DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria

Traveler (430)
Spacious Queen Rooms
Room & Suite (218)
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#74 of 542 hotels in Houston
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.9
Value
3.8
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Daily Mandatory Charge includes: Texas State Cost Recovery Fee. This is not a tax that is required to be collected from customers by law.

Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria, just 30-45 minutes from Hobby Airport and George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Relax in our family-friendly Houston hotel, offering outstanding service, helpful multilingual staff, and our signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Our contemporary hotel near the Houston Galleria provides huge, residential-style suites, perfect for accommodating the entire family or for business travelers in need of extra space to work and relax. Some of our suites have balconies, and all feature high-speed wireless internet access and full kitchens, including a microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Hobby Airport
13.2 mi
See all flights
George Bush Intercontinental Airport
18.9 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,646 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria is celebrated for its prime location near shopping and dining hotspots, as well as its overall cleanliness and home-like ambiance, despite calls for modernization. Guests commend the friendly service and appreciate the spacious rooms, though opinions are split with some raising concerns about safety and outdated decor. While the amenities, including a full bar breakfast, are generally well-received, the value proposition is questioned due to perceived high costs for services like parking.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,646Review21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 973
  • 240
  • 147
  • 123
  • 165
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Happiness820454 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want a premium feel to your stay in a major city centre, you can't go wrong here. Very modern, attractive exterior and interior, great location, has everything you need, and the price was reasonable. Parking isn't free but this is a hotel on the higher end in a huge business district, it comes with the territory. Overnight was $27 USD with unlimited in and out priviledges so take that into consideration when thinking of staying here. A nice woman greeted me at check in and made it so painless. I always stress about check ins so kudos to her for making it easy and quick. Thanks for the cookies! The room was on a higher up floor so of course the view was nice. The suite was very open and spacious. It felt like an upscale apartment vs a hotel room. The decor was modern and minimalist which I enjoyed, and those duvets and mattresses were super comfy. The bathroom was spacious as well, though I didn't care for the near fluorescent lighting. It should be dimmed a bit or rest behind some type of barrier that extends from the mirror or something similar. It wasn't a deal breaker though, and the shower more than made up for it. My wife enjoyed the place which is great due to her being picky, and made her take notice of the Hilton brand, of which she was unfamiliar. I have nothing else to say other than I hope you had the experience I had. Will definitely stay again when visiting uptown Houston.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotel_mgmt_team_365, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. It warms our hearts to know that you had such a great time with us here in Houston, and we look forward to serving as your home-away-from-home for many more years to come. All the best, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cylenthiaragland wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really need to fix broken toilet top brown cabinets splitting in half. The bathroom seems very old and out of date. Other than that stay was nice. They don’t clean rooms during the weekend and if you need anything if someone is there they will bring it to you, otherwise you can go to the front desk
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Dear cylenthiaragland, Greetings from Houston and thank you for your review. As your comments note, our hotel, like most other hotels, has paused daily housekeeping service for our stay-over guests. These changes were made in light of the pandemic, and we appreciate your understanding. We are thrilled to read that you found our team quick to respond with any requests and we look forward to serving as your home-base the next time your travels bring you to the city. Until then. All the best, William Venegas General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Andres Paul Z wrote a review May 2021
San Pedro Sula, Honduras1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the first trips in over a year.

We asked for a high floor and got it, so thank you. The view to Westheimer (which is the one we got) is probably better than other views.

Very friendly reception by Ms. Pinky Pradham at the front desk. Christina was also very helpful with packages arriving during our stay. Martha and (...I can't believe I am forgetting his name, was it William?) who served the breakfast were also very friendly. Thank you all (also to those not mentioned).

Buffet breakfast is good, you can have plenty, and for a short stay you get pretty much enough choices. Beware... you have to get there before 9 am during weekdays, so if you travel on vacation you can't sleep-in late if you want to enjoy breakfast unless you choose room service.

For foreign travelers (like my wife and I), it's a short walk distance to and from pharmacies/convenient stores (CVS, Walgreens), The Galleria Shopping mall. and some restaurants. Otherwise, Uber and Lyft are available and get you anywhere that is a longer distance away.

Easy checkout is a plus if you have to leave early, thank you at the front desk reminding us it was available!

Thank you again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Getting a room with a living room and a full kitchen helped us make our vacation easier.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Jun 1, 2021
Dear andrespaulz, Greetings to you and yours and thank you for joining us during your recent Houston visit. We are delighted to read that so many of our DoubleTree colleagues made you feel so at home and we will share the kind feedback with Pinky, Martha, Christina, and the rest of our team. With the Galleria just steps away, we are elated to learn that our location served you well for exploring all that awaits, and we look forward to the experience being repeated, hopefully, one day soon. Warm regards, William Venegas General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Choc_Travels wrote a review Sep 2020
Houston, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
People listen to me when I tell you to RUN! Never would I have imagined I would experience like this at a DoubleTree, especially in that area. We arrived at 4 pm as our reservation stated and just as another guest noted I could tell from the front of the hotel it was going to be issues. Plenty of loitering and weed smoking. We get into the building after paying $30 to park in the garage and was told it would be an ADDITIONAL hour until I can check into my room so not the standard 3pm but now 5pm without prior warning. The gentleman that helped us was rude and told us if you want to wait you can if not then leave. So we are of course waiting, to we drove in and paid for parking and the room already. As we are sitting waiting in the lobby the staff is being rude to all other check in guests and all types of people are coming in the lobby-large groups of girls with cameras and tripods, men showing other men up to the elevator, telling them what room to go to... I quickly realized this was a hub for illicit activity. 4:50pm came around and we were told to come back to the lobby desk to get checked in. My husband asked the guy if the the room would have a balcony and he rudely responded: what?!, whatever you booked is what you’re getting.” As we are getting checked in with the gentleman, we overhear one of the front desk employees setting up a drug deal for when she gets off at 5:30 that evening no lie at the front desk . She seemed to know this gentleman so he must have been a “regular”. I was just floored! She did it so boldly and with us standing right there! (Red flag number 5) We get up to the room and that was the last straw. The room was the most disgusting room I had ever been in in my entire life. The couch was stained with human fluids, all the chairs and carpet was stained furniture had not been wiped down. I stood the entire 22 minutes I was in the room, I wouldn’t sit on that furniture with towels underneath me nor walk on that floor barefoot. The carpet had huge stains and what appeared to be candy or cake icing stuck in it. The manager on duty and head of housekeeping Marcia tried to smooth things over but ALL the damage had already been done. I am 100% sure corporate has NO IDEA the types of things going on at this location. This totally ruined what was supposed to be a anniversary weekend for my husband and and myself. I missed my dinner reservations and everything due to the delay in checkin, the checkout and having to drive back home and try to get dressed. Completely unacceptable experience and unacceptable staff! Oh and I have video for my proof of the room YUCK!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Dear Choc_Travels, We thank you for joining us and Happy Anniversary once again to you and your husband. While we were thrilled to welcome you for a weekend retreat, we are sorry to learn that your visit fell short of expectation. We wish to assure you that our hotel is a non-smoking hotel and our leadership and security teams are quick to respond if we are aware of any guests disregarding that policy which can include smoking fees for deep cleaning that would need to occur and being asked to depart the hotel. We are sorry to learn that your dinner plans were negatively impacted and we hope you can accept our sincerest of apologies and perhaps one day join us again. Until then, we wish you both endless years of health, happiness and love. Warm regards, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephnrich25 wrote a review Aug 2020
Texas30 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I have enjoyed staying at this hotel several times a year for the past few years. We will often get a corner suite with the connecting room to have the additional space and another bed. The rooms are spacious, and the location is perfect if you plan on going to The Galleria – very walkable, and dog friendly. With that said, we do not plan on returning. The last several visits have been what I assume it feels like to stay at a hotel in the middle of a wild Spring Break destination. The entire hotel reeked of weed. Not like someone had it on their clothes and came through the hotel, but reeked from being smoked in the hotel. It’s in the ac vents. When we were here in July, there was a group of people smoking it on a balcony and by the pool. It was very apparent this weekend that it was being smoked inside, and the smell woke my husband up in the middle of the night. We purposely never book hotels where cigarette smoking is allowed, and as far as I’m aware this is a non-smoking hotel – tobacco, weed, I don’t care, but I do not want to smell it. The other guests were not wearing masks, were very loud in the lobby, and completely took over the pool (blasting music, screaming, super crowded, absolutely no distance with or without Covid rules). The last few times we stayed here, we gave the staff the benefit of the doubt that they were having trouble with a certain group of guests, or the staff was new, or…something. We are Hilton members who book primarily with Hilton properties, because we’ve been met with great customer service, and consistent quality. It’s very disappointing that this location has not held up the Hilton standard, and it’s apparent that a family looking for a peaceful getaway is no longer the demographic for this location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Dear Stephnrich25, We are always delighted to welcome our Hilton Honors guests, especially those who have spent time with us in the past. While we are warmed to read that visits from years ago have long been cherished, we are saddened to learn that your most recent visits were inconsistent and we hope you can accept our sincerest of apologies. As your review notes, our hotel is a non-smoking hotel and smoking of any kind is not tolerated. We are sorry if other guests disregarded that policy and we trust you found our team quick to respond when they were made aware of those concerns. We appreciate your added feedback and while we understand your disappointment, we hope we can entice you to one day join us again as we would love nothing more than to restore your confidence in the enjoyable Houston experiences we are known to provide. If we can assist in booking your return, we invite you to be in touch. Warm regards, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ItsKellC wrote a review Dec 2021
Richmond, California29 contributions45 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this property in early December 2021. The room is very spacious but it is dated.. The kitchen needs remodeling and the bathroom only has a bath tub with a shower inside of it. This is a one bedroom suite that is very large. Due to mobility issues I requested an ADA suite but they were unable to accommodate me because they don’t have a king bed ADA suite in this property. Remodeling the bathroom with a modern shower would have remedied my ADA needs. Upon check-in the hostess was very short and unaccommodating. When I asked about the perks from my rewards she quickly told me that I booked through Expedia and would not be getting a bottle of water. I explained to her that I booked through my American Express and was unaware that this would void my honors points. Reluctantly she gave us two bottles of water and two cookies and a half assed thank you for staying at the property.

Once we got into the room and realized there was an issue with the bathroom we contacted the hotel Front desk who explained to us they would switch our room the next morning. When we went to the front desk the next morning we were told there is no bed type like what we have in the entire property. Now the night before there were cars doing donuts at the neighboring property screeching noises up and down the streets which made it very difficult to just sit back and relax I know the hotel doesn’t have any control over that but it’s just not expected in that particular location. To add insult to injury our room was not clean when we returned from a day out on the town. We were advised that we must request room service the day before. We requested room service every day when we checked in originally. Additionally inside the room the toilet flushes and makes a loud noise for at least a minute or so until it finishes its cycle. The handle on the spout in the shower was loose. And in the kitchen the hot water was on the cold water side and the cold water was on the hot water side.

The concierge contacted us and asked us how can they make up for the mishaps and our accommodations but never responded when we advised them that they could comp our stay. We returned a call to the front desk asking for assistance and somehow the front desk clerk put us off and transferred us over to the Wi-Fi clerk without advising us that that is where she was transferring our call so after explaining our entire experience to the wrong person we were then referred back to the front desk manager. In the meantime and in between time we got a visitor from a roach in the bathroom. We immediately advised them they needed to fumigate our room clean the room and discuss with us options for the remaining part of our stay. This is by no way a five star location it is not a four-star location at best it is three stars with a $35 per day valet parking fee so be ready to spend a lot for a little. The simple things matter. Offet great customer service, be empathetic, and listen to your guest and that will upgrade your property and it’s star review quickly .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Dec 28, 2021
Dear ItsKellC, We thank you and yours for choosing to spend your time with us and we appreciate your thorough and thoughtful review. We regret to learn that your initial reservation requests were not provided, and that other details of your visit fell short of expectation. Should your time allow, I would welcome the chance to offer my more personal apologies, while also learning a bit more about your experience. With that goal in mind, my contact details are provided below which I invite you to use in forwarding your own information and a convenient time that I may be in touch. We thank you again and I look forward to us speaking in the days ahead. Warm regards, William Venegas General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alanjbadia wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a truly disappointing stay.
1. The pool area was closed and the water was merky dark green and nasty looking.
2. The ironing board in the room was broken and they did not bring another one.
3. There wasn’t a single water fountain in the entire hotel and when I asked the front desk if there was a water fountain available, I was told “sir there are no water fountains on the premises, but we do sell bottled water for $3.50 and do not give water away for free. I thought that was bold and rude especially for how much money you’re spending to stay here.
4. There is no free parking. You either pay $27 for self parking which is a hassle or $31 for valet. I paid $31 a day for valet parking And the day that we were checking out at 6AM valet was not available and we were told we had to wait 30 minutes for our car which almost made us late for our flight. It seemed like anyway the hotel could nickel and dime you, they were going to do so.
5. I asked for extra towels and it took them almost 3 hours to bring me a towel to take a bath with.
6. Our room is on the 19th floor right by the exit door and we would go to bed by 9 PM and all night until two or three in the morning all you heard were people coming in and out in the door slamming. It was such a headache and disappointing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded May 17, 2021
Dear alanjbadia, It was a pleasure to welcome you and yours and we thank you for taking the time to let us know more about your visit. We trust you had the opportunity to explore the greater Galleria, and if not, we invite you to do so the next time you make yourselves at home. We are in receipt of your feedback and we apologize if the pricing on our optional extras left you disappointed. Like most hotels in the Galleria, our parking services do have an associated fee and we apologize if this was not known prior to arriving at the hotel. Your added feedback regarding in-room towels and the delivery of additional linens is received with our great appreciation. In light of the pandemic, many of our suppliers are running behind in being able to deliver on earlier orders, this includes our linen supplier. With that in mind, our team is working around the clock to launder those that are in our active inventory, and we apologize for the delays. We look forward to seeing this resolved one day soon and until then, we thank you for your patience. We appreciate your added feedback, and we hope to one day welcome you back to the enchanting Houston Galleria. If we can assist in planning your return, we invite you to be in touch. Warm regards, William Venegas General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan A wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival the Valets were slow and not very friendly.The rooms were dirty and had growth on the ceiling in the bathroom. The room was sealed with a clean sticker although there was hair in bathtub and it looked as if someone had brushed their teeth in the sink and it had never been cleaned. This also was the case in the second room we booked. At 10 pm they moved us to another room that still was not very clean. We were locked out of our room and it took hours to get someone to let us in when the front desk finally answered the phone. The valet booth is always unattended. Our room was not cleaned when we requested and we called for towels and after 4 hours still did not receive them at 9:33 after 3 calls and the staff acting as if we did something wrong asking for towels a rude man appeared at the door to say “towels” and walk away rudely. The manager stopped a mother carrying her Child with her arms full to demand she put on a mask to entertain the hotel. Do NOT stay here. It is a subpar hotel in a nice area disguising itself as a luxury hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Dear B1348EDmorgana, Greetings from all of us in Houston and thank you for sharing your review. We were pleased to host you and yours and we apologize again if you felt there were shortfalls in the detailing of your room. We can assure you that our Housekeeping colleagues are taking added steps to ensure each space is ready to greet an arriving guest and they were disappointed to learn that this was not achieved for you. We apologize for the delays in having your service requests fulfilled and we appreciate the added feedback shared within your review. On behalf of all of us, we wish to again extend our sincerest of apologies and we look forward to shining brighter the next time we see you. Warm regards, William Venegas General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cinda L wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend & found the property to be outdated & in need of improvements. The elevators felt like an amusement park ride, clanking & jerking each trip up or down it. The corridors are dimly lit, rather depressing & reminiscent of an 80s era long past its prime. The hotel has 26 floors, I didnt see one vending machine & there's ONE ice machine on the 2nd floor. (No worries though, snacks & drinks are available near the front desk for an inflated nominal fee.) The room itself wasn't awful, but certainly not "Deluxe" as its description stated. The only luxury was the private balcony. The toilet seat dang near shot you off into the shower each time you sat on it because it was literally held onto the bowl by one screw, the other was long gone & caused the seat to slide around.. so, yeah, sitting to do your business was always eventful. Sit at your own peril, I suppose. The shower itself was clean but the water pressure was this minuscule stream that struggled to get the shampoo out of my husband's hair, of which he doesnt have much of btw. I opted for dry shampoo after seeing his struggle. The pillows were a dingy, faded yellow beneath the pillowcase. The room was otherwise clean & did offer plenty of clothing storage with a large, standing double door closet. What hotel doesnt offer complimentary coffee in the lobby? This one! I stumbled down the first morning there to find that a small coffee would cost me $4.00 per cup! On our last morning, the coffee machine was broken altogether & I was referred to the restaurant on the 2nd floor. Speaking of which, the hubby opted for breakfast our first morning there to the tune of almost $20.00 per person & was basically offered the exact simple fare many other hotels offer for free in their continental breakfast. Wi-Fi is available, at a cost of course. Then came the parking hassle. They charge $27.00 per night for self-parking or $34.00 for valet. One or the other is required & not optional. We were charged an extra $30 so that each time we exited the parking garage to go somewhere, the room key wouldn't work to raise the gate, which resulted in a line of angry guests lined up behind us while we had to wait on hotel staff to come let us out of the garage. With all of this, I do not recommend this hotel. Their staff was unfriendly, unhelpful & the accommodations do not make up for it. I'm surprised they dont charge you to flush the toilet.. the broken one at that! Consider yourself warned. This is an honest review.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotel_mgmt_team_365, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to learn that your stay was not what you had expected, and we wish that we had known of the noted items in your room during your visit so that we could have assisted. We strive to ensure that our guests are aware of the services and amenities that we offer prior to booking, and we share the costs for WiFi, parking, and our Full American Breakfast buffet, all which are similar or less than other area hotels, online so that our guests can plan accordingly. We also offer many packages on our website which feature our best rates and discount on these items. We thank you for all your valuable feedback, and once more apologize for any shortcomings of your stay. We hope you did enjoy your time in Houston and that you can return to our great city again soon. All the best, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Weekly Traveler wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I travel to Houston every week for business and always stay at Hilton hotels, so I thought this would be yet another nice, clean and enjoyable visit...NOPE!
I’m a 15+ year Hilton Honors member, and my family and I are Hilton Grand Vacation Club members, I’ve never seen anything like this before.
First, upon pulling into the hotel and checking in, I quickly found out we were going to have issues. The lobby was iodated with guests without masks, pot clearly being smoked right out front and in the lobby/elevators/pool area, most of the people in the lobby had more gold teeth than I’ve ever witnessed in my life, and, the valet guys (if that’s what you want to call them) were especially rude (and we weren’t even using valet)!
Front desk staff were amazing, so we get our keys and head up to the room. We had masks on, but still had to cover our noses from the amount of weed that’s being smoked throughout this property. We get off the elevator to see trash laying around and a long, dark, dingy hallway where the lights are flickering, spooky and Not good!
Upon entering our room (which the doors look like they’re from the 80’s and all scratched up), the smell knocked us off our feet. It was musky, horrible smelling. The chair had a stain on the back of the seat where the headrest, which was utterly gross, the bathroom had pubic hair in it and the bed was nothing but springs. The room was just “dirty”!
We immediately contemplated if we were going to stay there for 3 nights or not. We walked back to the front desk and inquired about all the pot being smoked throughout the property and other issues, the front desk lady said,”unfortunately our hotel gets this type of clientele nowadays, especially on the weekends”. But we were there during the week???
We had already unpacked and it was 8pm by now. My fiancé had a terrible headache from the pot smoke and that next morning we were outta there!!!
Worst experience with a Hilton property EVER!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Dear lizard313131, Greetings to you and yours and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are always thrilled to welcome our Hilton Honors members and we appreciate your loyalty throughout the years. While it warms us to read that your past Hilton experiences have been well enjoyed, we are sorry to learn that your visit with us fell short of expectation. The details shared regarding your room are of particular concern and we apologize if your suite had not been prepared to greet an arriving guest. Your added comments are of equal value for our non-smoking hotel and we can assure you that our leadership and security team members take swift action as smoking of any kind is strictly prohibited at our hotel and those disregarding that policy will be asked to leave and face deep-cleaning related fees. We once again apologize for any disappointments. We hope that you might one day join us again as we would love nothing more than to win your heart with an experience that can be thoroughly enjoyed and treasured for many years to come. All the best, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree suites by hilton houston by the galleria hotel houston, doubletree hotel houston, doubletree houston
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHoustonGreat Uptown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
476
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria $124 ($̶1̶5̶0̶) - TX

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Nearby attractions include A.D. Players (0.2 miles), Museum of Illusions Houston (0.3 miles), and Saks Fifth Avenue (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Truluck's Ocean's Finest Seafood and Crab - Houston, and The Burger Palace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Houston HotelsHouston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoustonHotels near DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars