We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria

Save
Share
5353 Westheimer Rd Across from the Galleria Mall, Houston, TX 77056-5474
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Trip.com
$100
$91
View Deal
SAVE $9
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com$100
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (332)
Room & Suite (154)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Updated 08/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#89 of 577 hotels in Houston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Houston by the Galleria welcomes you to Houston, Texas. Our hotel offers travelers an unmatched experience with premier comfort and service. We are located in the heart of the Uptown/Galleria area, famous for world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment. We are right across from the landmark Galleria Mall, featuring over 400 upscale shopping and dining outlets for your pleasure. Guests at our hotel enjoy spacious rooms, as well as residential-sized one bedroom suites, a large swimming pool, and a convenient location near many of Houston's most exciting attractions. Business travelers will also enjoy proximity to the many fortune 500 Companies as well as a quick hop to the Central Business District, Hobby Airport, and George Bush Intercontinental Airport, both are just minutes away. In addition to our central location and legendary DoubleTree service, our Houston hotel features thoughtfully designed, meeting spaces and our Lobby Bar and a wide variety of exceptional services. Relax with all the comforts of home and be close to all that Houston has to offer.
Read more
Room & Suite (154)154
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1,366Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 811
  • 223
  • 130
  • 97
  • 105
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Morgan A wrote a review Oct 9
1 contribution
Upon arrival the Valets were slow and not very friendly.The rooms were dirty and had growth on the ceiling in the bathroom. The room was sealed with a clean sticker although there was hair in bathtub and it looked as if someone had brushed their teeth in the sink and it had never been cleaned. This also was the case in the second room we booked. At 10 pm they moved us to another room that still was not very clean. We were locked out of our room and it took hours to get someone to let us in when the front desk finally answered the phone. The valet booth is always unattended. Our room was not cleaned when we requested and we called for towels and after 4 hours still did not receive them at 9:33 after 3 calls and the staff acting as if we did something wrong asking for towels a rude man appeared at the door to say “towels” and walk away rudely. The manager stopped a mother carrying her Child with her arms full to demand she put on a mask to entertain the hotel. Do NOT stay here. It is a subpar hotel in a nice area disguising itself as a luxury hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded 1 week ago
Dear B1348EDmorgana, Greetings from all of us in Houston and thank you for sharing your review. We were pleased to host you and yours and we apologize again if you felt there were shortfalls in the detailing of your room. We can assure you that our Housekeeping colleagues are taking added steps to ensure each space is ready to greet an arriving guest and they were disappointed to learn that this was not achieved for you. We apologize for the delays in having your service requests fulfilled and we appreciate the added feedback shared within your review. On behalf of all of us, we wish to again extend our sincerest of apologies and we look forward to shining brighter the next time we see you. Warm regards, William Venegas General Manager
Read more
Choc_Travels wrote a review Sep 2020
Houston, Texas3 contributions
People listen to me when I tell you to RUN! Never would I have imagined I would experience like this at a DoubleTree, especially in that area. We arrived at 4 pm as our reservation stated and just as another guest noted I could tell from the front of the hotel it was going to be issues. Plenty of loitering and weed smoking. We get into the building after paying $30 to park in the garage and was told it would be an ADDITIONAL hour until I can check into my room so not the standard 3pm but now 5pm without prior warning. The gentleman that helped us was rude and told us if you want to wait you can if not then leave. So we are of course waiting, to we drove in and paid for parking and the room already. As we are sitting waiting in the lobby the staff is being rude to all other check in guests and all types of people are coming in the lobby-large groups of girls with cameras and tripods, men showing other men up to the elevator, telling them what room to go to... I quickly realized this was a hub for illicit activity. 4:50pm came around and we were told to come back to the lobby desk to get checked in. My husband asked the guy if the the room would have a balcony and he rudely responded: what?!, whatever you booked is what you’re getting.” As we are getting checked in with the gentleman, we overhear one of the front desk employees setting up a drug deal for when she gets off at 5:30 that evening no lie at the front desk . She seemed to know this gentleman so he must have been a “regular”. I was just floored! She did it so boldly and with us standing right there! (Red flag number 5) We get up to the room and that was the last straw. The room was the most disgusting room I had ever been in in my entire life. The couch was stained with human fluids, all the chairs and carpet was stained furniture had not been wiped down. I stood the entire 22 minutes I was in the room, I wouldn’t sit on that furniture with towels underneath me nor walk on that floor barefoot. The carpet had huge stains and what appeared to be candy or cake icing stuck in it. The manager on duty and head of housekeeping Marcia tried to smooth things over but ALL the damage had already been done. I am 100% sure corporate has NO IDEA the types of things going on at this location. This totally ruined what was supposed to be a anniversary weekend for my husband and and myself. I missed my dinner reservations and everything due to the delay in checkin, the checkout and having to drive back home and try to get dressed. Completely unacceptable experience and unacceptable staff! Oh and I have video for my proof of the room YUCK!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Choc_Travels, We thank you for joining us and Happy Anniversary once again to you and your husband. While we were thrilled to welcome you for a weekend retreat, we are sorry to learn that your visit fell short of expectation. We wish to assure you that our hotel is a non-smoking hotel and our leadership and security teams are quick to respond if we are aware of any guests disregarding that policy which can include smoking fees for deep cleaning that would need to occur and being asked to depart the hotel. We are sorry to learn that your dinner plans were negatively impacted and we hope you can accept our sincerest of apologies and perhaps one day join us again. Until then, we wish you both endless years of health, happiness and love. Warm regards, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
David T wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel lobby (because thats as far as I got) was extremely clean, but the customer service was absolutely terrible. So upon arrival (4:45) PM, I was told that the third party that I had used to book the hotel (hotels.com) didn't actually place my reservation in the Hilton system. Even with a confirmation and the hotels page letting me know my room has been booked and guaranteed, the worker made NO attempt to help me resolve the issue outside telling me to call the third parties 1-800 line. After sitting with her for about 5 mins and showing her the email from the third party with ALL my information for the stay, she still made no attempt to help me make sense of how apparently the third party has a DIFFERENT confirmation number that I never received and that was the reason I needed to get in contact with them. As I tried to get better explanation from a different worker 3 minutes later (because the one I was working with was busy with another costumer now) She stopped what she was doing, walks over to the other counter and interrupts the other worker trying to explain to me how to fix this but now even more with a condescending tone. Now none of this would have been an issue if one, they had had my room ready for at least when I DID finally check in (told me it would be a two hour wait from original check in time) but also had the audacity to have a side bar conversation full of snarky comments to her coworker has I was standing 4 feet across the counter thinking I couldn't hear her. When I finally called her out on her disrespectful actions and poor consumer service, I was told I they didn't have to service me or help me. After speaking extremely loud in front of the entire lobby telling me to "have a blessed day" in the most condescending tone, I was forced to try to find a different hotel to stay at in Houston.. that in which I wasn't able to get a room or a hotel til about 5:45 that evening. I missed the appointment I originally traveled to Houston for in the first place and lost a client due to the lack of help from the double tree hotel to fix a mistake that I had no part in. Overall I have never been more appalled by the lack of effort to resolve the issue at hand by Staff. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Dear CoachDaviddd, Thank you for sharing your feedback and we apologize again for the troubles had in locating a confirmed reservation. While these types of technology snafus are possible, what concerns me most are the impressions left from your interactions with your team. Should your time allow, I would welcome the opportunity to speak by phone so that I can learn more about your experience and extend a more personal apology. If you’re open to doing so, I invite you to send an email to the address provided below, referencing this review, and providing a convenient time and way for me to be in touch. On behalf of all of us, we regret that you left us disappointed and I look forward to speaking with you in the days ahead. Warm regards, William Venegas General Manager wvenegas@dtsuites.com
Read more
Weekly Traveler wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I travel to Houston every week for business and always stay at Hilton hotels, so I thought this would be yet another nice, clean and enjoyable visit...NOPE! I’m a 15+ year Hilton Honors member, and my family and I are Hilton Grand Vacation Club members, I’ve never seen anything like this before. First, upon pulling into the hotel and checking in, I quickly found out we were going to have issues. The lobby was iodated with guests without masks, pot clearly being smoked right out front and in the lobby/elevators/pool area, most of the people in the lobby had more gold teeth than I’ve ever witnessed in my life, and, the valet guys (if that’s what you want to call them) were especially rude (and we weren’t even using valet)! Front desk staff were amazing, so we get our keys and head up to the room. We had masks on, but still had to cover our noses from the amount of weed that’s being smoked throughout this property. We get off the elevator to see trash laying around and a long, dark, dingy hallway where the lights are flickering, spooky and Not good! Upon entering our room (which the doors look like they’re from the 80’s and all scratched up), the smell knocked us off our feet. It was musky, horrible smelling. The chair had a stain on the back of the seat where the headrest, which was utterly gross, the bathroom had pubic hair in it and the bed was nothing but springs. The room was just “dirty”! We immediately contemplated if we were going to stay there for 3 nights or not. We walked back to the front desk and inquired about all the pot being smoked throughout the property and other issues, the front desk lady said,”unfortunately our hotel gets this type of clientele nowadays, especially on the weekends”. But we were there during the week??? We had already unpacked and it was 8pm by now. My fiancé had a terrible headache from the pot smoke and that next morning we were outta there!!! Worst experience with a Hilton property EVER!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Dear lizard313131, Greetings to you and yours and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are always thrilled to welcome our Hilton Honors members and we appreciate your loyalty throughout the years. While it warms us to read that your past Hilton experiences have been well enjoyed, we are sorry to learn that your visit with us fell short of expectation. The details shared regarding your room are of particular concern and we apologize if your suite had not been prepared to greet an arriving guest. Your added comments are of equal value for our non-smoking hotel and we can assure you that our leadership and security team members take swift action as smoking of any kind is strictly prohibited at our hotel and those disregarding that policy will be asked to leave and face deep-cleaning related fees. We once again apologize for any disappointments. We hope that you might one day join us again as we would love nothing more than to win your heart with an experience that can be thoroughly enjoyed and treasured for many years to come. All the best, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Stephnrich25 wrote a review Aug 2020
Texas29 contributions10 helpful votes
My family and I have enjoyed staying at this hotel several times a year for the past few years. We will often get a corner suite with the connecting room to have the additional space and another bed. The rooms are spacious, and the location is perfect if you plan on going to The Galleria – very walkable, and dog friendly. With that said, we do not plan on returning. The last several visits have been what I assume it feels like to stay at a hotel in the middle of a wild Spring Break destination. The entire hotel reeked of weed. Not like someone had it on their clothes and came through the hotel, but reeked from being smoked in the hotel. It’s in the ac vents. When we were here in July, there was a group of people smoking it on a balcony and by the pool. It was very apparent this weekend that it was being smoked inside, and the smell woke my husband up in the middle of the night. We purposely never book hotels where cigarette smoking is allowed, and as far as I’m aware this is a non-smoking hotel – tobacco, weed, I don’t care, but I do not want to smell it. The other guests were not wearing masks, were very loud in the lobby, and completely took over the pool (blasting music, screaming, super crowded, absolutely no distance with or without Covid rules). The last few times we stayed here, we gave the staff the benefit of the doubt that they were having trouble with a certain group of guests, or the staff was new, or…something. We are Hilton members who book primarily with Hilton properties, because we’ve been met with great customer service, and consistent quality. It’s very disappointing that this location has not held up the Hilton standard, and it’s apparent that a family looking for a peaceful getaway is no longer the demographic for this location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Dear Stephnrich25, We are always delighted to welcome our Hilton Honors guests, especially those who have spent time with us in the past. While we are warmed to read that visits from years ago have long been cherished, we are saddened to learn that your most recent visits were inconsistent and we hope you can accept our sincerest of apologies. As your review notes, our hotel is a non-smoking hotel and smoking of any kind is not tolerated. We are sorry if other guests disregarded that policy and we trust you found our team quick to respond when they were made aware of those concerns. We appreciate your added feedback and while we understand your disappointment, we hope we can entice you to one day join us again as we would love nothing more than to restore your confidence in the enjoyable Houston experiences we are known to provide. If we can assist in booking your return, we invite you to be in touch. Warm regards, The DoubleTree Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree suites by hilton houston by the galleria hotel houston, doubletree hotel houston, doubletree houston
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHoustonGreat Uptown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
476
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Nearby attractions include A.D. Players (0.2 miles), Peter Lik Gallery (0.3 miles), and The Fomo Factory (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Truluck's Ocean's Finest Seafood & Crab, and The Burger Palace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.