We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I always return to the Highland Manor Inn for a friendly welcome, fresh rooms, and a beautiful, calm setting! Townsend offers a peaceful respite from the congestion of surrounding areas. The Highland Manor is close to restaurants, on the walking/biking path, and offers lovely views. We enjoyed our coffee on the balcony in the early morning mist, and have made... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaDotti
Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Am writing from Highland Manor. Such a pleasant check-in experience -- Paige was so friendly and helpful, a real pleasure to talk to. Our room is a little small, but it is SO clean and comfortable, and we have a nice view of the mtns from our balcony. Love that there are no steps to climb. The only bad thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2BNTN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very welcoming staff, clean rooms. Nice place to stay. The Wi-Fi could have been faster :-) this is the second time were have stayed here.... We will be back again. We were here for the Old Timers Day festival and the park of course.... saw 5 bear! Great trip

Helpful?
Thank aprshep
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our second stay at Highland Manor was excellent. Very friendly folks and clean, comfortable accommodations. A convenient location in the beautiful Smoky Mts. to enjoy the piece and quiet away from the crowded tourist areas near yet enough to jump into the crowds if needed. Townsend is low key but has some good choices for eats. Look forward to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce Z
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was recently at Highland Manor for a family reunion and was disgusted by the service and overall experience. The reception room was dirty/dusty. The couch smelled like pee. The ceiling fans had layers of dust on the blades, so bad we couldn't turn them on. The children's swing set is a serious safety hazard. While we were there one... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rachille11
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed two nights at Highland over Labor Day weekend. My husband and I had room 119, other family had 118 next door. When we first walked in, our room smelled very bad, like a musty, damp basement. It was late. I sprayed some perfume on the carpet, turned up the air, and went to bed. We left the next morning... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank momuvtwo2117
SandyB242, Owner at Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the condition of your room. It is not the normal condition of our property. My staff and I work hard to maintain all the rooms for our guests. We were aware that the wall had been wet. The past few weeks have been windy and with the recent rain we have had, leaves had traveled to the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Checked in, and bottom room was very musty. Later that day, wall,paper was pulled out and mold was underneath. Got another room which was better, but still a slight mold smell. My wife notified front desk, and the did not seemed concerned. They only stated that the ground floor rooms had moisture problems. Would not recommend this at all. Should... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Rick B
SandyB242, Owner at Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

First please let me apologize for the condition of your room. We pride ourselves in having excellent accommodations and work hard to maintain the rooms for our guests. I want to thank you for telling us about the mold problem. We were aware that the wall had been wet. With the heavy wind and rain we have had, leaves had... More 

Meridian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Family and I have stayed at Highland Manor Inn several times over the last few years, and have been extremely happy with the rooms. We have been coming to the Smokies since 1997 and have rented hotels and cabins, usually in the higer price ranges ro make sure we would have no problems. I decided to try the Highland... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John M M
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in adjoining rms 118 &119. Upon entering rm would choke and start coughing due to smell- possibly mold? Rm 119 was worst-at end possibly carpet wet at some time. By second day was coughing all day. Would not have stayed another night. Did not ask to change rms since needed adjoining rms and was afraid no other adjoining was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LynnAG2013
HIGMAN242, Owner at Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I do apologize for the closed up smell that you experienced in a set of our adjoining rooms. We don't often rent the adjoining rooms, but rather hold them for families that require the adjoining door. Staff is supposed to properly air out the rooms days before an arrival. We obviously failed to do that for you and I am... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were at this hotel for a family anniversary. We booked our room well in advance but felt we were given the left over room. Room 219 was awful. It did not have the smell that others had but it was very dated, no place to put our luggage, no place to hang anything as there was a refrigerator &... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Judy A
HIGMAN242, Owner at Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not pleased with your accommodations at the Highland Manor Inn. I do remember your reservation request for a king bed, near the Conference Center where the 50th Anniversary party would be. The room we agreed upon was the only king room near the Conference Center that was available. I certainly wish you would have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#7 of 11 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#1 of 11 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
13.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Price Range: $102 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Motel
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#6 Family Hotel in Townsend
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay