The Whitehall Houston

Traveler (391)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (256)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$143
Get rewarded with One Key
$143
$136
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#25 of 537 hotels in Houston
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
The Whitehall Houston Hotel offers classic Southern Hospitality and charm featuring modern rooms and amenities in downtown Houston.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

1700 Smith St, Houston, TX 77002
4.5
1,223 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Whitehall Houston gains popularity for its prime location, with many travelers lauding its proximity to downtown attractions and dining. Guests have experienced a mix of impressions, noting the staff's friendliness and the hotel's overall cleanliness, while some have called for updates, particularly in the atmosphere and room decor. Service at The Whitehall is often praised for its personal touch, although there have been mentions of occasional inconsistencies. The value proposition is debated among guests, who appreciate the pricing but sometimes encounter unexpected charges or feel the experience doesn't fully match the cost.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Limited
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1223Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 967
  • 140
  • 59
  • 32
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gary F wrote a review Jan 2020
Fareham, United Kingdom191 contributions112 helpful votes
The Whitehall has a 'feel good' factor from the start. We found it is easy to find and fair value valet parking is available (although there is a lot of public parking nearby, watch the cost). We were greeted by friendly and efficient staff in the large airy reception.

All public areas and our room were very clean and well maintained. Although situated on a main road downtown, our room (floor 12, I think) was not at all noisy. The hotel has an outside bar / terrace, ideal for a 'sundowner', as well as a bar and restaurant on the first floor. The restaurant offered a good selection of Tex-Mex food, and the meals we selected over a couple of visits were all great, as was the service.

Location wise, the hotel is a little out of centre but walkable and certainly only a very short drive / taxi ride. Do what we did and head down to the 'tunnels' for an interesting walk to the centre of town. Hotel reception gave us directions and a map!

I do want to stress the friendliness of the staff here; their attention was exceptional when my wife lost an earring (recovered!).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SKhatri, General Manager at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Gary, thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Whitehall Houston and highlighting the excellent features of our hotel. We are thrilled you were impressed with our immaculate accommodations and the prompt service provided by our associates. Please be assured we will share your compliments with our team to recognize them for a job well done. It is also a pleasure to read you found our location to be ideal for your plans and that you could take advantage of our valet parking. We also appreciate you sharing your wonderful dining experience at our in-house restaurant. Our Executive Chef, who is a master at creating mouth-watering dishes that blend native Tex-Mex cuisine with our classic Southern fare, will be delighted to know how much you enjoyed your dining experience. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you and your wife again whenever your business brings you to Houston. Best Regards, Sal Khatri General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johnson wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We went down to celebrate our wedding weekend, and this hotel is outstanding! It’s in a perfect location, you can get to a lot of major places within 15-20 minutes. During this stay, we absolutely enjoyed our bartender (Natalie) at Edgars on the 2nd floor of the hotel. Look for her if you’re ever at the Whitehall, she will exceed your expectations and is the nicest bartender around. I would absolutely book to stay here again next time we make it to Houston.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SKhatri, General Manager at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear Johnson, Thank you for taking the time to share that your anniversary stay at The Whitehall Houston was perfect in every way. It's a pleasure to know you enjoyed our ideal location and were impressed by the excellent service provided by one of our bartenders. We will be sure to share your compliments with Natalie and look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Best Regards, Sal Khatri, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
LWilson wrote a review May 2020
New Orleans, Louisiana2 contributions2 helpful votes
We usually stay at Hilton Hotels but for our weekend stay this time in Houston we chose to stay at The Whitehall after reading reviews.

I have to say, even during this trying time our stay was beyond amazing! John at the Front Desk was so kind and funny, very informative and had many suggestions for food and leisure. He made our stay the best it could possibly be!! Because of him, we will be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheri M wrote a review Feb 2022
Dallas, Texas56 contributions28 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel in a great location if you have business downtown. The room was big and beautiful and the bath was very nice. The only thing about the room is the tiny TV in the room. My husbands laptop screen is about the same size.
We also used the patio bar to order food and the food was very very good! The staff were very accommodating and friendly.
The reason why I had to give it a 3 is because of a couple inconveniences. First, it is Valet only at this hotel and it’s $35 per night. No option! Second, we like it cool in our room when we sleep and we had the air on (at 67) and the room never moved from the temp it was at (73) after a couple hours. My husband went downstairs and asked for another room or for it to be fixed. Someone came up right away and pulled a door down from ceiling did a few adjustments and viola it worked great! So thumbs up for quick response and knowledgeable maintenance crew. Lastly, there was no hair dryer in the bathroom and the body wash container was empty.
I know it sounds like a lot but people, room size and clean are my priorities so I could give lower rating but I also couldn’t extend a higher one either. I would return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Property Management, Owner at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Sheri, thank you for choosing The Whitehall Houston. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the great location, spacious room, our kind and helpful staff and the delicious food. Providing our guests with the highest quality stay is our top priority and we are apologetic your stay was anything less than perfect. We highly value guest feedback and will address these issues with the appropriate staff members. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay. Warm Regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melinda F wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
+1
Despite location, hotel stay was not pleasant. As a former hotel inspector, the hotel room/service, and decor needs updated and detail cleaning. The rating of the hotel does not match what you‘d pay for. Even my husband, who has done his fair share of traveling felt the rooms needed much improvement. There was a lot of mold/mildew and stains all over walls and furnishings and for 186 dollars a night, not including tax. The bathroom was cramped, barely any room for two people to move comfortably about in and out. The outside bar was nice and cozy, a break from the nightmare we tried to make the most. They do not do refunds which is why we were forced to stay. I had hair on my food the first day to which I was gifted a complimentary dessert, the shower water was not hot…more like lukewarm. Front desk, cared more about the appearance of put together than providing good customer service. They need to work on their customer service, in the absence of their manager being present. We had to asked politely for cleaned/refreshed rooms twice and was responded with attitude and nonchalantness. The valets tenants were the only pleasantries of our stay here at white hall. I paid for amenities that was included in a package deal that I was not granted and was told that I should have asked “again” for it when I had already asked about it on the twice during initial check in, the previous day. The hotel was not at all classy but dusty and broken down. My husband and I left feeling like we had stayed in a motel six instead. Take my advice and try and your hotel luck somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Mar 30, 2023
Dear Melindaf975, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We regret any disappointment you had with some aspects of your visit. Our standards are high in maintaining the overall look and feel of our hotel, and we will gladly share your feedback with the appropriate individuals as we plan for the future. We sincerely apologize for any oversight in preparing your room and we will share your feedback appropriately to ensure such mistakes are not repeated. We are also sorry if we were not responsive to your needs. We strive to provide an outstanding experience to all our guests; therefore, we are genuinely sorry that we did not meet these expectations. We value all of your feedback and have taken note of your comments to share them with the appropriate team for future improvements. We do hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the area. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Sal Khatri General Managerv
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris F wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
All of the staff of this hotel has been wonderful both times I’ve stayed there.
From the bellhops to the housekeeping staff, front desk, and room service—every single employee was polite and helpful and warm.
My room was clean and neat and comfortable, with very nice amenities. The mattress and bed coverings were just right.
Even the location is good, right downtown, next to highway entrances.
I really love this hotel and I spent 35 years traveling for work and I’ve stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world.
For what you get for the price, this hotel cannot be beat.
I will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Property Management, Owner at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Nov 30, 2021
Chris, thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is delightful to read how much you were impressed with our central location and that we were perfect for your visit to Houston. We are also happy to learn that you received excellent service from our staff. We appreciate the outstanding review! Thank you also for recommending The Whitehall Houston to future guests and we look forward to your next visit. Warm Regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lilyeck wrote a review Feb 2020
Angleton, Texas9 contributions9 helpful votes
the hotel had everything we wanted and needed! I have booked events through Erica S in the past and she has always recommended that i come and stay the at the Whitehall hotel. After deciding that my boyfriend and I were in need of a well deserved staycation, we took her up on her recommendation.
Victor B was so helpful with the reservations, and such a pleasure to deal with.
Parking/Valet was a breeze upon entering the hotel. front desk staff were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. the beds were plush and luxurious. Room and bathroom were very clean. We were on the 11th floor, so the noise was minimal if any. Everything we needed was at arms reach. We had cocktails at Part and Parcel downstairs which were divine. We had planned on getting out that night but actually loved the bed/room so much that we just stayed in and got comfortable in our room. If we didn't have a superbowl function that evening, we would have stayed another night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SKhatri, General Manager at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Whitehall Houston. We are thrilled to read you were able to enjoy your time at our hotel to the fullest and that our well-appointed accommodations with comfortable beds made it even better. We appreciate you mentioning the courteous service which you received from Victor. We will certainly pass on your kind compliments to him. We also thank you for mentioning Part & Parcel and how it was a highlight of your stay. Thank you once more for your kind compliments, and we hope your next visit with us comes due soon. Best Regards, Sal Khatri General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jey2017 wrote a review Mar 2022
Germantown, Tennessee36 contributions6 helpful votes
We were in Houston for an event that wa nearby. We had a great stay and will definitely stay again. The hotel was very clean and the staff were conscientious about their work. When we had a problem with not enough hot water in the bathtub, someone was sent up immediately and it was taken care of. What more can you ask!

We ate in the restaurant almost every day for breakfast and it was very good. It would have been nice to have a few more simple choices for breakfast, such as cold cereal. You should expect a simple breakfast to cost about $20 for a couple. This was a downtown area so that was to be expected.

We ubered from the airport and didn't need a car because the walkability of the surrounding area was great. The entire downtown area was very clean and there were people cleaning the walkways and all areas whenever we were out. If you do come in with a car, note that there is a substantial fee for valet parking, which is required. You might check with the hotel because I understand that some events do not charge for valet parking.

Very clean hotel, considerate staff, great location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Property Management, Owner at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Mar 23, 2022
Hello, thank you for choosing The Whitehall Houston. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a pleasurable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fantastic stay! Warm Regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Billy wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Whitehall made my family and I’s first stay in Downtown Houston extremely simple thanks to it’s convenient location and awesome service.

We were within walking distance to/from some of Houston’s best restaurants and when we didn’t feel like walking, we used the hotel’s free shuttle to explore the downtown area. I’d definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the midst of the hustle and bustle!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Property Management , Owner at The Whitehall Houston
Responded May 24, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about The Whitehall Houston. Our staff is always willing to go above and beyond what is required to satisfy a guest's request. We are also glad you took advantage of our shuttle service. It was our genuine pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Houston.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explorer779179 wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
I stayed at the Whitehall in Houston last week on business. From the moment I pulled up to the moment I left several days later, the experience was terrific. John Flores, the manager, was so responsive. I left some things in my room when I checked out, and John made sure they are on their way to me! The room was nice, and it was easy to get it to the temperature I like, without a lot of noise or bad smell like other hotels A/C systems sometimes have. The valet and bell hop staff were responsive and cared for my belongings well. My company had big meetings in the hotel, and the setup was great. No tech glitches. Food served was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at The Whitehall Houston
Responded Feb 20, 2023
Dear Explorer779179, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We were delighted that your stay at The Whitehall Houston was enjoyable and that you were especially pleased with the outstanding service provided by John. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience, and we appreciate you pointing out the various amenities that we offer to business travelers. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and love knowing that you will return soon. In the Spirit of Hospitality, Sal Khatri General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jesse L wrote a tip Yesterday
1 contribution
"If you have any questions John will be more than happy to help with that friendly smile "
Read full review
Dean N wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
"Definitely recommend."
Read full review
George M wrote a tip Nov 2023
Fulshear, Texas1 contribution
"Outdoor bar amazing "
Read full review
David W wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
"Check the rooms for smoking smells and noisy elevators "
Read full review
Lacy D wrote a tip Oct 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
"This hotel is located in the heart of the city; you'll be able to get anywhere you need to go in about 15 minutes."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza houston downtown hotel houston, houston crowne plaza
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHoustonDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
259
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITEHALL HOUSTON $148 ($̶2̶0̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - TX

Frequently Asked Questions about The Whitehall Houston
Which popular attractions are close to The Whitehall Houston?
Nearby attractions include Spire Nightclub (0.3 miles), Tranquility Park (0.2 miles), and Belle Station (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Whitehall Houston?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Whitehall Houston?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Whitehall Houston?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Whitehall Houston?
Conveniently located restaurants include Edgar's Hermano, Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ, and Part & Parcel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Whitehall Houston?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Whitehall Houston located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Houston.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Whitehall Houston?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Whitehall Houston?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Whitehall Houston offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Whitehall Houston?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.