We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Grand Galvez

Save
Share
2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Lowest prices for your stay
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/25/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
travelup.com
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1439)
Room & Suite (371)
Pool & Beach (164)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 57 hotels in Galveston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Grand Galvez is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
5271Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,869
  • 1,266
  • 597
  • 306
  • 233
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jeff W wrote a review Jan 18
Strafford, Vermont24 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed at the hotel on Sunday and Monday nights, checking out today, 1/18. I booked through the mobile website. Nowhere on that website did it say anything about construction. Nowhere on any of the three confirmation emails I received did it say anything about construction (though the staff said it did, I and have the emails which do not). At check in, there was a paper notice that apologized for the construction in the lobby. It made no mention of construction on guest room floors. We were placed on a floor that was under construction, despite there being rooms available on floors that are NOT under construction. When we got to our room, there was construction on the other end of the hallway. We noted it, but accepted it, as there was sufficient distance. The next morning we find workers, missing ceiling, debris, and active construction in front of our door. On complaint to the front desk, they said they could do nothing about it, but would have a supervisor call me at 3:00 in the afternoon. We went about our day. At 3:00 a supervisor calls, says all they can do is further inconvenience us by moving rooms. This is 100% unacceptable. I did not book a stay at a construction site. I was not ever notified I had until I was already settled in my room. There are life safety issues as exits were blocked (while exit signs were not changed), items hung from the ceiling in the active egress path, tacky mat on the floor presented a trip hazard. Additionally, in this time of covid, we were forced to walk through a confined space where people were exerting themselves, some without masks, none with N95 masks. To say nothing of the fact that what I booked as a couple relaxing days away were frustrated by both the activity and the lack of your staff ability to address it in any meaningful manner. The hotel offered no compensation of any kind. I've been in hospitality, while under construction. The staff is deficient, obnoxious, and unhelpful. A "sorry this happened" really does not cut it for something like this.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Galvez, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Galvez
Responded yesterday
Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grand Galvez. I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations nor our standards. We are under a full historic renovation and unfortunately some guest areas are effected directly due to the construction, all while following all state and federal life safety guidelines. We do hope you return to see the Grand Galvez as the true Queen of the Gulf once renovations are complete.
Read more
Nadim H wrote a review Dec 2021
6 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Five star prices less than motel 6 quality rooms. The grossest bathroom. Mold on shower and sink caulking. Rusting bathroom hardware. Mold on very low drop ceiling. The smallest rooms from 1920 Gross carpet in room Lobby under major construction as well as only hotel dining area No self parking only valet contrary to online info Left all day and no room service no new towels, nothing. Ok hotel gym Never staying here again. Total rip off. Can’t wait to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I was totally suckered by impressive building facade but totally unacceptable rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Galvez, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Galvez
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grand Galvez. I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations nor our standards. We are under a full renovation and will be bringing Her Majesty back to her full glory as the Queen of the Gulf and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Read more
Lorelie wrote a review Dec 2021
Granbury, Texas5 contributions
When staying here with my family, I have a disabled daughter staying on the property . I spoke with Natalie on 12/27/21- per your employee this establishment does not offer Handicapped parking. The establishment is well aware of the problem, and it is not her problem. On 12/28/21 I spoke with management regarding this issue, and they assured me I can park up front due to valet being closed and if parking was full. Natalie this time accused my husband of lying, when requesting her to contact management she refused. Being a platinum member Wyndham, platinum member of Marriott, and Hilton. I can assure you, I will not return nor recommend this hotel to anyone. I would suggest you brush up on your ADA requirements, and I will be reporting this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking, handicapped, discrimination
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Galvez, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Galvez
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grand Galvez. I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations nor our standards. All ADA requirements and guidelines are followed while we undergo a historic renovation. We do hope you return to visit us once we are complete and restored as the true Queen of the Gulf.
Read more
John T wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We came for dinner in the hotel restaurant since the sign mentioned renovation work would stop by 5 pm. It was extremely loud and they said the work would continue to 8 pm. I would not stay in this hotel until renovation work is done or get a room up high and dont plan to eat there. Hotel management does nothing on complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Galvez, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Galvez
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grand Galvez. . As you saw, we are under a full renovation and will be bringing Her Majesty back to her full glory as the Queen of the Gulf. Unfortunately during this time there are public areas in the lobby that are disrupted in order to complete this renovation as fast as possible. We do try to limit intrusions as much as time allows. We hope to have back soon to see the completed renovations!
Read more
SteveO wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
Had a great experience staying at the Grand Galvez with friends and family. Staff very attentive and courteous, couldn’t do enough for our group. The front desk dealt with our requests immediately and respectfully Our rooms were clean and spacious, the beds were very comfortable The Sunday brunch was delicious and plentiful,,our server Ever was very attentive and made sure our bottomless mimosas were kept topped up! A great experience - wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel to friends and family
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Galvez, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Galvez
Responded Dec 2, 2021
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as our world famous brunch! I will be sure to pass on the kind words about your server at brunch!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel galvez and spa, a wyndham grand hotel, hotel galvez wyndham historic, wyndham galveston, galveston wyndham, galvez hotel galveston
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Galvez & Spa
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastGalveston IslandGalveston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
224
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Galvez
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Galvez?
Nearby attractions include The Bryan Museum (0.4 miles), Murdochs (0.2 miles), and Escape The Island (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Galvez?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Galvez?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Galvez?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Galvez?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller's Seawall Grill, Galvez Bar & Grill, and Blvd. Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Galvez?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Galvez?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Galvez offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Galvez?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Galvez?
Many travelers enjoy visiting 1892 Bishop's Palace (0.8 miles), Moody Mansion (0.8 miles), and 1859 Ashton Villa (0.7 miles).
Does Grand Galvez have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.