Los Amigos Hostel

Traveler (518)
Let there be Light!
Dining (58)
Private room
Room & Suite (58)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
No prepayment needed
$67
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 17 hostels in Flores
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
Your oasis on the beautiful island of Flores and the perfect base for visiting the majestic ruins of Tikal! Los Amigos hostel was founded in 2004 as an artistic fusion of the many influences of our travels with the most authentic aspects of our beloved Guatemala. We offer many amazing services, like the soundproof Night Lounge, an afforable and reliable travel agency, herbal steambath, masssages, pool table and much more! Recently we made some amazing upgrades, as well. Chill in our new Hummingbird garden and cook your own meal in our communal kitchen. We’re truly excited to treat you to an unforgettable adventure in Petén. And remember: Los Amigos is much more than just another place to stay… It’s your place to BE!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Billiards
Airport transportation
Full body massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Private bathrooms
Oven
Stovetop
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,808 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Los Amigos Hostel enjoys acclaim for its excellent service, with staff members providing an array of organized tours and activities, though there have been isolated instances of less attentive service. Nestled in a prime location, guests are delighted by its easy access to transport and local attractions. The hostel's cleanliness receives high marks, contributing to an inviting atmosphere that's often described as vibrant and eclectic, thanks to live music and unique decor. While the rooms are generally comfortable with efficient air conditioning, occasional noise and hot water inconsistencies have been mentioned. The value proposition is mixed; guests appreciate the reasonable prices for tours and meals, but some services are noted as overpriced. The hostel's amenities, including comfortable communal spaces and a variety of activities, are frequently praised, despite some mentions of loud air conditioners and the odd cold shower.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,808Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,062
  • 490
  • 131
  • 83
  • 41
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Calvin M wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed 2 nights here, wish I had stayed longer. The atmosphere is excellent, and it is very easy to meet new people. The night club spot is very soundproofed so you get the best of both worlds.

Highly recommend.

Their prices for tours, etc. are the cheapest.

My room didn't have AC, knew that going in, just didn't realize how hot Flores can get. Get a room with AC if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room with AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementLosamigos, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Hey Calvin, Thanks for your feedback and so glad you enjoyed the stay. It does tend to get hot here in the “land of eternal summer” but it’s so worth the heat to see all the amazing sites. But when it’s time to relax I would recommend that upgrade to the A/C room. And of course it’s always great to kick back and relax in the night lounge and cool off with a few drinks and dance the night away! Safe Travels Amigo, Marco DC- Los Amigos Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shantib514 wrote a review Oct 2021
Montreal, Canada6 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really great Hostel with a nice jungle-like garden, restaurant, bar, and good vibes. They have shared dorms and private rooms you can choose from to suit your needs and budget. The restaurant is also reasonably cheap with delicious food (the Argentinian chorizos are delish!!). The staff is really kind especially Mindy who was so nice, helpful and made you feel at home. The only setback I have is the fact that there isn't someone at the reception most of the time. The front door remains locked so when coming in and out, you often have to wait for someone to come open the door, and at times that took over five minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Aubrey Clark wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, amazing bar and restaurant. With snooker table and fast wifi. Nothing bad to be said. The beds were really comfy and we came without having a forward booking and they let us in without any problem for a cheap price. Great place would recommend to anyone coming to Flores.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen P wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Wifi is extremely slow - took forever to even connect to it.
The rooms are dark (there was mix up in reservation so stayed in multiple rooms). I stayed in a private room in the other building (needed a flashlight to actually see things properly), treehouse room was also very dark and loft dorm room was dark. It would be great if they invested in some proper lighting for the rooms. The only room that had proper lighting was the lakeview room.
The bar/restaurant service is inefficient and extremely slow.
It was weird having the showers in the bar area. You come out of shower, see everyone and smell the cigarette smoke.
Also, they did not honor the price I was quoted on reservation. They said it was now higher and I had to pay that price even though I showed them the confirmed reservation with the lower price.
Customer service wasn't great - it seemed they weren't interested in answering any of my questions.
Next time I go to Flores, I would choose another hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementLosamigos, Gerente at Los Amigos Hostel
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Dear Karen, thank you so much for your feedback as this is a great tool for us to improve the hostel. We are very suprised to read that the rooms seemed so dark to you. Each room has at least one big light bulb for ample light and a warm soft cozy light for the nice atmosphere in the night, Also, i really wish you would have mentioned your inconvenience to our manager on shift cause we, of course, would have changed you the light bulb for a stronger one that very moment. Good thing is you mention it now so rest assure we will have a good look throughout all of our rooms just to make sure that everyone has the perfect illumination they deserve! We have 5 wifi connections of the fastest available in the area throughout the hostel. Unfortunately, the speed here does not match standards like Guatemala City (we are in the jungle here) yet but we do everything we can to provide solid internet for all of our guests. Sometimes people download media and internet can slow down a bit. Sorry about the inconvenience. The showers are not in the bar area but are adhecent to our beautiful wide courtyard and are set up in a funky hostel vibe where the window of the sinks faces the green garden. This creates for fun unexpected encounters for many while brushing their teet. Most of our guest love this setup. We realize your experience was a different one. You mention that customer service was not up to your standards. Rest assured that our managers, that are always on site, will make sure everyone in Los Amigos is treated with care and that all complaints are always taken seriously. Including yours. Again, if only you had spoken to our manager I am sure all of these annoyances could have easily been solved for you that very moment! Again we´d like to kindly thank you for expressing your concerns as there is no such thing as negative feedback for us! We will use your concerns to make the adequate changes and improvements to make Los Amigos the ultimate Backpacker hub on the island! Last but not least, Karen, on behalf of all of our team we are wishing you a happy 2020 and amazing travels onwards in the year to come! Warmest of greetings, Fernando (Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F3019CKcarolineb wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom37 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the budget dorm which I would not recommend it's so loud it's the worst sleep I've ever had in a hostel. Maybe if I'd stayed in a proper dorm room I would have had a better experience. Also be careful on the stairs from these rooms as the floor is uneven the stairs aren't solid so I actually fell down the stairs on my last morning. The staff at front desk were really unhelpful; I asked twice about lockers to two different staff members and they both told me to go look for them. The food at the restaurant is good and its very nicely decorated.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin H wrote a review Mar 2020
Oakland, California11 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Am a Canadian budget backpacker travelling long term by motorcycle and stayed for two nights in the cheapest fan room dorm for 90GTQ a night.

The beds in room are comfortable enough, it’s not hot enough to warrant the extra money for the AC so it’s all good.

The restaurant makes delicious food and drinks but at a bit of a price, a little more or on the expensive side (happy hour beers were 30GTQ if you buy two beers).

My biggest tiff with the hostel is the lack of kitchen, as a long term traveller I rely on a kitchen so I can cook for myself to save money.

Good time either way though
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementLosamigos, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Hey Amigo, We are so glad you enjoyed you stay at Los Amigos! We are always looking for the honest feedback from our guests. We will definitely take the information you shared about the use of a kitchen into account for future projects as we are always adding to our accommodations. We are also currently going through a menu revamp and it will have many exciting dishes added and newer price points as well. We hope to see you again soon when you visit us here in Flores! Safe Travels, Marco DC- Los Amigos Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike D wrote a review Feb 2020
Orlando, Florida274 contributions63 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We heard some really great things about this hostel and at first sight it blew all expectations.

Once you walk through the door the layout and ambience is heavenly. There is a pet rabbit who hops around, turtles in the small pond and little quails that you have to watch out for but very cute.

We stayed in a private room in Los Amigos 2 the first night and had the whole upstairs and roof too to ourselves which was a nice surprise. The only small down fall was the bathrooms were down stairs which was tough to access in the dark of night.

Night 2, we moved to a dorm due to there being no available private rooms left. The dorm had 4 bunks but this is where is takes a turn for the worst....PLEASE READ...

We were robbed.
Two Guatemalan brothers entered our dorm during the time we were out of the hostel. When we returned to the room a clear violation of privacy was clear as my girlfriends stuff was thrown around the room and our 2 battery power banks were missing.

After speaking with the staff they took 2 hours to review the cameras and the two brothers staying in our room already left for the night. There was no sense of urgency and they didn’t move us to another room until we requested it by then it was 10pm.

I’m still in shock nothing was done to help us retrieve our items. Very sad end to our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementLosamigos, Gerente at Los Amigos Hostel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Hi! Thank you so much for your review! First of all, we are so sorry about this happening to you! please allow us to explain our side of the story. When we heard about your belongings missing, we took it very serious, as robberies in Los Amigos never occur and we do everything we can to keep this a safe, secure and happy place. When you reported that your belongings were missing we immediately checked our security cameras but as you understand, we dont have cameras in sleeping areas to respect our guests privacy so we didnt have images of the 2 brothers directly taking your belongings. After checking the cameras it was clear enough for us though that it must have been them and we requested to check their bags to search for the battery banks, but we did not find these in their personal belongings. Nontheless we requested them to leave the hostel which they did, after some protests. Once this whole process was completed we wanted to come back to you to inform you about the latest development and to let you know that we had done everything we could to help you but by this time you had already left. You need to understand it takes some time to analyze all the camera footage. We are really sorry this happened to you. Rest assure we do everything at Los Amigos to avoid these kind of happenings and DO take this very seriously. That is why we always also ask people to store their personal belongings in our security lockers of which we have one for each bed. Which is still the safest way to avoid your valuables being stolen while sleepíng in a dormitory. This is all clearly stated upon checkin and on the signs inside of each dorm. The next morning when the cleaning ladies cleaned the dorm they found one black power bank under the matress that one of the brothers slept in which we now have stored safely in our lost and founds. Please contact us by sending us an email to gerencialosamigos@gmail.com or call us on 4495 2399 and we will send it to your current location. Again, we are so sorry this happened to you. We have decided to sharpen our security by taking a scan of the id of all of our guests from now on! Hopefully this way we can filter out the rotten apples that ruin it for all the beautiful good travelling people out there. We hope you have a smooth and safe journey onwards and that you write us so we can get you your power bank back! Warmest of greetings, Fernando, manager Los Amigos
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael L wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here 3 nights and the atmosphere was great all hours of day to hang out solo or chat and share beers with great food and friends! Well connected to tours for everything in area. Felt safe walking around alone anytime and never had to go more than 5 mins to see some live music in the park or bars near by. Mindy and Melissa were fun to be around and very helpful every time I was around them. Great staff members help with the environment all the time! Good job girls 👏
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementLosamigos, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Hey Amigo, Thanks so much for the amazing feedback. We love hearing how much you enjoyed the visit. We definitely do our best to make sure we have everything available to you while you are staying. We love the island life and like to keep the atmosphere full of those vibes. Our restaurant and bar offer some amazing dishes and drinks at an affordable price, it’s great that you were able to enjoy them. Thanks for the shout out to our amazing staff they work hard so you can have the best time. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe Travels, Marco DC- Los Amigos Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PerAgrum wrote a review Jan 2022
Austin, Texas71 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The dorms are hot and stuffy with almost nonexistent AC and no fans. The beds are uncomfortable with no privacy and the dorms do not require a key so anyone can come in at any time- not safe and not secure. Originally, I had made a reservation for 3 nights but when I tried to reduce it to 2, they told me to cancel the reservation and make a new one but didn't tell me that would TRIPLE the rate. So I ended up paying as much for the stuffy dorm as I had originally been quoted for a private room. My first night there I ate in the restaurant and before I could even get my bill a manager came over and told me I needed to leave because they had other guests that wanted the table. They have so many reviews because they give free drinks for them. On my last night, I saw a mouse in the dining room and several rats outside the guest kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Deluxe AC Dorm is actually very hot and not private (doesn't lock)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
infoR7933LF wrote a review Feb 2020
Willemstad, Curaçao21 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We back packed Guatemala, we are mid 50’s so maybe not the usual customer to Los Amigos... but we loved the place. Hanging in the social area enjoying the atmosphere and free WiFi. The tour operator in Amigos fixed the bus to take us to Semuc Champey (together with all the youngsters). Lovely place and we can recommend it to all ages!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagementLosamigos, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Hello Amigo! There’s no age limit to living the best life and visiting us here at Los Amigos! We are so excited that you had a great time with us and you were able to relax and enjoy your stay. We strive to offer the best atmosphere on the island and it seems we are doing it right when we read such amazing reviews. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe Travels, Marco DC- Los Amigos Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca M asked a question Jun 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Is the travel agency open 24 hours? If not, what are the hours?
Answer from Jane C
Antalya, Türkiye3 contributions
No. My memory of this is that is closed at 21.00 but I may be wrong and it might be safer to check directly with the hostal.
Buntravel asked a question Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom48 contributions7 helpful votes
Do you have a kitchen that guest can use to self cater?
Answer from Rich Travel
Guatemala1 contribution
now they have. there is a kitchen for guests.
Buntravel asked a question Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom48 contributions7 helpful votes
Do you have a kitchen that guest can use to self cater?
Answer from Los Amigos Hostel
Flores, Guatemala8 contributions11 helpful votes
Hola! Thank you for asking, there is no age limit to stay with us. We welcome every age group. Happy travels,
Sebastian S wrote a tip Feb 2024
Malaga, Spain3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to have cash because they add 10% to the bill if you pay by card."
Read full review
Hidde d wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a shared kitchen, meaning that visitors are able to cook themselves if they would want to for any reason."
Read full review
Ja M wrote a tip Nov 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia41 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They don’t let you in, after 9pm if you don’t staying here."
Read full review
Ivy E wrote a tip Oct 2023
13 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some of the tours, activities (such as the sunset cruise) only run if there are 12 people or more which might be a problem in the low season"
Read full review
Jenna M wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The top floor room with no air conditioning."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Flores area.
PRICE RANGE
$37 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
youth hostel los amigos hotel flores
LOCATION
GuatemalaPeten DepartmentFlores
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOS AMIGOS HOSTEL $37 ($̶9̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Flores, Guatemala

Frequently Asked Questions about Los Amigos Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Los Amigos Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Estación Biológica Las Guacamayas (0.09 miles), Catedral de Flores (0.05 miles), and Malecòn Isla De Flores (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Los Amigos Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Los Amigos Hostel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, an oven, and a stovetop.
What food & drink options are available at Los Amigos Hostel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Los Amigos Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Amigos Restaurant, La Casa de Enrico Restaurante, and Achiote.
Does Los Amigos Hostel have airport transportation?
Yes, Los Amigos Hostel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Los Amigos Hostel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.00 miles away from the center of Flores.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Los Amigos Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Flores HotelsFlores Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FloresHotels near Los Amigos Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars