We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Save
Share
67th km Athens- Sounio Rd, Sounio 195 00 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$297
View deal
Booking.com
$260
View deal
Trip.com
$181
View deal
Hotels.com$297
Travelocity$297
Priceline$296
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1107)
Pool & Beach (198)
Room & Suite (148)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Sounio
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice
One of the most famous archaeological sites of Greece is the Temple of Poseidon in Sounio, south-east of Athens. The Grecotel Cape Sounio literally clings to the side of a pine-clad hillside with panoramic views over this ancient monument. Behind the hotel is the Sounio National Park and below the hotel are two bays (one sandy and the other is shingle) which are approached via tunnels under the road (ancient river path). The buildings are set in an amphitheatre shape allowing exhilarating views of the Temple of Poseidon and the sea from most guestrooms and public areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek
1030Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 549
  • 267
  • 127
  • 43
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
S F wrote a review Sep 2022
Ontario, Canada118 contributions52 helpful votes
Enjoyed 2 days at Cape Sounio 1 hour from Athens where the locals escape to the country and beaches. The hotel has magnificent grounds , lush greenery, it’s own private lovely beach and massive pool. The rooms are in multilevel pods . Many overlook the Aegean Sea and the Temple of Poseidon . The hotel is dated but spacious with an amazing buffet breakfast on the terrace overlooking the same breathtaking views . The rooms are 4 star at best but families come there in the summer to escape the concrete jungle of Athens . The temple is best visited 30 minutes before sunset for amazing photos just beware that you can’t enter after 6:45 ish . The sunset photos are amazing .Best to stay either May or September when the hotel is quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear S F, We would like to thank you for the review regarding your experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next visit in Athens. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer Ledfor... W wrote a review Sep 2022
Brentwood, Tennessee10 contributions
+1
I had a great stay for 3 nights with a dear friend on a girls trip. Christos at the main restaurant was fabulous and we very much enjoyed our included buffet for breakfast and dinner. The service was great. The beach was lovely with towels, lounge chairs and umbrellas provided. I took so many pictures of the beautiful flowers on the property. Stunning views at dinner with the temple of Poseidon and the moon riding. The rooms are a little worn, but quite functional since we didn’t spend much time there. Mini fridge had done water and colas to begin, but we were charged when we restocked. Not an issue and it was nice to have a fridge. The only negatives are picky things- no door for shower/tub so water went everywhere ; no tissues/Kleenex; no washcloths (we asked); only one mirror over the sink so difficult to get ready with someone else using sink; we had to call for bathrobes but they had seen better days but we’re clean. Housekeeping, reception, and everyone in the main restaurant were always accommodating. My friend is gluten free and they made special accommodations for her.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jenandrandy, We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with the location, the staff’s behavior and service. All your comments have been noted, as any issues reported from our esteemed guests is of great value to us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sylvie C wrote a review Sep 2022
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland25 contributions4 helpful votes
50 minutes away from Athen Airport/ 1:30 city. Rather remote place with not much activities but great for relaxing and re-energizing. Located in a very nice cove beach with breathtaking view on Poseidon Temple. Vast and nice surrounding. Resort with empathic & smiling staff, very good and diverse restaurant and food. Families are more welcome than person seeking calm and rest. Unfortunately, family with children are not managed properly to respect privacy and rest of others. Not acceptable for an hôtel of this level.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear sylviec705, We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with the location, the staff’s behavior and service. All your comments have been noted, as any issues reported from our esteemed guests is of great value to us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yves wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at Grecotel Cape Sounio for my daughter’s birthday. The staff were very kind and helpful especially Panagiotis. The food was very good and our room was cleaned every day. We will definitely return. Thanks for making my daughter’s birthday memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Blackspice11 , We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We were delighted to read that we managed to contribute to a perfect accommodation and that you were pleased with the location, the staff’s behavior and service. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luc24 wrote a review Sep 2022
Nice, France28 contributions3 helpful votes
The bedroom needs to be refurbished and modernized especially the bathroom. Big thanks to the assistant manager for changing our room from 102 to 201. In our opinion room 102 does not deserve 5* rating. For improvement it is a shame we cannot see what we eat at the main restaurant during dinner on the terrace. Please put some light eg solar lights. The main course dishes are very often not hot enough for dinner at the buffet restaurant. It will be nice to have nautical activities like paddle for adults and not only for kids. On a very positive side we had an excellent service and special thanks to Christos, Stefania, leonia and miltos at the restaurant. Big thanks to Dimitri and the lifeguard at the beach and to the fitness coach (high quality of session). Excellent food at the buffet restaurant. It is the 2nd time we are staying and we look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Not suitable for disabled people as lots of stairs and some rooms are quite remote
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Luc24, We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with the location, the staff’s behavior and service. All your comments have been noted, as any issues reported from our esteemed guests is of great value to us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanos A wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We had a very pleasure stay with the family. Really relaxing days, with a big pool and a nice beach and a lot of activities for the kids. we had a family room that was comfort and they can vary you with everything you may need but the huge pillows where very uncofortable. Also we had some rainy days and you couldn't leave your clothes to dry in the balcony cause the rain was passing by through the roof. The stuff was very polite , nice breakfast and dinner buffet and an amazing guy called Christos was like in charge in the buffet that always was there for everything we could ask. A big suggestion for relaxing holidays!!! Just to know if someone comes and visit you cannot use the pool or the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear Thanosa718, We would like to thank you for your preference in Cape Sounio, part of Grecotel Hotels & Resorts. We would like to thank you also for the positive comments concerning our services and facilities. All your comments have been noted. It will be our pleasure to host you again at your next visit in Athens. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulomacca wrote a review Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions
My family and I have just returned from 5 nights in Cape Sounio. Stunning place and scenery and on the whole a decent hotel - there were a few too many ‘buts’ however… on the plus side the food quality is high - even in the buffet, the amenities are decent and the location and views are stunning. It’s a 2.3 km walk to the temple which we decided to do rather than spend EUR 50 for a 30 min taxi round trip. The pool is salt water but decent and the beach has a good beach bar. The ‘but’s’ however - it’s very dated. We didn’t mind this really as the room was spacious even for the 5 of us, but it needs bringing out of the early 2000’s in terms of decor. The beach offers no water sports for the kids/adults and they don’t have a bus service to the temple - they are hugely missing a trick or two here. The local store had astronomically high prices for literally everything. The biggest ‘but’ however was the service, which was generally very poor - and I really am not someone to complain. Nearly everyone was either new or clearly had never worked in hotels/ hospitality before - I’ve never had to complain so much about incorrect bills in my life. In fairness they managed to sort this out without too much fuss the majority of the time, however it was frustrating after the third night to have continued to get things wrong and we clearly weren’t the only ones it was happening to. We were greeted by a member of staff who saw we had kids (it’s known for its kid friendliness apparently) and pretty much couldn’t get rid of us quickly enough. We were then told that none of the a la carte restaurants were available until the following night and even then not until 9.30pm.. we have a 3 year old… the Manager eventually sorted something amenable for us but it really wasn’t the start we wanted and could so easily have been avoided should we have been advised in the various pre-stay email interactions that booking in advance was advisable. There were various other mainly people related off-points that just didn’t hit the mark of a 5 star hotel and that was a real shame as the place has potential in terms of the location, the property size and scale, the general amenities etc. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Athens, but I’m very glad that we stayed in central Athens (at a very different and amazing hotel) first. A bit of a shame really.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear Paulomacca, We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with the location, the food's quality and variety and the facilities. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to read that some of the service aspects did not meet your expectations. Your comments are more than valuable for us and we will personally address this with our colleagues, in the areas mentioned to ensure their improvement. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, hoping you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in Grecotel Cape Sounio. With gratitude,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louie (Elias) Tzatzanis wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Once again my family and I returned to Grecotel Cspe Sounio at the end of our greek adventure. It's like my family and I never left. The entire staff from the front desk to the various managers snd hospitality staff was beyond accomodating. Of course I cannot forget Mr. Michalis Minadakis the General Manager who always took time to make sure my family and I were enjoying our time there. Everything continues to be FIRST CLASS!!!. If you are looking to unwind and relax before leaving Greece I cannot recommend a better tranquil setting. Hope to see you soon My Grecotel Family. Καλή συνέχεια.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear 567Iouiet, We would like to thank you for choosing Grecotel Cape Sounio. We appreciate for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us. It is particularly warming to know that our efforts to provide a superior service and hospitality are being recognized. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort soon. Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vadim B wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing hotel with an exclusive service, where Stuff makes you feel at Home. Great food in the variety of restaurants and remarkable breakfasts. Private beach with a stunning view on the Poseidon sanctuary. You live in a private bungalow with a sea view (we had it). Yoga, tennis” and other activities for kids as well. Special regards to Christos, who took care of us during bfast and dinners, being attentive and showing a great deal of a service. It was our second time there and we look forward to coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear 546vadimb, We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We were delighted to read that we managed to contribute to a perfect accommodation and that you were pleased with the location, the staff’s behavior and service. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
randy wrote a review Aug 2022
Frisco, Texas21 contributions39 helpful votes
Exceeded our expectations. Food was outstanding, especially the free breakfast. Yali restaurant on the water had a disappointing dinner menu, but it was made up for by the excellent food at the main restaurant. Very scenic setting with beautiful pools, only eclipsed by the beaches. Beaches had umbrellas or better, food and drink available and spa nearby. Room was well lighted and had great air conditioning. The staff was very friendly and professional. VERY nice experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear RandyL1982, We would like to thank you for the review regarding your experience at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next visit in Athens. Kind Regards, Michael Minadakis General Manager at Grecotel Cape Sounio
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$198 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grecotel cape sounio hotel sounio, grecotel cape hotel sounio, grecotel cape resort sounio, cape sounio
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grecotel Cape Sounio
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaEast Attica RegionSounio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Temple of Poseidon (0.7 miles), Sounio Beach (0.6 miles), and Kape Beach (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pezodromos, Marida seafood restaurant, and Feggon restaurant..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Greek.