We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Howard Johnson Galveston

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Galveston
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
Pinehurst, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay wasn't too bad! Only things that made my stay quite uncomfortable was that the air conditioner wasn't working that great, it was still very hot in the room at its lowest . Also the air conditioning was very loud it made it difficult to sleep. And lastly the bed sheets and pillow sheets were very uncomfortable, they were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank joselynp1
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest review. We apologize for the A/C in your room; I have personally discussed this with the senior management and this issue will be addressed immediately. We hope you will consider us in the future as we are improving the property. Sincerely, Todd Overstreet, Asst. Mgr. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for our honeymoon! Great service, soft beds, great continental breakfast, and decent distant from the beach approximately 5 minutes driving. The employee Todd was extremely helpful in letting us know great places to get a late night dinner. I will definitely come back to this hotel. We did hear trains throughout the night but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brittany B
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We sincerely thank you for you honest and accurate feedback, as we have put a lot of work, time, and money into the place to improve it for the accommodation of every guest at this convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Todd Overstreet, Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a month because my husbands job travels and my 2 year go's with us. Well they towed our tailer with all our belongings in it after they (adrian) said it would be save. Then adrian told me we could move to a nother room and lied and kicked me and my 2 year old out on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear guests, Although we apologise for what happened last summer (of last year 2015), we would hope that our guests would understand that the trailer was in fact parked on another property, not ours, and that the tow truck was called out by that other property. This was a clear misunderstanding or miscommunication of where in fact to park said... More 

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Houston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

The hotel needs a better presentation, all fashioned , new carperts please. Good thing it has easy access to any place in galveston. Also, is located next to the S-45 FWY Need improve the place

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 475christieg
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We sincerely thank you for you honest and accurate feedback, as we have put a lot of work, time, and money into the place to improve it for the accommodation of every guest at this convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Todd Overstreet, Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

the people who work here really nice todd at front desk is great due to my work i had to stay a friday and sat. but they were sold out but todd said ill get a room here if we had a cancel.. todd did and got me same room he is great.whats nice as well owners are super nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank john c
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We sincerely thank you for you honest and accurate feedback, as we have put a lot of work, time, and money into the place to improve it for the accommodation of every guest at this convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Todd Overstreet, Assistant Manager More 

Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Good location right off interstate 45, near the cruise ship docks. Comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff. Good continental breakfast, near restaurants and tourist sites. Industrial harbor area so no terrific views. Reasonablew rates and they let us leave our car there free while we were on the cruise. Shuttle to the ship across the street.

Helpful?
Thank William H
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We sincerely thank you for you honest and accurate feedback, as we have put a lot of work, time, and money into the place to improve it for the accommodation of primarily cruise, but also every guest at this semi-convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Todd Overstreet, Assistant Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Truck parking in front with refrigerated trucks that ran all night long, busy train tracks and swamp in back. Free wifi only worked in the office or the laundry room. I don't think our room was cleaned before we got there. There were crackers in the bed between the blanket and the coverlet, and more on the floor. There were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank michellehI1050XM
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor experience you had during your stay at Galveston's Howard Johnson Inn. Your experience was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Please accept our apologies. If given a chance, we would gladly have relocated you to a more suitable room,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#40 of 51 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#22 of 51 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#21 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Galveston

Address: 8216 Harborside Dr, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-7199
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: $67 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay