We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
401 N Polk St, Jefferson, TX 75657-2135
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (205)
Dining (82)
Room & Suite (10)

About

#4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
5.0
Value
4.9
Welcome to the Carriage House Bed and Breakfast! The Carriage House offers attentive service, great food, and and all the comforts of home in an open friendly atmosphere with plenty of room to relax around the property. Whether you want quiet time to read a book on the wrap around porch or join in conversation with other guests at the firepit with a complimentary wine/beverage of choice or just chat with Jessi about the B&B and maybe get a recipe or two… The Carriage House is the place to visit. It does not matter if you are coming for a family getaway, business meeting or a romantic retreat, our seven cozy rooms on the main property and gourmet breakfast will make this a vacation worth remembering. The historically themed rooms, each with private baths, are dressed in restored antique furnishings with handmade quilts on the beds. We also manage other adjacent properties through our property management company JMPB properties; two standalone cottages, two bedrooms inside the circa 1850’s house we call the “Sam Houston” house. We now have three more rooms to the JMPB property management family. It is an Art gallery themed property with the Van Gogh room, Picasso room, and the Gustav room collectively named the “The Gallery B&B” located in the heart of Jefferson’s Historic District 4-blocks from the Carriage House.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
343Reviews6Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 315
  • 22
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pat S wrote a review Aug 1
Louisiana27 contributions16 helpful votes
My wife and I have stayed at Carriage House several times, the latest being the weekend of July 30, 2022. Every time we stay at Carriage House, we seem to enjoy it more. One could not ask for better hosts. Jessi and B.W. are so friendly and accommodating. Having not previously done so, this time we enjoy Jessi's dinner on Saturday, which was, as expected, absolutely wonderful!! We absolutely recommend the Carriage House for a stay and/or dining when you are in Jefferson, Texas.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you So much! we love when you visit us as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoJo wrote a review Jun 2022
Ashdown3 contributions1 helpful vote
After reading the reviews that the Carriage House BnB was peaceful and relaxing I decided to book 3 nights there to celebrate our anniversary. Our bedroom was right off the living room. There were so many dinner guest that we were unable to relax. We had to maneuver between tables to get to our room. The fumes from cooing burned our eyes. We felt like we were stuck in our room with the loud,dinner guest and commotion!. Then around 11:20 they were cleaning up and moving tables away from what was the living room. We could not go outside to get away from all the smoke and noise with 102 temperature. Then around 6:30 am they were moving furniture around again to prepare for the next meal in the living room. Right outside our door! Not peaceful nor quiet. They could sure use some softer toilet paper as well as making the paid over night guest more important than the ones eating there for their evening meals. They seemed to care more about receiving money from the paying dinner guest than the ones paying $135 a night to stay. Our Anniversary was not as special as we had planned. We did stay 2 of the 3 nights reserved but couldn't stay the 3rd night due to very little sleep with late night entertaining and early morning furniture arranging. I contacted another BnB and it was so quiet and we had the living room any time we wanted. I would take the 2 bedrooms and knock our the walls and expand the dining area and have the overnight guest stay somewhere away from the commotion. Please don't say this is peaceful and quiet because it was far from that. We live and we learn $437 later! OUCH
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not reserve a room off the living room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 7, 2022
I am sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay. We did have a large group of our guests staying with us that chose to dine with us and they did not leave until after 10 PM. This is not a usual occurrence and most of the time dinner service is over at 9:PM we are very sorry this interrupted your sleep but we could not ask them to leave early since they are paying for their stay ith us as well. Unfortunately, the room you chose to book is located next to the common areas which is why it is priced at a lower rate than our other rooms, Sadly enough, you did not come to us and express that you were unhappy with your stay, If we would have known, we could have addressed the situation and moved you to another room since we have 14 rooms total . There are only two rooms off of the lobby area and we mention in the description that you may hear some meal prep activity. We inform all guests during check in about breakfast and dinner being served in this area at that time when we discuss breakfast service. I distinctly remember taking your reservation and you were looking for the least expensive route and I did tell you about the location of the room being next to the common area when you asked about why the prices were different. Many of our other rooms have living rooms attached that are less busy or calm and quiet or open up to the outside areas which would have been a more suitable choice for your needs. What I don't understand is how you think you wasted 437.00 when your room bill was only 135 a night. The fact that you forgot to mention the cottage that was on the bill that your other family member stayed in for one night is misleading. Hopefully, that room was suitable. I also think that it is unfair to say we care more about our dinner guests since we only offer dinners on the weekends. It is not always the case that we have 18 people at dinner but on occasions it does happen. We also waived your cancellation fee for your last night because you said you had an "emergency" and you needed to leave earlier than scheduled. Had you talked with us and let us know there was a problem with your stay we would have made it right by comping your bill...but you did not tell us about your concerns and allow us to correct the problem or adjust the bill. We are all about customer service and really go the extra mile but we were not given the chance in your case. BTW we use double ply Charmin for our TP which is very soft.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olympia J wrote a review Jun 2022
Glendale24 contributions12 helpful votes
We just left this wonderful place this morning after 2 nights stay. Over the years we have stayed at at least 25 b&b, during our travels around the U.S. and Canada, one thing they all have in common are great people from the proprietor to the workers. This one is probably at the top of our list, everything from the people operating the place to the food, was excellent. We highly recommend carriage house when in Jefferson, Texas. We will definitely be back. Oh! if you’re lucky enough to be there on Friday or Saturday, for an added fee they offer an excellent four course course dinner, you won’t be disappointed. We highly recommend making the reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you, We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and glad you liked our dining experience
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca T wrote a review Jun 2022
Tyler, Texas, USA2 contributions1 helpful vote
During our trip in Texas, we made a reservation to stay in Jefferson at the Carriage House. During our travel my husband sustained an injury and we had cancel reservations in several places. The cancelation at the Carriage House was handling very professionally. I appreciated the way it was handled. Thank you for being so gracious. Rebecca Thompson
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonie M wrote a review Apr 2022
Roanoke, Texas4 contributions3 helpful votes
I found this little gem by accident. I wanted to visit Caddo Lake State Park, and the cabins were full. I looked for lodging in the area, and found The Carriage House. The experience was lovely from start to finish. I was greeted by Peggy, and she gave me a tour of the property and took me to my little cabin, which was one block off site. She was so welcoming! I walked all over Jefferson and was amazed by the natural beauty. I visited several shops, and everyone was so friendly and helpful. My room was cozy, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great. Little touches like complimentary snacks and sodas in the room mean a lot. I also enjoyed a glass of complimentary wine while sitting at the firepit in the backyard. S'mores were available as well. The next morning, breakfast took things to a different level. My servers were Lacy and Robert, who were both so gracious. I was presented with a mimosa, following by the most amazing berry shortcake. Then came the main course - quiche and potatoes au gratin, absolutely the best I've ever had. I visited with Jessi after breakfast and told her I can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Thank you We are happy you enjoyed your stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra S wrote a review Sep 2021
Dallas, Texas40 contributions11 helpful votes
We always stay here. The food is awesome, the hospitality is down to earth and Jessi is amazing. We love meeting the people that stay here and have fun getting to know them. Rooms are in an older wonderful home and always clean. We look forward to a 4th stay in the near future. Trip advisor needs to quit with the COVID nonsense questions. SO LAST YEAR and DONE!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Thank you We are happy you enjoyed your stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crystal T wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
We absolutely loved our stay here! For a group of girl’s or Ladies trip, I definitely recommend the Sam Houston House! It was perfect for more privacy. The breakfast and dinner were just amazing! We were very impressed and enjoyed every bite!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Thank you We are happy you enjoyed your stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brusher wrote a review Apr 2021
130 contributions29 helpful votes
Food is excellent. Staff is friendly. Nice perks; however, the bed was so uncomfortable, we couldn’t wait to get home. The shower was minuscule, and the amount of dust in that room was inexcusable. For these reasons, we can’t go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 24, 2021
I'm sorry you're not satisfied with your stay, the room you booked was one of our lower priced rooms which are smaller, the showers are standard sized in that room, we have rooms that have larger showers and bathtubs but they are not for the same price point. Unfortunately what you referred to as dust is actually pollen that coats everything in April in a matter of hours, Our rooms are cleaned very thoroughly between every stay so there is no way that dust can build up...the pollen is another matter, we can clean a room and come back two hours later and see coating that looks like dust. This usually only lasts a couple of weeks a year. If you would have brought this to our attention we would have explained it, sent housekeeping and fixed the problem. BW Brooks -co owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rkelly2014 wrote a review Apr 2021
Dallas, Texas143 contributions70 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Carriage House twice in 2021 and we enjoy it very much.The hospitality is terrific. Its a charming BnB w a great location.Park your car and walk to lots of places downtown.The breakfast is fantastic and even includes mimosas or Bloody Marys.There is a lovely little courtyard where you can enjoy a firepit and s'mores.The only thing less than stellar were the beds. In both visits with different rooms the beds seemed pretty worn out and squeaky.Overall we highly recommend the Carriage House.It should be noted that Jefferson has no mask requirement as a town due to very low covid numbers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Diamond Bessie has a old school boudoir style to it. Rich dark reds.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Brooks, Owner at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 24, 2021
Thank you for the review , we replace are mattresses every four years so the part you sleep on is not old , the frames of the bed are antiques and may squeak a little but are used because of their history, charm and aesthetics. Next time let us know when you book and we will direct to our rooms rooms that do not have antique furnishings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike A wrote a review Oct 2020
Dallas, Texas39 contributions11 helpful votes
Wonderful visit to the town of Jefferson, Texas for a very relaxing and laid back anniversary celebration. The Carriage House B&B was exactly what we had hoped for - relaxing, providing warmth and charm. The wrap around porch was an inviting place to have breakfast and later in the afternoon to curl up and read with a glass of wine. Breakfast was amazing both days and the coffee is fresh ground every morning. Jessi & BW - Owners; Rosita, Dusty, Jennifer - the Staff, made us feel welcome from our arrival through departure. Their hospitality and focus on their Customers is at the top of the game including the nightly fire pit and smores and the complimentary wine. Ask for the Diamond Bessie Room if available. The location was perfect; guests literally can walk to all restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay at the Carriage House upon our return to Jefferson.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasJefferson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Jefferson General Store (0.2 miles), Jefferson Historical Museum (0.2 miles), and Museum of Measurement and Time (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riverport Barbeque, Kitt's Kornbread Sandwich & Pie Bar, and Austin Street Bistro.
Is The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Jefferson.
Are pets allowed at The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Grove (0.4 miles), The House of the Seasons (0.3 miles), and Singleton's Virginia Cross Home (0.1 miles).
Is The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.