We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake

15313 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034 (Formerly Howard Johnson Clearlake)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

At first sight this place looks good. I was very wrong thus place has a Roach problem. The floors felt dirty, the tub had long hair, I have very short hair. The AC didn't work correctly, it kept shutting off.

Helpful?
Thank TexasFrank1
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Frank, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

First room we had issues so they moved me rooms and gave me a better rate and been awesome at customer service. Kitchenettes are a helpful plus and I so value being here even for a short time. I would recommend due to it close to shopping and freeway and to Houston and clear lake

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

This hotels is very run down and it has been poorly renovated. I stayed here for 3 weeks. The first room I had was a queen on the middle floor. There was not much room to move, the furniture had stains, a picture fell of the wall and onto the bed, the microwave and the refrigerator were rusted inside and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

I was in need of an extended stay hotel in the Houston Market and came across this hotel. I was in the area for 6 months and found this place to be the best deal in town. My room was clean and comfortable with anew mattress. The hotel was undergoing renovations and was asked if I wanted to move to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonroberts31419
HJ16520, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the updates that we have undergone. We know you have many options when it comes to hotels in the Houston area and we are glad you stayed with us. More 

La Porte, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I recently stayed here at Howard Johnson and had a nice experience, the place is in expensive yet clean and the staff were all very friendly and enjoyable, I will definantly be back.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank spunnifer77598
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for a great response. I do know you are have a busy schedule. Please come back and stay with us again. Thank you Timothy More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

We travel all over the place and this is got to be one of the worst motels . We have stayed at. We thought it was a Howard Johnson's found out that it is a motel 6 . I went to get clean towels because they did not clean our room found out .they only clean the rooms once a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karenjo135
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that we fell short of our goals in this instance. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns. The hotel is now under renovation and we are a Studio 6. Thank you Timothy More 

Tracy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I had a very good nights stay in one of thier newly remodeled rooms. I was very happy with the front desk service as well. I would stay there again if I am in the Houston area. It is easy to get to the hotel too, but not too close to the freeway as to get alot of truck noise.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time during your busy schedule of providing a great comment for your stay. Hope you come and enjoy you stay with us again Thank you Timothy More 

mauricevill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Room 207...The room was tight with just two double beds..The bed sheets and bedspread needed to be thrown out...the room was absolutely filthy. On our third night, low and behold the roaches came out to play!! Just nasty. Called the manager to come and verify this himself because when my husband went down to retrieve fresh towels and toilet paper,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie L
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that we fell short of our goals in this instance. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns. The hotel is now under renovation and we are a Studio 6. Thank you Timothy More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The only good thing about this hotel was the price. In retrospect I should have paid a little more for better quality. The room was small and walls thin. The maid service was nonexistent. Bath Tub was very slippery. I asked the front desk for a mat for the tub and was handed a towel. The front desk is where... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Debra R
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that we fell short of our goals in this instance. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns. The hotel is now under renovation and we are a Studio 6. Thank you Timothy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clearlake Extended Stay Hotel
#325 of 487 in Houston
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clear Lake
Candlewood Suites Houston/Clear Lake
Budgetel Inn Houston
#298 of 487 in Houston
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Studio 6 Houston Clear Lake is off I-45 near Hobby Airport, Johnson Space Center, Baybrook Mall and dining. Within 15 miles is Reliant Stadium, downtown Houston, and San Jacinto Monument and State Park. All rooms offer Free Wi-Fi and kitchenette. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake

Address: 15313 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034 (Formerly Howard Johnson Clearlake)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Price Range: $69 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Motel-6 so you can book your Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Clearlake Hotel Houston
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay