We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rodeway Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 42: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2016

First of all - NO BREAKFAST even thought that was advertised. The grounds were covered with trash. The room was dirty with stains on the carpet and walls. The room smelled bad and the person who checked me in was NOT friendly or welcoming at all. TV had poor reception. Pool was very tiny and a little slimy feeling. Air... More 

Thank neepax
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2016

It was outdated and the hotel stunk. We didn't stay because the room looked gross and we hated the way it smelled. don't waste your time stopping by this hotel, pay the little extra for something nicer.

Thank Stephanie c
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

Booked my reservation for a Queen room and cleanliness is the only thing I demand. I arrived and was greeted indifferently by a clearly unhappy gentleman at the front desk. He quickly took payment and provided a room key. I parked in front of the room amid trash in the parking lot, then entered the room to an overpowering smell... More 

1 Thank Katie W
holbb, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Katie, I am sorry for your experience with us. We will refund your money as requested. If there is anything else you need, please do not hesitate to call us and we will resolve all the problems. Thank you. More 

Rockdale, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2015

We had no problems with this hotel. We came in late one night and left out next morning, but had a rather pleasant stay. The room/ bed/bathroom were all clean. Flat screen TV screen was larger than most hotels. There was a iron, room safe, charging station by the bed-free wifi-, large hairdryer,micro, and refrigerator. The breakfast was hot and... More 

Thank Patti S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

the room was suppose to have an alarm clock an iron and a blow dryer, had none of these, it looked like someone stole them. spiders on the towels, carpets and ceiling black with dirt and mold and not just in one spot- they were caked with dirt and mold, the electrical outlet covers broken, electrical outlets didnt work, air... More 

1 Thank tj889889
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2015

It was a horrible experience. Definitely the worst place I have ever stayed. I was so tired and that was the only reason I stayed. Carpet has stains, sofa with stains. Bed horrible. I even had to put my own clothes over the pillow in order to sleep. I wish I knew what I was getting into before I paid... More 

1 Thank Lupe M
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

Looks like the owners are putting in some updates. Nice flat screen tv and fridge in room. For the price i was very happy with my stay. Breakfast had some choice and not just cereals and toast. Also had waffles and eggs. Small out doors pool that looked clean but i did not use. Walgreens, Churches Chicken and WhataBurger across... More 

Thank Roswellcop
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2015

We arrived very late to Lubbock and this is the place we found to stay. We were super tired but could not sleep, this is located in a very busy/noise and loud area. One of the comforters was stained, carpet was not vacuumed very well, and then our toilet was leaking. The room was a non-smoking but it smelled like... More 

Thank fabval7
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2015

The room smelled smoky, I missed Saturday night live because the cable in the room didn't have nbc, no coffee pot in room, wifi was unreliable, business center computer did not work, and breakfast was a waffle ( no other options) and yucky coffee ( no orange juice). All other hotels were sold out so I was stuck here.

1 Thank Thomas K
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2014

I should have checked the reviews! This place is HORRIBLE. I had reserved a double, non-smoking thru my Choice Privileges; when we arrived we had a single bed (small) in a smoking room. Even though there were obviously several vacancies, the front desk called the "manager" and they would not change our room. The only positive is that we told... More 

1 Thank FredAckelbee
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge I-27
Econo Lodge I-27
#35 of 63 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#44 of 63 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Lubbock East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#26 of 63 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#36 of 63 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 4801 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79412-2209 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Price Range: $48 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Lubbock
Lubbock Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay