We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Save
Share
67th km Athens- Sounio, Sounio 195 00 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$180
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1023)
Room & Suite (163)
Pool & Beach (140)

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Sounio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
One of the most famous archaeological sites of Greece is the Temple of Poseidon in Sounio, south-east of Athens. The Grecotel Cape Sounio literally clings to the side of a pine-clad hillside with panoramic views over this ancient monument. Behind the hotel is the Sounio National Park and below the hotel are two bays (one sandy and the other is shingle) which are approached via tunnels under the road (ancient river path). The buildings are set in an amphitheatre shape allowing exhilarating views of the Temple of Poseidon and the sea from most guestrooms and public areas.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Greek
951Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 501
  • 250
  • 115
  • 40
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
vic_levy wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom255 contributions106 helpful votes
The room was spacious and had a nice terrace overlooking the sea. Breakfast buffet was brought to your table on a three layered platter which was very good. Copious amounts of fresh orange juice. Lovely views. Huge pool and nice beach. You need a car to make visits but for us it was great and we would gladly return. Staff were very helpful. We arrived at midnight and I was starving. The front desk said the restaurant was closed and then like a miracle a club sandwich appeared. Bravo!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear vic_levy, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review further to your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location, the hotel team and quality of food and service. Your kind words are much appreciated and provide us with encouragement to keep up with the high operations standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Grecotel Cape Sounio and offering you the relaxing holiday that you are always dreaming of. Till then, we wish you all the best and most importantly stay health! Kind Regards, Michalis Minadakis The General Manager Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort
Read more
Irene P wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom42 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
This hotel has reorganised well to achieve high standards of Covid awareness and protection whilst enabling an atmosphere of relaxation and enjoyment. The location is good for easy access from the airport. The hotel is beautiful and Has lovely views and a private beach. Special mention of Evianios who gave fantastic service in the beach. And Georges and Christos in the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear irenep470, Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback further to your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt safe in the resort, enjoying the tranquility and peacefulness of the natural surroundings. This year, the Hotel has operated according to the Covid-19 operations protocol of Grecotel, guided by the guidelines of the Hellenic Government for the safety of our guests. Thank you for praising our team members with these kind words. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with all of them and especially with Evgenios, George and Christos. We will be delighted to welcome you again in our resort. Till then, we wish you all the best and most importantly stay healthy! Kind Regards, Michalis Minadakis The General Manager Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort
Read more
Michael wrote a review Oct 2020
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Not a 5 star hotel and poor value for money. Staff is motivated and friendly but accommodation old and needs to be renovated. Also several things were not working in the room (ie telephone, safe etc). Food very expensive, a main course starts at €35. Beach is nice though
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 6848Michael, Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review regarding your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We appreciate your kind words regarding the beautiful beach of the Hotel as well as regarding the motivation and friendliness of the Hotel team. We were very concerned to read about the points you have expressed disappointment with and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. This is certainly not indicative of the atmosphere we would like to offer and the high level of accommodation. We would like to assure you that we will take each and every one of them into serious consideration, in the framework of our efforts to improve the level of service we provide to the guests who honour us with their preference. However, we would like to assure you that your remarks will be addressed with the maintenance department as well as the food and beverage department. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at Grecotel Cape Sounio, to enjoy an experience that truly reflects the service we provide. Kind Regards, Michalis Minadakis The General Manager Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort
Read more
Louie Tzatzanis wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
My Family and I spent our summer in Greece. Grecotel Cape Sounio has been a must for us the past few years. The scents, sounds, and beauty are the norm on this exquisite property. During these troubled times the words patience, understanding, and communication are a must. We are very familiar with the property and although things were different this year, in our minds and hearts things were the same the staff made sure of that. This years first experience was upon arrival, and there were 2 beautiful bouquets waiting for my wife and daughter for a special celebration, all the idea of the hotel. We were greeted by the General Manager, Mr. Mihalis Minadakis, Ms. Vera took care of our every need, no request went unheard. We took what we received and always turned into a positive. The glass always remained half full for us. The staff, customer service, room, food, and just common decency was nothing less than first class, typical of the Grecotel experience. This all under the supervision of Mr. Mihalis Minadakis (General Manager). I have coined the phrase "Minadakis Magic". When do you see a GM who picks up garbage if he sees it, and says hello, and makes time for every guest. He rolls up his sleeves if necessary and is even willing to assist in the kitchen. That is dedication, and the need for excellence. Whether it's a weekend, 5 or 10 days you will experience the true calmness, beauty and magic of the resort and all if has to offer. 5*+ Can't wait to return. Kali Sinexia!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Temple of Poseidon. The scene at night is magical.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Explore43850295998, We would like to warmly thank you for taking the time and effort to share such a lovely review further to your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio. Feedback coming from our loyal guests, like you, is extremely important for all us and at the same time is the greatest motivation during the difficult circumstances that the world is facing. Nothing can be compared with the happiness that is spread all around our team when we are welcoming back guests who choose our resort as their “personal sanctuary”. We consider you as members of our Grecotel Family and we will always attend to each and every detail in order to ensure you magnificent stays in our premises. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members and myself. Rest assured that your wonderful review is shared with all our team! We are looking forward to welcoming you again and again! In the meantime, we wish you a happy and safe winter! Sincerely Yours, Michalis Minadakis The General Manager Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort
Read more
elliemaicollins wrote a review Oct 2020
Rhodes, Greece19 contributions5 helpful votes
I agree with the recent TripAdvisor reviews. We were very much looking forward to coming to this hotel but unfortunately were quite disappointed on many occasions. The hotel itself looks like a 5 star hotel and certainly has a great position. We arrived and was told the Oriental restaurant and spa was closed - this left just 2 main restaurants to eat at that basically served the same food. There is not much to do at the hotel and outside restaurants and towns are quite far. The bedrooms did not represent the photos advertised, our room needed renovating and a thorough clean (dirty floor, old damp bathrooms, cobwebs and many bugs would walk in). We did request a double but were given a twin bed. Housekeeping only came once during our stay and when we requested towels, shower gel, cups, toilet roll etc. this never came. Personally, I think housekeeping is vital and should be daily at least given the current climate and staff should have correct PPE to protect themselves (like the U.K. have approached). The door locking system was complicated and odd - I can imagine it’s hard for weaker and older people to slide those large doors shut (my mum found it quite difficult). Every meal we had was warm-cold and certain food or drinks would be forgotten - often we just let it go because service was unfortunately slow. Particularly in the morning buffet, they had a system where they’d place yogurt, pastries, cheese, meats etc. on your table and we were vegetarians so almost every morning this was wasted. The hot beverages we ordered were mostly forgotten and always warm-cold when we did receive them. We requested milk alternatives with our hot drinks but this was also forgotten. I understand mistakes happen, but this happened every morning and we had to continually ask again. I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to ask for details and a late check out, but this never got responded to. I do understand this is dependant on availability. When I asked the gentleman at reception for a late checkout the day before we were leaving, he was very hostile and did not want to help. Coming from a hotel management background myself, I did not appreciate his resistance to help. I asked him if the next guests could be moved to another room to allow us to have a later check out. The hotel was very empty and I cannot imagine every room was booked out on a Wednesday evening.. He checked again and then replied no sorry unless you pay €100 and something (that to me meant he must have availability if he was able to charge me to keep the room..?). Overall we were disappointed and would not return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ms. elliemaicollins, We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience here at Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We have reviewed all the issues you have encountered in our resort with our management team and we have taken all necessary actions to ensure this unfortunate lapse in our services will not recur. Hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back at Cape Sounio in the future and in the meantime we wish you all the best and stay healthy! Kind Regards, Michalis Minadakis The General Manager Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grecotel cape sounio hotel sounio, grecotel cape hotel sounio, grecotel cape resort sounio, cape sounio
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grecotel Cape Sounio
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaEast Attica RegionSounio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Temple of Poseidon (0.8 miles), Sounio Beach (0.6 miles), and Kape Beach (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pezodromos, Marida, and Feggon restaurant..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Galliki Skala (4.5 miles).