We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Athens International Airport, Spata 19019 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$263
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
ZenHotels.com
$212
View deal
Hotels.com$264
Travelocity$264
Sofitel$345
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1656)
Room & Suite (873)
Dining (169)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Spata
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5712Reviews113Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,916
  • 1,792
  • 659
  • 218
  • 127
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
neilm707 wrote a review Oct 3
Bethlehem, Georgia193 contributions68 helpful votes
We spent one night in the Sofitel Athens awaiting our return flight to Atlanta. The hotel is excellent. Our king room had all amenities including slippers and robe. The room was fresh and exceptionally clean. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded yesterday
Dear neilm707, We would like to thank you for staying at Sofitel Athens Airport prior to your flight back to Atlanta and for sharing your valuable feedback. It is a true pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities of your room and had a memorable stay in our premises. My team and I look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our hotel in the future and thank you for your recommendation. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spytha wrote a review Oct 1
Montreal3 contributions2 helpful votes
Like to stay at Athens airport Sofitel before flying out easy departure next day. Had a nice dinner and drinks at Artemis bar! Theodori and Dimitri are top notch ! Ask for them next time you are there, they’ll take care of you - service was number one!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David R wrote a review Oct 1
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey37 contributions37 helpful votes
Woke up with backaches from overly soft and sloping beds. Shower randomly fluctuates between cold and boiling without touching anything. Food less than mediocre. On the plus side I liked the shampoo and it is literally across the street from the airport
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded yesterday
Thank you David R for writing about your stay. We continuously put all our efforts in order to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Therefore, we were most concerned to receive your feedback related to your visit. My team and I have well noted your bedding preference. Do not hesitate to contact us prior to a next visit in order to remove the upper mattress and ensure the best sleeping comfort for you. We took notice as well of your feedback for the food and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future for a brand new experience. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BostonNix wrote a review Sep 2022
Cape Cod, Massachusetts323 contributions137 helpful votes
I stayed at the Athens Sofitel last year and had dinner and breakfast from room service due to fears of Covid. The service was elegant and the food was excellent. Worth the cost! What a difference this year! Firstly, they just have a limited room service menu now. This was supposed to be told to me when I checked in, but was not. Eventually a photocopy menu of the limited offerings was delivered to my room after a failed attempt at ordering - and, by the way, it is really hard to find a menu even for the restaurant. We ordered room service dinner and it was very good quality - but why no butter? Both dinner and breakfast had a basket of rolls, but no butter. Otherwise, the hotel was up to their usual high standards. Lots of help with bags upon checking in and out. Nice room with a view of the airport. Good blackout option on the window and the room was pretty quiet. Could not get the temperature controls to work and did not want a repair person fooling with them during our limited time there. Made for a chilly night. Reception said they would take a look at it after we left. Also, I have mentioned this before, and others have as well, how about some more English language programs. All that is on offer is news. How about some movies? The Options on the TV indicate movies, but they do not appear to be available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Martin B wrote a review Sep 2022
Sydney, Australia9 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked this before our domestic flight just in case our long haul was delayed. Good decision. Very clean and comfortable and directly across the road from the terminal. Had a good night's sleep and breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded yesterday
Thank you Martin B for staying at Sofitel Athens Airport. My team and I appreciated to learn that you had a relaxing stay with us and particularly appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of your room and your breakfast. We do value your patronage and look forward to your next visits on future opportunities. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bronx2800 wrote a review Sep 2022
Portland, Oregon39 contributions34 helpful votes
First the good: This hotel is very close to the airport. The bed is comfortable and the duvet is divine. The bathroom is spacious and modern. The bad: The hotel is ridiculously expensive. The food is also expensive- 19 euros for a very stingy Greek salad with poor quality tomatoes. Our first server was polite, but when she left, she was replaced by a very rude , impatient man. We traveled throughout Greece and never experienced rudeness at all. In addition, the TV movie option did not work for us. And, the Wi-Fi is slow and if one wants faster Wi-Fi, there is a charge of 10 euros. I would recommend another hotel near the airport, although it may not be as convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you bronx2800 for sharing your overall thoughts and impression following your stay with us. We appreciate your warm input on our beds and bathroom. On the other hand, we regret to hear that your dining experience was not to your liking and express our sincere apologies for the behavior of the server which does not reflect the level of service that we usually provide to our guests. We took also notice of your comments for our services and thank you once again for your feedback that helps us better understand your expectations. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erick B wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York34 contributions36 helpful votes
The Sofitel Athens is a beautiful hotel that is conveniently located just a 2-minute walk from the airport. Out of the four hotels we stayed at during our visit to Greece (including Mykonos, Santorini & another hotel in Athens) this was the only one that was a disappointment. Unfortunately, after the lovely check-in we had, the Sofetil Athens continuously let us down; the a/c in our room did not work well, we could not receive washcloths even after calling housekeeping, our bath towels were frayed, at dinner we never saw our waiter again after our food arrived & at breakfast we had to ask two different servers & had to actually get-up from the table to find someone to bring us coffee. This is not what someone expects when staying at a Sofitel Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Erick B for staying at Sofitel Athens Airport and taking the time to write about your stay. Please be reassured that we continuously put all our efforts to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay in our premises with high standards of service. Therefore, we regret to hear that your experience in our hotel has not been up to your expectations. Kindly be reassured that all the points you have raised have been brought to the attention of our Responsible Managers for further investigation and your feedback is very important for us in our continuous efforts for improvement. My team and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future for a brand new experience in our premises and thank you once again for your comments. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen B wrote a review Sep 2022
Essex, United Kingdom206 contributions84 helpful votes
One night stay ruined by a very mediocre breakfast. Scrambled eggs looked grey and horrible so opted for the boiled egg instead which was very grey and not yellow inside. Obviously not fresh or free range/organic. Couldn’t/wouldn’t eat it. Cooked breakfast not up to standard of a five star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Stephen B for taking the time to write about your breakfast experience. We were most concerned to receive your feedback Please be reassured that all our products are fresh. Kindly be informed, however, that your comments have brought to the attention of our Chef and will be further investigated. My team and I hope to welcome you back in the future for a brand new dining experience. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DJS wrote a review Sep 2022
Qualicum Beach4 contributions
We’ve stayed twice at this hotel - when we arrived in Athens and now when leaving. The service is incredible from all the staff. Most particularly, Poinos (the manager) was exceptionally helpful our first night when the A/C wasn’t working. He changed our room quickly, and then followed up with us later in person to ensure all was good. When we arrived back for our return trip, there was a personal note and gift from Poinos welcoming us back. Nice touch! We’d also like to add that Fontini, our server at the restaurant, was excellent. She remembered us from our first visit and made great recommendations for the food and wine.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Stavrou, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you DJS for staying at Sofitel Athens Airport while on a stopover in Athens and for sharing your experience. We place the guest experience at the heart of everything that we do and are delighted to receive your warm input for both of your stays. Rest assured that your compliments were highly appreciated by Panos, Fotini and the team. We do value your patronage and look forward to your next visits for many more enjoyable and memorable experiences in our premises. Best regards, George Stavrou
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derik A wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada62 contributions112 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here overnight before flying back to Canada. It is the perfect spot as you can walk across to Athens International Airport. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, other than the fact that there was only 1 sink. A wonderful buffet breakfast was included and the service was friendly and seamless. We would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$184 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel athens airport hotel spata, accor athens airport, athens sofitel
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaEast Attica RegionSpata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
345
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Athens Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Athens Airport?
Nearby attractions include Eleftherios Venizelos Permanent Exhibition (0.07 miles) and Anamnesia (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Athens Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karavi, Mesoghaia, and Gregorys - Athens International Airport.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sofitel Athens Airport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sofitel Athens Airport offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sofitel Athens Airport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Greek.