Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Sage Hill Inn & Spa

The Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek
Traveler (316)
Dining (31)
Maurice's Guest Room Sitting Area
Room & Suite (27)

View prices for your travel dates

$328
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Kyle
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Spa
Adults only
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
554Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 483
  • 43
  • 20
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cuano C wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have nothing but positive experience with my stay at Sage Hill Inn starting from when I made my reservation. I initially reserved one of the suites because of the sunset and sunrise views of the room as described however I changed my reservation for social distancing reason amid the pandemic. Eric was very accommodating!

We stayed in the Red Oak cottage and was the perfect choice! It was private, quiet and away from other guests in the main inn. The room was spacious for 2 people. It was clean and looked well-maintained. And we loved the nespresso machine! Our bed faced the east so it was so nice to wake up to a beautiful sunrise.

I commend Eric and Alex for their excellent customer service! Actually all the staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. Our signature spa package was wonderful!

Food was great beyond our expectation. We ordered our menu selection prior to our arrival and reserved dining room seating for dinner and delivery service for breakfast. Great dinner and service with beautiful sunset view! Continental breakfast was more than enough for us, muffins were still warm.

I loved the hiking trails! Beautiful sceneries, wildlife plants and many deer in the run!

Being a frontliner, I was glad to observe COVID protocols in action; limited diners and spaced out tables in the dining room. Social distance was not a big issue due to few guests in a large open spaces in the property. I suggest hand sanitizers available in various locations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Red Oak was private, spacious for a couple and less expensive! Not recommended though for guest...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sage Hill Inn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you so much much for your kind review. I am super happy to hear that our staff was able to take care of your needs during your stay. Spring and fall are the best time of the year to enjoy all that the hill country has to offer. We look forward to your next visit here at Sage Hill Inn & Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LMB wrote a review Dec 2021
The Woodlands10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Sage Hill Inn is off the beaten path yet only a 20 minute drive from great barbecue, 3 wineries, and a distillery. However, their food is so delicious you won't want to miss the 3-course dinner. The hospitality is enough to make you eat on the property. Everyone seems invested in how much you enjoy your dinning experience, whether in your room or in the dinning room.

Their spa and hiking trails were enough to keep us busy for our getaway. The spa transports you from the property although it sits right in the center. The treatments were excellent and reasonably priced. There were multiple trails of varying distances. This allowed us to take a quick walk after breakfast or a 2-mile hike before. We enjoyed seeing plenty of birds, deer, and rabbits along the way.

Above all, our room was CLEAN! We DID NOT see leftover hair in the shower or lipstick on wine glasses. There were hand sanitizer stations in common areas (library and dinning room) and no shared hallways. We walked straight into our room and staff arranged for dinner to be delivered to our room. This allowed us to minimize interactions with other guests. Even the tables in the dinning room permitted social distancing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sage Hill Inn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Hello Lakisha, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Sage Hill Inn & Spa. Cleanliness and being hospitable is our top priority here at the inn. Please feel free to give us a call if you ever need anything and we hope to see you back out soon! Best, Aric Blevins Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Twinbabymama wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just spend 3 nights at SHI for my birthday and it was amazing. The food was fantastic! Every meal was wonderfully prepared and cooked with fresh, local ingredients. I’ve read mixed reviews on the food but I’m here to tell you—--it’s the real deal!

They provide many thoughtful touches such as Hummingbird bath products, Ghirardelli chocolates on the night stand, and Pecan coffee in the mornings to accompany the fresh eggs grown on their property. They even have complimentary Mexican cokes and Dripping Springs Rainwater in your room.

We stayed in the Nance Suite and it was worth every penny. A dozen roses were sitting on the table. The bed linens were high quality. The views were spectacular and the room was very spacious. We loved the fireplace; it snowed all day on Sunday and created a romantic ambience. They have binoculars in the room. That was perfect for closer views of deer floating around the property.

To top of my experience, I had a massage at their Spa and it was the best I’ve ever had in my life. Sage Hill Inn and Spa exceeded my expectations!! I left today feeling pampered and spoiled. We WILL be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sage Hill Inn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Mar 25, 2021
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities so much. The small details are important to us and I am glad you were able to enjoy them all. We look forward to your next stay!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan K wrote a review May 2021
5 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sage Hill Inn was highly recommended to us, and we liked the description on their site. Grounds are beautiful, but paths/game area need weeding Also, great trails that could have used mowing and widening. It has rained a lot recently, so that could be part of the issue. Stayed in Pecan Cottage that did not have feather bed or drop leaf table for in room dining as described on their site. The room needs paint touched up, tub recaulked, and cracked tiles replaced. The covers porch and fire pit (a bit weedy) were great. Meals were delivered in disposable containers and did not have plates for service. We had to call several times to get cleaning, restocking and drinks for our breakfast. We paid a premium price and not did have a premium experience. .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephan L wrote a review Jun 2020
Corpus Christi, Texas84 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Not only is Sage Hill Inn very luxurious in its amenities - you'll also get one of the best meals of your life. The chef is an absolute genius at using the bounty from the inn's ample garden (make sure to stroll through it) and the service is first-class. Prices may look high but they cover the cost of both dinner and breakfast, both of which you will find memorable. To top it all, the inn has several hiking trails through the lovely landscape. This is definitely a place to visit, and return to, in the heart of the Hill Country of Texas, close to Austin.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The least expensive rooms are Maurice's Guest Room and Thelma's Loft, booth outstanding.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sagehillinn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Jul 6, 2020
Thank you for the kind review. Every season the chef and the gardener work hand in hand in deciding what to grow for our restaurant. We love having the ability to grow what works perfect for the season of the year. Thank you for your stay and we hope to see you join us again at Sage Hill Inn & Spa!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacy C wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oh man, after losing a close family member to Covid and having to postpone our wedding for a year, we really needed to find a place to get away and recharge. Nervous about the current state of things, we called Sage Hill, told them of our situation, and they assured us that we would be well taken care of. We were told they would not have anyone service the rooms unless we explicitly asked and even told us they were limiting occupancy and no one would be in the room next to us. Excited, we booked. The first night we went through the spa menu, picking out what treatments we would get on our hopefully annual trip. Well, apparently what they told us were both complete lies. The next day a couple cheerfully rolled their suitcases into the room next to us. Ok, fine. Saturday we came back to our room to find someone had been in it, halfway 'cleaning' and moving our personal items. We called to ask about this. No apology. Nothing. I mean, if they hadn't told us these things were definitely not going to happen it wouldn't be such a big deal. It's the fact they lied. Now we are currently waiting on the breakfast they simply forgot to deliver to us this morning. Nice property. 1 star service. Between the anxiety attack I had and the fact that I'm hungry this morning, we definitely won't be returning.

Update: for as expensive as this place is, and the fact that they forgot our breakfast, was kind of hoping for something other than the bottom part of a bagel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sagehillinn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Jun 2, 2020
Dear Mrs. Stacy C, I am truly sorry to hear what a bad job we did for you and your husband on your recent stay at Sage Hill. You apparently called several times to make your reservation and the person you ended up booking with did not know to block the adjacent room. We no longer do that since all of our rooms have separate exterior entrances and many are separate cottages themselves so there is no sharing of lobbies, hallways or elevators. Nonetheless, the first person you spoke with said we could accommodate you this way and the second person didn’t make it happen. Strike one. We also dropped the ball on the housekeeping. We typically service rooms daily. Because of Covid we now only service rooms upon checkout to protect our guests and our housekeeping team. During your stay we were offering a very limited housekeeping on request for fresh towels and to replenish the free drinks in the minibars. Unfortunately we had guests call and accidentally give us the name of your room to request a cleaning. We should have confirmed the guest name to make sure they were giving us the correct room name. We didn’t and ended up disappointing two sets of guests, you who got your room serviced and didn’t want it, and the folks that we didn’t service their room and they had tried to request it. The last straw was you not getting your continental breakfast. These typically consist of a croissant, half bagel, muffin, yogurt, oats and fruit. Breakfast is typically in the dining room and the delivery to the room is another recent change we have made to help protect our guests and our team. Needless to say, we really dropped the ball with your stay and I am very sorry about that. If you are willing to give us another try I would love to have you back out on us to show you the Texas Hospitality we pride ourselves on. Respectfully, Brad B.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacquelyn R wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful time with the kids (although this property is only accepting children until June 15)! Thank you for accommodating our dietary needs, explaining potential wildlife sightings, and guiding us to feed the chickens. My 3 yr old said, "I never want to leave." My 5 year old described the vegan meatballs as "Epic!" Both adults loved the king sized beds, hiking trails, and gourmet dinner each night. A perfect getaway - only an hour away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, request a room on the bottom floor of main building. Cottages have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sagehillinn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded May 25, 2020
Hello JacquelynR44, We appreciate your business and we are super glad you were able to enjoy all of our wildlife. Thank you so much for your stay with us. Hope we can see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RedHairedShaggy wrote a review Dec 2021
Austin, Texas2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about where Sage Hill Inn & Spa is located just drips with warmth and rest. Simply driving the mile long driveway puts you in another world. The walking trails, Texas views and accommodation simply complete the effect.

What's best about Sage Hill isn't, however, those things (as good as they are). The staff was responsive to everything we asked, from serving us dinner to procuring organic chocolate strawberries so that I could partake in the romantic package designed for both my wife and I. Ryder's service at the table was just the right amount of getting to know us, getting us what would please our tastebuds and giving us space to enjoy each other. Shaun's massage at the spa left my body in relaxation heaven. Gia and Caroline's work at the front desk took care of all of our needs from dealing with the rude guests above us to procuring a sound machine so we wouldn't have to hear them again.

At Sage Hill, everything's laid out exceptionally so that whatever you need just seems to have already been left there by the Hill Country gods of getaway relaxation. But when the tiniest detail outside of those arises, smiles and right aways await to complete your stay of perfect enjoyment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sage Hill Inn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Dec 10, 2021
Hello, We apologize about the noise coming from the unit above you but glad to hear that our staff was able to make you feel comfortable. All of the staff here at Sage Hill strives to make sure each and every guest has a pleasant visit. We hope to see you back soon and if you ever need anything, please dont hesitate to give us a call. Best, Aric Blevins Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim T wrote a review Jun 2021
Austin, Texas1,141 contribution351 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The natural setting is gorgeous, upon a hill with expansive views and many benches and even swinging chairs strategically located throughout the property. There is a large pool and massage/facials are available at extra cost. Poolside there are towels and a cooler with cold water. When we had a problem with our TV someone was there to help within minutes of our phone call requesting assistance. There are walking trails, and we encountered nature (deer, hummingbirds, Bois D'Arc trees, etc.) including a few scorpions in our room. The one disappointment was the food, with limited choices and the breakfast buffet is woefully lacking. However, one can find peace and quiet in abundance, if price is no object. (Rooms are quite expensive.)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sage Hill Inn, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Hello Jim, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food during your visit with us. We are currently working on expanding our menu selections along with some extras for the continental breakfast. Our staff is always here for our guests so I am pleased to hear that they responded to the TV issue in a prompt manner. Unfortunately we do have some scorpions on property during the summer season. However, we have been spraying the entire inn on a weekly basis to ensure they are kept away from the buildings as much as we can. Always feel free to give us a call if you ever need anything and we would love to see you back on the property soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eckd wrote a review Oct 2020
Dallas, Texas6 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent a couple of nights in the Juniper Cottage and couldn’t have had a better experience. We enjoyed gourmet dinners on our own porch with views of the hill country. I liked our dessert so much that I asked for the recipe, and the head chef sent me the recipe with detailed instructions. The cottage was cozy and immaculate, and the staff was friendly and helpful while being careful and respectful about Covid safety. This was our only trip since Covid, and I highly recommend Sage Hill Inn to anyone looking for a safe, relaxing escape with the added luxury of creative, delicious dinners.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from David R
Arlington, Texas36 contributions33 helpful votes
This would be a fantastic place for a Valentines Day weekend.
Answer from Raif R
Kyle, Texas
Sorry for the delayed response. There are some nice hikes on inn property, Wimberly is not far, and there are shops and restaurants there, and Blue Hole for swimming. We’re usually going there to escape the city, so we don’t leave the inn area much! I’m sure the innkeepers could give you more info on nearby things to do, if you call them.
Answer from Raif R
Kyle, Texas
Hello Cori, Thank you for reaching out. I am completely sold out that weekend but do have a couple options the following weekend if that would work for yall. The pricing varies a little depending on the room(s) cottages you choose. We would love to walk you all through this over the phone! Please call us at 512-268-1617
Answer from OnionCreek
Austin, Texas, United States
No problem - have you been to our website? Each room has it's own page. Just hit the accommodations link on the top menu and you'll be able to see them all!
Answer from Greg W
Austin, Texas582 contributions202 helpful votes
Also included in our room rate.
Carolin- Marie R wrote a tip Jan 2024
18 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go there when it is not so busy und they will make you feel very special. "
Read full review
Tim K wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all unique rooms"
Read full review
Sunshine781891 wrote a tip Jan 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a hidden gazebo down near the creek - a very romantic spot. Bring your pickleball outfit. "
Read full review
AVGTXN wrote a tip Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas793 contributions210 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room in the main Inn."
Read full review
MattStephenson wrote a tip Apr 2022
Austin, Texas2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stayed in a cottage and it was amazing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kyle area.
PRICE RANGE
$296 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn above onion creek hotel kyle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Inn Above Onion Creek
LOCATION
United StatesTexasKyle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAGE HILL INN & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Doc's Drive In Theatre (3.6 miles), Bob Shelton Stadium (3.2 miles), and Plum Creek Dog Park (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hays City Store, Ilarios, and Beijing Bistro - Buda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sage Hill Inn & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kyle Railroad Museum & Heritage Center (5.2 miles).
Is Sage Hill Inn & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kyle HotelsKyle Hotel DealsHotels near Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars