We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake

Priceline$60*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$60*
$60*
$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake
 Click to rate
Wolfforth, Texas
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile

Room crawling with baby roaches. All over bed, kitchenette and bathroom. Long night smashing bugs! Refunded my money after I threw a fit! Just really wouldn't stay there unless you have to! Ended up with half a dozen bites when I got up at 3am to fight the bugs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Lady at front desk (didn't catch her name) needs to learn to speak up. Room 228 was cleanish but VERY cramped. Should have only had a twin size bed. Not a full size bed. There might have been a picture on the wall at some time. Only evidence was a couple pieces of double-sided sticky tape on wall. Fridge &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DSumTx
Hawaii
Reviewed August 21, 2016

No whining in this review, simply the facts: two dead roaches in the bathroom, holes in the walls from previously placed pictures, filthy floors, rust stains in the tub, musty odor, entry door that was one size too small for the frame, exterior porches and walkways with numerous cigarette butts & dog excrement, ill tasting tap water, mismatched furniture, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBlackie
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Dirty, smelly, roach infested, dingy rooms. Checked in, noticed overflowing trash everywhere on the way to the room. Left and came back after attending a function, found some guys smoking weed on the staircase so had to take their stinky elevator. Brought take out to eat and by the time I washed my hands, roaches were crawling all over my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leila254
Houston, Texas
Reviewed April 5, 2016

At first sight this place looks good. I was very wrong thus place has a Roach problem. The floors felt dirty, the tub had long hair, I have very short hair. The AC didn't work correctly, it kept shutting off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasFrank1
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Frank, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level...

Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

First room we had issues so they moved me rooms and gave me a better rate and been awesome at customer service. Kitchenettes are a helpful plus and I so value being here even for a short time. I would recommend due to it close to shopping and freeway and to Houston and clear lake

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed December 8, 2015

This hotels is very run down and it has been poorly renovated. I stayed here for 3 weeks. The first room I had was a queen on the middle floor. There was not much room to move, the furniture had stains, a picture fell of the wall and onto the bed, the microwave and the refrigerator were rusted inside and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

I was in need of an extended stay hotel in the Houston Market and came across this hotel. I was in the area for 6 months and found this place to be the best deal in town. My room was clean and comfortable with anew mattress. The hotel was undergoing renovations and was asked if I wanted to move to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jasonroberts31419
HJ16520, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the updates that we have undergone. We know you have many options when it comes to hotels in the Houston area and we are glad you stayed with us.

La Porte, Texas
Reviewed May 7, 2015

I recently stayed here at Howard Johnson and had a nice experience, the place is in expensive yet clean and the staff were all very friendly and enjoyable, I will definantly be back.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spunnifer77598
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for a great response. I do know you are have a busy schedule. Please come back and stay with us again. Thank you Timothy

Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

We travel all over the place and this is got to be one of the worst motels . We have stayed at. We thought it was a Howard Johnson's found out that it is a motel 6 . I went to get clean towels because they did not clean our room found out .they only clean the rooms once a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karenjo135
Timothy M, Manager at Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that we fell short of our goals in this instance. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns. The hotel is now under renovation and we are a Studio 6. Thank you Timothy

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
2.8 mi away
Clearlake Extended Stay Hotel
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Houston Pasadena
13.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/Pearland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Space Center-Clear Lake
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Studio 6 Houston Clear Lake is off I-45 near Hobby Airport, Johnson Space Center, Baybrook Mall and dining. Within 15 miles is Reliant Stadium, downtown Houston, and San Jacinto Monument and State Park. All rooms offer Free Wi-Fi and kitchenettes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake

Address: 15313 Gulf Fwy, Houston, TX 77034-5336 (Formerly Howard Johnson Clearlake)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Motel-6, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Clearlake Hotel Houston
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The price maybe attractive but you get what you pay for.”
  • Lack of care and maintenance.
  • Years of dirt in the window track.
  • A biology experiment in the bathroom.
  • Rust stain in the bath tub.
  • Marred, scarred and mismatched furniture.
CaptainBlackie, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“Upper Floors to cut down on the noise of the other guests”
  • View from 301
  • Bathroom floor after weekly cleaning.
  • Kitchen floor after weekly cleaning.
  • Pillows are too big for the pillowcases
490SteveT, Dec 8, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor.”
M2302KUmikew, Apr 13, 2015 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room and check it out first before you take all your stuff to the room”
260ronw, Mar 19, 2015 | Read review
“Make sure that you fit the House Keeper's Criteria..”
sarahm972, Nov 9, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$60* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com$60
TripAdvisor$60
Hotwire.com$60
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates