We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne

Save
Share
Rue des Balcons, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime France
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 6 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (108)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (11)

About

#6 of 66 Specialty lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.9
Value
3.6
Located right next to the slopes, this chalet residence can welcome from 2 to 21 people in its comfortable and friendly apartments. After a hard day skiing in the Paradiski area, you can either relax by the fire, or enjoy the health spa area with a swimming pool, a fitness room, saunas, spas and massage rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hiking
Ski rentals
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Skiing
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
346Reviews13Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 127
  • 64
  • 33
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andy B wrote a review Feb 2022
Guernsey, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
I’ll start with the good. Brilliant location. Proper ski in ski out. Well located within La Plagne resort and only a five minute walk to restaurants etc. Room was warm, quiet, the beds were comfy and there was always loads of hot water. We had little interaction with staff but those we met were friendly and helpful. The average. The building and apartment were tired and room cramped even by alpine standards. The lighting in the kitchen was particularly awful. The bad. The boot room was the worst I’ve come across in ten years of skiing. There was no drainage and a permanent pool of water on the floor. Our locker was cut in half by some pipes and we could barely get our skis in it. No boot heaters or even a hook to hang a helmet on. Compare my photo with the one from the official website…. Towels. Three thin small towels for three adults. This is a personal bugbear of mine. I’ll never understand why hotels skrimp on towels when it does nothing but annoy people, but this was a particular low in my experience of hotel towels. I think my feelings are summed up by the photo I took from our balcony. Wonderful mountain view, slightly marred by the exposed insulation. If you pick Les Balcons for your holiday you’ll probably have a wonderful time but you’ll be aware you could have got somewhere nicer close by for the same money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Client, General Manager at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you liked the location of the residence and the apartment. The satisfaction of our customers is the priority, we take note of your comments and will pass them on to our teams on site so that solutions can be found. We send you our apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in order to demonstrate the quality of our services.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael H wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The accommodation was quite dated and not cleaned to a high standard. Also very basic kitchen equipment so we ended up eating out most nights. Also the fire had not been cleaned out as well as several of the radiators not working. To make matters worse when we had checked out the withheld €100 of our deposit claiming we had not left the place spotless. When you come to the end of your holiday you don’t think that you need to do a deep clean, strip beds and mop floors.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Client, General Manager at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Responded Feb 18, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. We would like to point out, however, that when you arrived, you were informed of the procedure to follow when you left. Cleaning is not to be done but we still ask you to take out your trash, clean the kitchen area and undo the beds. Our team found that nothing had been done and that rubbish was strewn on the floor, the sum has been deducted from your deposit We deeply regret that your stay ended in these conditions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AndySkips wrote a review Jan 2022
28 contributions14 helpful votes
We've been here a few times. This time we had multiple issues with the room and facilities. The place is tired. Needs some love and attention. No longer good value. We ended up unblocking one of the sinks ourselves and pulling out lumps of someone else's hair. Facilities in spa were broken. Corridor lights didn't work. One of our keys didn't work and a promised replacement didn't come.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Marketing, General Manager at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Responded Jan 16, 2022
Hello and thank you for your review which is important to us. We are really sorry to hear the problems you faced. Please notice that we have started a big renovation plan of our oldest establishments, so these apartments will soon be renovated. Nevetheless we hope you enjoyed your holidays. Have a good day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JSco46 wrote a review Mar 2020
Thurgoland, United Kingdom28 contributions14 helpful votes
First the positives which has encouraged us to visit three time.....Les Balcons is ideally situated for ski in and out. We stayed in a 5-bed apartment with a group of adults where all bedrooms have a bathroom and a large living space with great views . However, the apartment decor is tired and in need of an update. The WiFi was unreliable and difficult to connect to. The kitchen was tiny and quite basically equipped so it wasn’t easy to prepare meals for 10 as barely 2 could fit in at any one time . The biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of the kitchen on arrival. Guests are responsible for leaving the kitchen clean and we clearly followed someone who didn’t have very high/no standards of cleanliness. We would have expected the staff to have found this on inspection and cleaned it before we arrived. However the reception staff were very apologetic and we did receive a free end of stay clean. It wouldn’t stop us booking again though due to the location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a piste view....ours was probably the best we have ever had in a ski apartment (room 336)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Louise B wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Location is fantastic, parking, ski in/ski out. Reception staff really helpful always. Pool staff were rude to us and made us feel like an inconvience. Have made this known to the establishment. I hope no one else experiences this.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Marketing, Directeur général at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Good afternoon, We thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with you. We are delighted to note that you have appreciated and benefited from the various services and facilities of our hotel: proximity to the ski slopes, spa. However we are sorry if you encountered an inconvenience with the spa team. We will not fail to take stock. We hope to see you again, Looking forward, The team at La Résidence Les Balcons de Belle-Plagne.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne B wrote a review Feb 2020
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We looked for ski in/ski out this year as our top requirement due to so much walking in prior resorts but unfortunately it was worse here! Ski in/ski out is off very busy quite steep and (icy our week) and not for the beginner or less confident skier. Also ski school meeting point cannot be reached from hotel other than walking up the hill or taking about 100 steps carrying skis! Breakfast for chalets was at 8, leaving little time to get any breakfast before needing to leave to be on time for ski school. First morning even more of nightmare as lift passes need picking up at point in town and you need to walk the steps all way up to ski school meeting point - totally impossible to register at hotel, get equipment, passes, and get to ski school by 9.15. Either don’t have a Sunday lesson to do all these things, or make sure you arrive at resort before 6pm so you can be ready for the morning. 8am breakfast is still tight especially as mad rush by all, and food runs out quick! Breakfast for the hotel is 7.30 and much better - but we couldn’t get 3 bedded room. Boot room did not warm or dry out our boots so if wet take your inners to the radiators! If you do lessons I would suggest collect and store ski equip at rental nearer ski school meeting point so you can walk up and down in snow boots - defeats object of ski in ski out! Even as confident skier there is not time to ski down and take life up and ski down to ski school as lifts don’t open till 9 so no alternative to the walk to meeting point. We chose this for its ski in ski out location and was probably the hardest slog location we have ever had, aching muscles before even got Skis on. If this was known and you are prepared to alters timings around, if happy to have afternoon lesson and get out a bit later and happy to ski down - then could be perfect, but beginners unlikely to want to do the ski in route out (in a bit easier if they feel confident). Food and service is good, good atmosphere and clean and very comfortable. So if not worried by lessons and location you won’t go far wrong in choosing your stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dan C wrote a review Jan 2020
Sidmouth, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
Firstly I would point out the good. The Location was great with a locker room, and ski in ski out.The Reception Staff worked hard and were polite at all times and when we had an issue tried to assist. and the restaurant below was great for Pizza's etc However the quality of our accommodation was very poor. The apartment was dirty, The floors didn't appear to have been cleaned for a fair while.The linen on the beds was dirty and covered in hairs as were a number of the quilts - not 100 % sure if the Laundry has pets but likely. A single sheet had been stretched across a double bed in an attempt to make it fit. - we asked for these to be replaced which they were, we made the beds ourselves. The Kitchen units were tired – one of the doors was hanging off on our arrival One of the saucepans handles was twisted and likely to fall off - it just needed tightening up. There were no bin bags or basic cleaning equipment or tea towels until we asked for them.The chopping board was stained and very dirty. The lights in the downstairs area were continuously flickering – despite the staff trying to fix them this continued all week and was still not fixed when we left. The staff did manage to rehang the shower head which was just laid in our bath - it clearly had been on the wall as some stage . but this did take 4 days ! We never made it to the pool area - it was in a different block to the one we were staying in, so cannot comment but be aware it involves walking outside to get to it. Overall, The whole apartment was tired and dated and whilst it resembled the photos the website it needs an update and some decent cleaners. We paid extra for cleaners to come in but clearly this was overpriced for the job they do !!! We only had 8 people staying in a unit sold as suitable for 10 or 12 – the Kitchen was tiny I’m not sure how you could cater for 12 people in it. Having paid over 5500 euros for this reservation we were all left feeling very disappointed - this charge was excessive for the quality, despite it being over the new year. I wouldn't normally write a review like this on trip advisor without discussing the issues with the residence directly, however having contacted them, there appears to be no interest in replying to us and its now 3 weeks later. .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DeeO71 wrote a review Jan 2020
Kent, United Kingdom32 contributions39 helpful votes
Plus - friendly approachable staff, location to town, location on a blue run (maybe to steep for real beginners) covered walkway to town centre (5 min away), size of rooms, lovely pool, spa and sauna Neutral- rooms need refreshing Negative - boot room need complete overhaul to be in line with other European resorts. I would return and would recommend to those who want a good location with excellent value for money
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Service M, Marketing & Communication at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Good morning, At first, we apologize for the delay in our response, independent of our good will. We thank you for taking the time to write a comment and for your recommendation, demonstrating that your stay with us was very pleasant and up to your expectations. It's a pleasure to see you again, The team at Résidence Les Balcons de Belle-Plagne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KezLewis wrote a review Apr 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom89 contributions42 helpful votes
Family skiing trip and on arrival found that most of the crockery, glasses and cups (among other things) were disgustingly dirty. We reported it but having stayed there together many times before we felt very disappointed that their standards have slipped. On further inspection of the apartment we found other little problems. Again reported to reception and they were very good about fixing these issues. The handy man was very friendly and did a good job of fixing the problems. The spa and pool area had been improved since we have last been there and I took advantage and had a couple of treatments which were very nice. Overall it was still a good place to stay for ski in, ski out accommodation. I haven’t been put off going back there to stay but having stayed so many times we are unlikely to go there again. I would recommend it for families as the facilities there save you having to pay to go down to the outside pool in bellecote. Also quite good for getting to ski school (short walk). Restaurant downstairs good. Nice bar area. Staff are friendly and helpful. They have recently added strict rules about wearing ski boots inside (has ski lockers so no reason not to use them as they are lockable) noise restrictions and fines involved if rules not kept to. This is a good thing in my opinion. Underground parking available and lifts to all floors. Discounted ski passes and equipment when booking direct with les balcons. Superb views of ski in/out slope.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Service M, Marketing at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Responded Apr 9, 2019
Good afternoon, Thank you for sharing your opinion about our accommodation. We are delighted if you saw and appreciated our spa upgrades to satisfy you more. However, we are sorry if your entire stay was not up to your expectations even if we do everything to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again ! Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xertzi wrote a review Feb 2019
74 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed in chalet Clarine, run by Skiworld, in the Les Balcons apartment block. The building is on the edge of Belle Plagne closest to Plagne Bellecotte and right on the Arpette blue run providing fairly quick access to the main lifts. This part of the slope is quite steep so can be a little much for beginners. Being on the Montchavin side of Belle Plagne means an easy ski in from that side of the resort but from the Plagne Centre side you'll need to take the Tyrolien drag lift to be high enough for the path through town to the slope, if you want to ski. The ski schools are over by the Tyrolien lift so even if you can ski you'll need to walk to the 9am lessons as the lifts don't start until after 9 for skiers. ESF start at 9am and Oxygen at 10am. The chalet is located on level 0 and is right next to the boot room. This is incredibly convenient especially if you remember that you left something in the room after you put your boots on. It's also very convenient if your children (or young adults) want to do some bum sledging outside the building as you can watch then from the balcony. The main entrance to the building is on level 4 (the building is not into a steep hill) but the lift is next to the chalet door. The skiset hire shop is next to the front entrance so ultra convenient and there is a bar/pizza restaurant next to that of you want more drink or lunch (share the pizzas unless you have a large appetite). The chalet itself is roomy enough for the full 18 guests it can accommodate. There is just about enough setting for all for cakes and tea at the end of a ski day. The table seats all guests for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is cereal, croissant, bread and a varied cooked option. Generally plenty to get you started for the day. The evening 3 course meal was very nice especially when you consider the size of the kitchen. Our hosts for this season, Abi & Brad, were able to accommodate fussy eaters and vegetarians along with the rest of us. All of this was washed down with the usual unlimited wine while eating. The rooms themselves were large enough for each couple and all done with ensuite bathrooms. As mentioned in some reviews there is very limited shelf space and not really any drying space (the boot rack is not heated btw). We had rooms 1&2 which are down a side corridor so we used hooks there to semi dry salopettes. The beds were comfortable enough twins that can be moved depending on how close you want to be to you sleeping partner. The ensuite bathroom contains a whirlpool bath which works well enough. The shower is powerful but there is no convenient holder for it so you need to hold it to wash and then turn it down it you are going to put it in the house and not speak the floor. There were a few times when not water we in short supply but these were very few (timing is everything). Top tip of you are using ski school is to get sandwiches and pizza from the boulongerie and bring them back to the chalet before venturing out for the afternoon. But avoid the main lifts between 11-12 & 3-4 of you can. There is a pool in the building with a hot tub (up 3 along and down 1 - it makes sense when you are there). They also have spa facilities but these need to be booked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If travelling with children ask for rooms 1&2. Room 9 is next to the front door.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence les balcons de belle plagne hotel macot-la-plagne
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoieAimeMacot-la-Plagne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Nearby attractions include Belle Plagne (0.2 miles), ESF Belle Plagne (0.3 miles), and La Maison Savoyarde (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dishwasher.
Is parking available at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'alpage, Le Matafan Belle Plagne, and La Godille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilique Saint Martin (4.2 miles), Tour Montmayeur (4.1 miles), and Fortification Saint Sigismond (4.3 miles).
Does Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.