We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Booking.com$149*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 739: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2016

This is a motel, not a hotel in the true sense of the word. All rooms face onto an external shared balcony/walkway, meaning one cannot open the curtains without people walking past and looking in. The decor was a horrible vomit brown colour (is this the same comapny that owns the Comfort Inn on Michigan Avenue Indianapolis?) and was depressingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BipBip2011
ManagerX1, Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thanks so much for you recent visit and for the constructive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our clean facilities and the hospitality of our associates. However, I truly regret that our interiors were not to your liking as well as the inconvenience you encountered with our noisy HVAC unit. I will certainly share your concerns with my team...

Gillette, Wyoming
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We were very skeptical when searching for a hotel that was conveniently located near lower Broadway but wouldn't cost an arm and a leg. We finally settled on the Capitol Hotel and overall we're glad we did. First off, we rented a car to drive from a few states away, and we're glad we did. The parking garage is NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K B
ManagerX1, Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville for your stay on your first trip to Nashville. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were overall pleased with your room, our service and our location. However, we apologize for the service issue at our restaurant and due to our elevators, but we are glad that...

Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We stayed here two nights. More like a motel than a hotel as rooms directly facing onto an external corridor. The hotel was really depressing in its decor. The corridors were grotty as was the lift. We came back to our room one night to find a huge cockroach on the window - must have been nearly two inches long....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KATS823
ManagerX1, Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your comments. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, but we are glad that the cleanliness of your room and our helpful staff were to your satisfaction. Feedback such as yours is important to us as it helps us know where improvements are needed, so thank you! We appreciate your business and...

Boston, MA
Reviewed August 10, 2016

What else can you ask for, right? We could walk to all the major tourist spots downtown, the staff was INCREDIBLY nice and helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We went for a girls' weekend and everything worked out great. The only bummer was I had requested adjoining rooms for our group and we didn't get them. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker16
ManagerX1, Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the terrific review of the Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are delighted that you chose us for your weekend getaway and had an exceptional visit. We take great pride in providing clean accommodations along with exceptional service, and I'm so glad to read this was your experience. We’re also happy that our location was convenient for...

Reviewed August 10, 2016

Staff: Brittany went above and beyond to assist me prior to arrival by checking out a business for me. Aieta checked us in she was very pleasant and funny. Reven checked us out she was very patient and accommodating with a 5 room checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
ManagerX1, Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville with your friends. We​ appreciate you mentioning the excellent service you received from Brittany, Aieta, and Raven. They are true assets to our team, and we will be sure to share your compliments with them. Our entire team works hard to provide an exceptional guest...

Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 9, 2016

The staff was very friendly, rooms were clean as well as over-all hotel. It's a walk up hill from the main drag (Broadway Street) but for the price, you won't find a better hotel in downtown Nashville

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan t
ManagerX1, Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank for choosing The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville for your recent stay with your friends. We are thrilled to read that you loved the excellent service provided by our welcoming associates and our spotless property. We also appreciate your nice comments about the great value we offer for the price. Thank you again, and we hope to be your hotel...

Reviewed August 9, 2016

For the price I could have stayed at a nicer hotel with indoor hallways. Every time we encountered the desk staff, it was as if I was inconveniencing them. When we checked in, I stood at the desk for 3 minutes (I timed it) before I was acknowledged and the woman responded, "Do you need something?" Due to outdoor hallways,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kole M
ManagerX1, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of enthusiasm and hospitality you experienced with our front desk associates. I will certainly discuss this with them to make sure we are always interacting with our guests with a sense of pride and importance. I hope you will give us another...

Reviewed August 1, 2016

The valet parking was awesome! The guys came to the car asked if we needed help with our bags and parked our car for us. Whenever we needed our car we gave them our ticket and they brought the car to the front door. The ladies at the first desk were amazing! Aletha and Gwen answered our questions, made our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
ManagerX1, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that our staff at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville made your stay so enjoyable. We especially appreciate you recognizing the efforts of our valet parking team, Aletha, Gwen and our bartender. We will be sure to share your compliments with them! We are also glad...

Reviewed August 1, 2016

After being walked from our original hotel in Nashville due to them being oversold-we were placed at the Capital Hotel and we could not have been happier! Gwen who was working the front desk when we arrived was so pleasant and helpful! Her and Robert were able to turn a bad situation with another hotel into a great one with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
ManagerX1, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay and for your five-star review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville made your stay so enjoyable. We believe we have the best team in town, and we can assure you they work hard every day to deliver outstanding service. We will be sure to share...

Paso Robles, California
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Great Staff who really helped out with everything. Mrs. Gwen was my favorite. They got us to and from the airport with ease. And the location was great! A couple of blocks away from Broadway so we were able to walk. And if we couldn't walk it was a cheap uber or jolly ride away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paigelaw15
ManagerX1, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback. We are thrilled to read that you loved the service provided by our associates, especially Mrs. Gwen. We also appreciate your nice comments about our location, close to Broadway. We will be sure to share your kind comments with our team members and congratulate them for a job well...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (104)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
One King Bed (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
1,157 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#39 of 154 in Nashville
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Address: 711 Union St, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Price Range: $181 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville staff and other travelers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Louisville, Kentucky
over a year ago
cork
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Outside lower levels might be more quiet”
ConnieCameron, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“There are some rooms, at the back that face a garedn are which is quieter”
KarenSDerbycity, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We loved the room on the back side of the hotel facing the courtyard.”
394cathyb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Highly recommend a room in the back of hotel (less noise). Also, breakfast buffet is on the second floor.”
cbgale803, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“best staff”
lbh04c, Apr 12, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$149* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$339
AscendHotels$175
Travelocity$175
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates