We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Howard Johnson Galveston

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Galveston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean room, plenty of space, a little heavy on the air freshener.. Very nice manager, gave us directions that got us where we needed to go. Great little place to stay for 1 night before or after a cruise

Helpful?
Thank JsFELIX
Friendswood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was updated and clean. Staff was friendly. The only thing I don't agree with is how much the price goes up on the weekends. Frankly, I think that should be illegal. It's price gouging

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank R376NAjosephw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In town for fishing trip. Property was clean ,good rates great management.after the fact was within 10 minutes of cruise ship anf fisherman wharf. Only downside was no pool . missed that in peak of heat season

Helpful?
Thank Ken M
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We sincerely thank you for you honest and accurate feedback, as we have put a lot of work, time, and money into the place to improve it for the accommodation of every guest at this convenient location. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Todd Overstreet, Assistant Manager More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The photo is not showing the Inn attached to 18 wheeler truck gas station lots of noise and smoke. The Inn is very old, the Air-condition make a lots of noise.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Iraj A
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Although there is nothing we can do about the age of this property, and the location, we do sincerely thank you for you honest and accurate feedback, as we have put a lot of work, time, and money into the place to improve it for the accommodation of every guest at this convenient location. The a/c issue... More 

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

McAllen, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never been in a hotel so dirty old and nasty they had to move me several times first no A/C then No remote control and the last one i was so tired i had to stay the tube NASTY so dirty I didnt take a shower you can compare your hotel with the 6 or one of those cheap hotels... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank armandom341
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, we would like thank you for your review and to sincerely apologize for the in-room experience. Although we make every attempt to prevent every type of room issue, sometimes things still go wrong. Per our policy, if the new room was found to still be unsuitable, we could have refunded the cost, if brought to our attention... More 

Atlanta, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

I would not rent a room for my dog to stay there. I personally didn't make the reservation, however the rooms where booked a few months in advance close to the port. Issues were reported but it wasn't anything front desk could do, due to the facts they had nothing better to offer. Room was HORRIBLE, which is an understatement.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank sharhondab702
Todd O, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Galveston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, we would like thank you for your review and to sincerely apologize for the in-room experience. Although we make every attempt to prevent every type of room issue, sometimes things still go wrong. Per our policy, if the new room was found to still be unsuitable, we could have refunded the cost, if brought to our attention... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#25 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#22 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Galveston

Address: 8216 Harborside Dr, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-7199
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: $52 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay