhabituels soucis de propreté et d'électricité que vous avez enduré dans votre appartement. Nous tenons à ce que tous nos hôtes profitent d'un logement confortable, chaleureux et agréablement aménagé. Nous sommes désolés que ce n'ait pas été votre cas. La satisfaction de nos clients étant au cœur de nos priorités, sachez que nous prenons note de vos retours que nous transmettons aux équipes concernées.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rsik801606 wrote a review Aug 2018
When we arrived evening at 10pm as I indicated during the booking we could not enter. There was nobody at the reception nobody could help us on the phone. pin code was not send for the key box, it took 1,5 hours to get the key. We called booking.com, we only got help from them. In the apartment was only 4 set of sheet and pillow cover, and 3 set of towels... We spent only 1 night instead of 2, because of these circumstances. Due to this horrible experiences and inconveniences we require a full refund of the price but have not get any answer
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
beckysnarey wrote a review Apr 2018
1 contribution
A great week's family ski trip which unfortunately was really let down by the accomodation! Valmenier is a great family ski resort with lots of green and blue runs ensuring little ones can get up to the top of the mountain. Our daughter went to ESF ski school for morning lessons and really enjoyed it - we were really impressed with her progress during the week. The apartments are ski in, ski out and a great location for the slopes. There is also a really good restaurant on the ground floor, which although inside the hotel, is apparently independent, and served some of the best food in the resort at really reasonable prices. Unfortunately the accomodation left a lot to be desired. Our first apartment was mouldy and smelled of damp so we asked to move. The second apartment was marginally better but the shower room ceiling was still mouldy, and the decor was very old fashioned and dated. We soon realised that the toilet leaked and smelled terrible, and with no extractor fan it was not very pleasant! Last moan - the bedding was very poor quality, lumpy pillows and duvets, split covers and not enough pillows. Would definitely consider returning to Valmenier but would hope that we could find better quality accomodation 2nd time around!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SocialRoomPVCP, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Responded Apr 18, 2018
Dear beckysnarey, Thank you very much for your detailed review on TripAdvisor and that you chose our residence for your family ski trip. We are really sorry to read that our apartment was the only cloud on your otherwise perfect stay. Of course, you should have found your holiday apartment in impeccable condition and we apologize that, apparently, this was not the case. We understand that you did not want to move to another apartment once again. We loved hearing about the fun you and your daughter had in our great resort and we hope that you consider giving as another opportunity to convince you of our comfortable, well located residence . It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and to see your daughter putting the finishing touches to her ski skills. Kind regards, Your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A239 wrote a review Apr 2018
London, United Kingdom19 contributions1 helpful vote
Residence Le Thabor is split into several residences/buildings. We stayed in 'Le Chamois' in Valmeinier 1900. It was a perfect location for us (2 adults, 3 kids) as the ski hire, ski school, piste, accommodation, supermarket and restaurant are all in a radius of about 50m. The accommodation itself is a little dated but is functionally complete and working. Bring your own pillows as the ones supplied are awful. The beds are hard. Really hard. When I booked, I had asked which building we'd be in as we were travelling with another family and we wanted to be in the same building. At the time of booking, it was not possible to know which building we would be in. When we checked in, we found that we were in Le Chamois at the top of Valmeinier and our friends were in another building. Without much hassle the staff relocated our friends to the same building as us which was very much appreciated. It's a shame that the actual building could not be selected at the time of booking. Issue averted - but only probably because there was a free apartment... this time! Overall - it was great value for money, great location, clean, good service from the staff and very easy to check in and check out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own pillows!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eva B wrote a review Feb 2018
1 contribution
We stayed at this accomodation 9 nights. It was the worst experience. In the same apartment were young people who every night made noise, kicked in the door, they interrupted the night's rest. Despite repeated complaints, it did not improve. The did not make security measures. Once night these young people tried to enter to our room. We were afraid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
denisebL1TP wrote a review Jul 2017
Bellac, France1 contribution
We have skied for years and wanted to see the Alps in the Summer. This hotel was perfectly positioned for high level walking. The trails ranged from easy to difficult and it was possible to pop from one to the other. The rooms are comfortable and have a good range of equipment . The pool was a wonderful addition as it was warm and a good size, for fun and swimming.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RelationClientPVR, Team Pierre & Vacances at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Responded Jul 26, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your post with the TripAdvisor community. It is great to read you and your partner had a lovely time at our residence and its lovely location. We are joyful to know that you have enjoyed the comfortable accommodation and heated outdoor pool. Our staff will be happy see you again at our residence overlooking Valmeinier 1800! Kind regards, Team Pierre & Vacances
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lady M wrote a review Jul 2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom46 contributions32 helpful votes
Nice apartment. Good views. In 4/5 apartment for 2 people so plenty of space. All the team were very friendly. Would go back. Not stayed in a French rental apartment before . Did not use the pool but it looked very nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: mountain view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RelationClientPVR, Team Pierre & Vacances at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Responded Jul 24, 2017
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your remarks on TripAdvisor. It is a joy to read that your partner had a lovely time at our residence. We are happy you have enjoyed the accommodation and the delightful views of the Thabor mountains. Our caring staff will be waiting for your return the Galibier Thabor area! Best regards, Team Pierre & Vacances
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dane K wrote a review May 2017
Skopje, Republic of North Macedonia4 contributions3 helpful votes
If you want to go based on the explanations on internet sites - do not hesitate: everything is as explained :) They can improve if they learn English, at least on the reception. Also they should put some English channels on TV...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the pistes (north), not to the pool (south)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RelationClientPVR, Team Pierre & Vacances at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Responded May 30, 2017
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and suggestions with the TripAdvisor community. It is a pleasure to read that you and your family had a great time at our residence. Our friendly staff welcomes you back for another stay in the heart of Maurienne! Kind regards, Team Pierre & Vacances
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pierre & vacances valmeinier le thabor hotel valmeinier, pierre and vacances valmeinier le thabor
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoieValmeinier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
269
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PIERRE & VACANCES RESIDENCE LE THABOR - Prices & Condominium Reviews (Valmeinier, France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Which popular attractions are close to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Nearby attractions include Ski Area Valmeinier (0.3 miles), ULM Valmeinier (0.6 miles), and La Fromagerie (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Refuge des 3 Diables, Les Frangines, and L'Elan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Does Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.