We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
107 W Commerce St, Brenham, TX 77833
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
$120
View deal
StayForLong
Lol.travel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (182)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 7 in Brenham
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Travelers' Choice
The Ant Street Inn offers the finest in Texas hospitality in the elegant setting of a first-class boutique hotel. Centrally located in Brenham, Texas between Houston and Austin, the Ant Street Inn provides business travelers with meeting spaces to accommodate 2 up to 250 participants, as well as two separate high-speed wireless internet systems and free local and long distance telephone calls. Leisure travelers looking for an elegant, quiet getaway need look no further than the Ant Street Inn. Our staff is dedicated to meeting your every need, whether you are planning an executive retreat, family reunion, quiet anniversary celebration, or simply a stress-relieving few days "away from the usual". Relax in rocking chairs overlooking the courtyard garden, indulge in a sumptuous breakfast at the award-winning Brenham Grill located in the hotel's lobby (complimentary to all Ant Street Inn guests), and enjoy the many shops and restaurants in historic, downtown Brenham. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Brenham!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
357Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 327
  • 27
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa S wrote a review Mar 2022
Lewisville, Texas5 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed in the quiet and cozy Austin room. The whole place was unique and interesting. The location was ideal to walk around the town and see all of the beautiful murals. We would definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Lisa T wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I have stayed at Ant Street Inn on many occasions. Its proximity to shops and restaurants in downtown Brenham is a draw, and it's also a lovely place to stay when you're attending events in Brenham and nearby venues such as Round Top. The beautiful Victorian furnishings in this historic setting create a wonderful ambience in which to relax. Yet Ant Street has all the modern conveniences the traveler needs. The Brenham Grill is a convenient and delicious choice for dining while there. You get the personal touch from the owners, who remember the names of repeat visitors.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Carla H wrote a review Nov 2021
Waco, Texas4 contributions5 helpful votes
We recently stayed two nights in the Ant Street Inn in Brenham, Texas and cannot recommend it highly enough! The desk staff was very helpful (they let us borrow a little fan during our stay) and the room was beautiful. Our room had huge windows, overlooking one of the downtown streets and was within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and bars. Even though we were overlooking the street, we heard no street noise at all (maybe the fan helped with this). The room was large with a nice amount of counter around the sink to accommodate toiletries and the canopied bed was extremely comfortable. The furnishings were unique and beautiful. There was also a small room next to our room containing a fancy (but easy to use) coffee maker with a plentiful supply of different coffees and teas, microwave, a refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and Blue Bell ice cream cups, and many small items (like corkscrews and bottle openers) for the guests' convenience. There was also an area with couches, chairs and tables that would be appropriate for games or conversations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are unique and beautiful
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
dangerkitty18 wrote a review Oct 2021
Hong Kong136 contributions96 helpful votes
Our first time staying here. Excellent from beginning to end. Suzy, the owner, was incredibly helpful. My room was beautiful and very, very comfortable. It was a very memorable, wonderful stay. The “drink room” was a nice amenity. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jeff wrote a review Oct 2021
Fort Worth, Texas1 contribution
This was a quaint, clean and well adorned inn, and it enhanced our stay in Brenham. The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable, and the downtown was walkable. I would stay here again. The complimentary Bluebell vanilla ice cream was a nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
mkh303 wrote a review Oct 2021
Longmont, Colorado33 contributions30 helpful votes
We had the Mobile Room with 2 beds and it worked beautifully for my daughter and myself. We loved sitting on the veranda with a complimentary ice cream or our own glass of wine after a day of shopping Roundtop. It was convenient to have breakfast right at the hotel with a flexible schedule.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wendy S wrote a review Oct 2021
Austin, Texas710 contributions178 helpful votes
Although there was a mix up and we didn't get the room we wanted, we still loved it! We got to listen to the Texas Art & Music Festival concert from the balcony. This was our 2nd stay, and we're already planning to go again next year. What I always want to know about when I'm booking a B&B is the breakfast ... it's outstanding! Great service, choices, food, & coffee. We were there on a Sunday and a Monday so we got to try their brunch & breakfast (served at the Brenham Grill). I had the eggs florentine & migas and loved them both. The potatoes were delicious. I wish they'd had real butter for the toast, but that was truly my only gripe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: We arrived before our room was ready, so they stored our bags and took them to our room, which...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
P3888VVdebrag wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Ant Street Inn for 1 night (Saturday). My husband had stayed previously many times for work related meetings and had enjoyed his stay. The property is cute and centrally located. When we returned from dinner Saturday night the noise level inside of our room was unbearable. There is a bar across the street which was playing loud music (outside). It was as though the band was in our room. It was a little after 9, so I called the owners on the after hours number. I asked how long the music would be going and explained how loud it was in our room. The response was it should end at 9 (it was after 9 so that couldn't happen), then 10. In reality, it was after 11 p.m. I was told first, only a few guests had complained about the noise (which would seem like one too many...), then was told that they had reported this to the police and that there was nothing they could do. I asked if we could move rooms and was told nothing was available. I explained that they should have warned us about the possible noise (they clearly had notice) and instead of apologizing or trying to make it right with us, she hung up on me. I called back, explained that I would have to tell the truth about my experience and right a review and she hung up on me again. To be clear, I understand that there may be nothing they can do about noise coming from an adjacent bar. However, they could have warned us (other guests also said it bothered them at breakfast the next day). Some hotels provide ear plugs (when located near a train track) - note this hotel is also near a train track but you can't hear the train over the loud band. Very disappointing in how this was handled and certainly not acceptable for the owner to hang up not once, but twice on a guest.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith Hankins, Owner at Ant Street Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Thank you for letting us know your concerns. Actually, you did not speak with the owners. Suzy and I were out of town that weekend, celebrating our first granchild's first birthday. It was the first weekend that we were not in possession of the Emergency Cell Phone in many months. The person you spoke with was our Front Desk Manager. She is a very capable young lady. She's been with us more than eight (8) years, working her way up to the Front Desk from Housekeeping. She does a great job, and we love her to death. As the owner, please let me say, "We apologize for how your call was handled. It was abolutely our fault as the owners for not adequately preparing our staff for such a situation in our absence." I spoke with one of the venue's owners. They are great friends and neighbors, and he acknowledged that the band playing that night was louder than any band that had ever played there before. So, not only was it a new situation for our Front Desk Manager, it was a new situation for the venue's owners, and would have been a new situation for Suzy and me had one of us answered the phone. I acknowledge that we, as owners of the Ant Street Inn, did not equip our Front Desk Manager with the necessary information and authority she would need in order to at least attempt to assist you with your concern. Had Suzy or I answered the phone, we would have contacted the venue's ownership and asked them to turn it down. They may or may not have responded the way we would want them to, but either way, we would have at least taken that step. Our Front Desk Manager was not equipped to make that phone call. That is our lack of foresight, and our mistake as owners. She now knows that should she receive a call from a guest of this nature again, she has the phone number of the venue's owners, and she has the authority to at least ask them to turn it down. Before you posted your review, she told us about your call, and how she handled it. She knows that hanging up on you was not appropriate. However, in her relatively limited experience (and the fact that she was inadequately equipped and prepared by us), once she informed you that there was literally nothing she could do, you kept complaining, and she was at the end of her experience. Sort of like the end of the Beatles song, "I Want You/She's So Heavy", everything just built and built until there was nothing to do but end it. To her, had she not hung up on you, she would have flown off the handle and said something truly inflamatory. So, while she admittedly may not have handled the situation optimally (due to a lack of preparation by us), she did the absolute best job that she could to keep her own frustration under control. Now that she has this experience, and has been coached on how to deal with it, she is equipped and knows how to acknowledge her understanding of your displeasure, will contact the venue's ownership, but will still communicate that ultimately, she (and we as the owners of Ant Street Inn) lacks the power and authority to directly be able to decrease the volume. We can ask, but we can't guarantee anything. As far as prior notification of a music venue close by, well, Brenham is well known as a music city. In fact, we are a Certified Music Friendly Community, so honored by the Office of Texas Governor Gregg Abbott (https://gov.texas.gov/music/page/music-friendly-communities). To most of our guests, having live music outside on the weekend is not a surprise. While our neighbors often, in fact usually have live music on the weekends, we have little knowledge beforehand of who will be performing. Sometimes it's one or two performers playing an acoustic set indoors. Sometimes, like you experienced, it's a full four or five piece band complete with serious electronic amplification and percussion. Regardless of how many or what type of performers they have, all we can do is contact the venue's owner and ask if the music's volume can be turned down. That did not happen in this case, again, please allow me to reiterate, because we as owners of the Ant Street Inn failed to fully equip our Front Desk Manager to be able to handle the question. And, while our neighbor is a good friend and business owner, and usually can help us out, ultimately, we have no authority to force him to decrease the volume. So, to your point, we took the following actions: 1) I had a conversation with the venue's owner. He acknowledged that the band was very loud, louder than any other band that had ever played there, during their first set. The band played three sets, and the venue's owner told them after their first set that if they didn't turn it down, he would not pay them. The band turned the volume down, but then creeped it up again. He again told them that he was about to tear up their check if they didn't turn it down. They turned it down. He is a good friend and neighbor, and told me to give his personal phone number to our Front Desk Manager so that, should the issue occur again, she can call him directly. Hopefully, the volume will be better controlled in the future. 2) We have updated our website to show, on the two rooms closest to the music venue (your room, Room 209, the Memphis Room, and Room 210, the Galveston Room) that there is a live music venue just across the street, and weekends are the primary time of performances. 3) Of course, we have coached and equipped our Front Desk Manager on how to better handle such a situation. She is now adequately armed to assist our guests should anything like this happen again. Again, we apologize for the way your concern was handled. We understand your frustration, and acknowledge our responsibility as business owners that we had not provided all the tools necessary to our Front Desk Manager to be able to address your concern. We appreciate your acknowledgement that we ultimately have no control over our neighbors. But we can at least ask. Thank you very much for letting us know of your concerns. We hope you'll give us, and Brenham, another chance.
Read more
Karen K wrote a review Aug 2021
37 contributions4 helpful votes
Our New Orleans room was right across from the lovely coffee bar and ice cream! Everyone was so friendly, breakfast was very good, and such a pretty town to walk around. We even had an alligator in the spacious bathroom (wooden). Not to be missed, Must be Heaven ice cream parlor across the street!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Can’t go wrong!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
731belled wrote a review Jul 2021
stephenville, United States19 contributions21 helpful votes
I have stayed here several times and always downstairs as I love this room. The bathroom is large with a separate shower and tub. The room opens to the courtyard and has comfortable seating. There is a table and we have had breakfast on the porch. The restaurant has a good menu and Bluebell ice cream is available for guests if the inn. The stats are so relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasBrenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ant Street Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Ant Street Inn?
Nearby attractions include Home Sweet Farm Market & Biergarten (0.04 miles), Unity Theatre (0.10 miles), and Toubin Park (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ant Street Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ant Street Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ant Street Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ant Street Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Must Be Heaven, 96 West, and Kay's Cuisine for the Soul.
Is Ant Street Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Brenham.
Are there any historical sites close to Ant Street Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Barnhill Center at the Historic Simon Theatre (0.08 miles), Ross Carroll Bennett House (0.3 miles), and Brenham Fire Company # 1 Fire Museum (0.2 miles).