We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau d'Isenbourg

Save
Share
9 rue de Pfaffenheim, 68250 Rouffach France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
$142
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/21
Booking.com
Official Site
ZenHotels.com$142
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (118)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (166)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chateau d'Isenbourg
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Rouffach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Restaurant & Spa on the wine trail of Alsace, between Colmar and Mulhouse. 41 rooms of character, swimming pools ind. & out., sauna, hammam and Jacuzzi. Panoramic view. Excellent gastronomy and quality of service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Massage
Steam room
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
128Reviews6Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 60
  • 45
  • 17
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tante B wrote a review Jun 2021
Antwerp Province, Belgium93 contributions93 helpful votes
+1
Located over a hill with a beautiful view of the vineyards and village, this hotel is an ideal stopover on the way to Italy. Room 17 was spacious and bathed in light thanks to the 3 large windows. Beautiful décor and equipped with all modern facilities: Air conditioning and free WiFi. View of a well-kept garden and clean outdoor pool. The hotel also has a Spa with indoor pool but we did not use it. Food & Beverage Enjoyed their menu decouverte in their restaurant. Surprisingly delicious combinations. Definitely a must. Extra mention for the attentive and very friendly staff. 1 minus point: too high a tempo of the dishes. In 1 hour (aperitif, starter, cheese, dessert and coffee digestive). In the morning we again enjoyed an extensive breakfast. Even the most fastidious will find something to their liking here. Personally I found the typical local pattiseries delicious. Ideal and calorie-rich) start of the day:) The staff is extremely friendly without being haughty - which can sometimes be the case in other Grandes Etappes
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant De Direction, Autre at Chateau d'Isenbourg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for your stay and for your nice feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the Alsace wine road, our Deluxe room, our restaurant, our staff. We hope to welcome you soon on your journey or for a longer stay. Best regards
Read more
Onaturel wrote a review Oct 2020
Oslo, Norway134 contributions25 helpful votes
Close to the village with some amazing restaurants, and walks in the vineyards on the other side of the road. Brilliant view over Rouffach. The suite was out-dated. All doors were squeaking, the shower cabinet was broken, the venetian blind on the front door was broken and didn’t go all the way down (direct view on the parking...), a bit dirty/used specially in the master bedroom over the bed, front door difficult to close. Breakfast was pleasant on the terasse, they were picking grapes but had the diesel tractor passing by. Food and drinks were okay but pricey, 25€, when you can walk 5 min to another hotel down the street and eat just about the same for 12€ or go to a boulangerie ;-) It is unfortunate to say... in our opinion, this is not a 5 stars standard. (We didn’t have the chance to go to the spa) We though enjoyed staying at the Château, staff were nice and the donkeys made us laugh when they were braying.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant De Direction, Autre at Chateau d'Isenbourg
Responded Oct 24, 2020
Dear customer, Thank you for your stay at Isenbourg castle. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the surroundings of our hotel, views, donkeys...and our kind employees. We are sorry that you were not fuly satisfied by our suite. As soon as we get budgets from our headquarters we renovate what is needed and since 2015 we have made a lot of efforts but the process continues, of course. Concerning the breakfast we offer a large choice of salted and sweet products and also some delicatessens, smocked salmon and local wines for example, bio juices and so you can enjoy a real meal. Moreover our cellar or panoramic room with a marble floor or the huge terrace are highly appreciated. In october the harvest begin and we are sorry concerning the disturbance made by the diesel tractor. You cannot compare our breakfast buffet to a backery but if you prefer to save a few euros and eat in the street it is your choice that we respect. We have renovated our SPA last year, perhaps you would have appreciated it ? For another stay, we would recommend our deluxe rooms offering large volumes, painted ceiling or veranda + private terrace, more impressive than the attic flat where you were staying. Best regards,
Read more
Freedom6661880 wrote a review Aug 2020
St. Moritz, Switzerland1 contribution
5 star hotel? No service on arrival (4pm arrival). It is a old hotel, everything is old. Room is spacious but bathroom is very small. It is 3 star level room amenity I would expect a little better than what I see.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant De Direction, Autre at Chateau d'Isenbourg
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Sir/ Madam, We are sorry to read that you were slightly disappointed by your stay in our hotel. It is true we are a place offering an old charm but we are also renovating the building when it is necessay. It is the case for the panoramic room in 2015, quite all the carpets in rooms and corridors, a redesigned and refurbished SPA last year, new bathrooms at the Pavillon last winter, redone armchairs in rooms and at the bar, new airconditioning system in the main building in 2017 etc... We know we have to carry on but not everything is old. Concerning bathrooms it is clear that they are not an asset and should be modernized. When arriving at the hotel we ask to our customers if they need help for their luggage and if it was not the case at your check-in, we do apologize. We hope you enjoyed the view and garden, the main positive points of Isenbourg. Have a good day. Best regards, Bien cordialement,
Read more
frogie2017 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ashford, United Kingdom25 contributions55 helpful votes
We booked 2 rooms in the pavilion for 2 nights for ourselves and our teenage daughter, and I choose this hotel as they advertise air conditioned rooms on their website. However the two pavilion rooms we were given had none, were very small with tiny bathrooms with a shower screen that leaked water onto the bathroom floor ( shower over bath) when used. As the temperature was 28 degrees I went to complain and to the receptionist credit she moved us into the Château to larger rooms with aircon. The restaurant food was good, and the young lady ( no name badges here) who worked at breakfast ( long dark hair) was a joy, truly meant to work in the service industry. The lady that worked behind the bar ( older, glasses) probably shouldn’t. I’d asked if it was possible to have a couple of ice creams by the pool and she replied that the ice cream was in the cellar and shrugged. So I asked for some still water by the pool, which instead she bought me a fizzy bottle. I pointed out that I wanted still and she tried to persuade me that the bubbles were very small! Not a happy lady when I insisted I did in fact want still water! Maybe it’s the face masks they have to wear... The chateau rooms themselves are ok, ours had a water stain running down the fabric wallpaper, worn carpets and curtains with a rip in them, significant investment is needed here to bring it up to its 4 stars. Just don’t book a pavilion room, you’d be better off in an Ibis.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nathalie Coquet, Autre at Chateau d'Isenbourg
Responded Aug 8, 2020
Dear customer, Thank you for your stay at Château d’Isenbourg and your review posted on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you were not satisfied by the two rooms hired at the Pavillon. During last winter we have renovated most of the bathrooms there and changed carpets. There were previously some A/C monobloc machines but too noisy, so we have withdrawn them recently. The begining of the summer was quite pleasant with no high temperatures and cold at night, but it changed those last two weeks. In fact we would like to install a centralized a/c system there to improve the comfort but for the present time it is not done… So as some rooms were available in the castle, our receptionist has upgraded you without any other fee to better satisfy you. Since 2015 we are renovating the castle and have done many investments but it is true we have to carry on. It is a long effort. During breakfast time, our Severina was pleased to serve you. It is true she loves human contacts and we are pleased to have her among us. At the bar the young lady is also a nice person able to give some joy (and the right beverages) to our guests. We are sorry that it was not the same pleasure with our most ancient extra employee who is coming sometimes to help us during the high season for years. Please note that she is not barmaid at all, normaly she is used with banquets and at the restaurant, but as a professionnal we do not understand why she brought you some sparkling water instead of still water. Ice creams are not provided by the bar during the afternoon at pools. High temperatures outside transform them into melted ice. Moreover it is the patissier who is in charge of providing some ice cream for lunch or dinner only. To end this answer, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food served at our restaurant. We hope to welcome you on another occasion and to better satisfy you. Kind regards from Rouffach, Bien cordialement,
Read more
breakfastinbedplease wrote a review Feb 2020
Four Elms, United Kingdom13 contributions16 helpful votes
Wonderful castle with grand traditional rooms (in the castle itself). Warm, stylish and excellent service. Sorting out the kids beds was never too much trouble and they were extremely helpful in posting my jacket that I left in the room. Restaurant with historical setting and great food. Will return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Chateaux_hotels_gef, Directeur général at Chateau d'Isenbourg
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear customer, Thank you for your stay at Isenbourg castle and your wonderful review on TripAdvisor ! We are really thrilled to read that you have spent some very nice moments among us and that the service provided by our employees was highly appreciated. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you in the future in our domain. By then, we wish you all the best ! Take care. Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau d`isenbourg hotel rouffach, chateau d isenbourg colmar
LOCATION
FranceGrand EstHaut-RhinRouffach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau d'Isenbourg
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Nearby attractions include Eglise Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption (0.5 miles), Eglise Notre Dame de l'Assomption (0.5 miles), and Musee du Bailliage (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Trois Colonnes, A la Grappe, and Restaurant Bohrer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Chateau d'Isenbourg located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Rouffach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau d'Isenbourg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau d'Isenbourg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.