We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 973: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a birthday surprise for my wife, with friends. We were just coming as the first stop on a wine tasting day - as far as my wife knew, until we walked towards the tasting room/restaurant when the maître d say 'you're the party who's coming tonight with a cake' (our friends had dropped in a cake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retired_backpacker
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear retired_backpacker, Thank you for providing your feedback to us at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, I must apologise for the issues that you encountered that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we will use it to continue to improve our services for future guests. We do hope to welcome...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed an overnight stay with wine tasting,dinner and breakfast at Balgownie Estate. Our suite was superb with great views from the balcony, a lounge room,. Bed room with king sized bed and a both room with large circular spa. The dinner was excellent,good food with a plentiful choice of dishes very good wine. The buffet breakfast was also most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goolspnr
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Goolspnr, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and indulged in our lovely onsite restaurant and cellar door. We have passed your kinds words on to our team here. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So I stayed at the estate with my partner for the night and to be honest as nice as the scenery was, for the price it cost me the rooms weren't amazing. They used old cushions, old towels the bath tub was not clean not the best, the furniture was quite old in the bedroom the side tables about 20years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylwia L
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sylwia, Thank you for providing your feedback to us at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa. It is disappointing to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We have addressed and handled your feedback regarding your check in and check out experience with the relevant members of our team, we do apologise. Hopefully you do give...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife was given a Valley View Package voucher for her birthday. I booked in late 2016 for a Sat night in Feb 2017. We were later invited to a wedding on that date so called to change the date to 25th March 2017. All done without a hiccup. I even called to confirm the Monday before and all was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wes M
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wes, We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to bring this to our attention as we take feedback very seriously here at Balgownie Estate. It is with this constructive feedback that we are able to improve the guest experience and be aware of areas of improvement such as staff training in this case. We...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 15, 2017

Stayed here with my daughter in March 2017, we were attending a wedding at Yarrawood Estate....so we stayed here before the wedding..... The location is beautiful, but very rural and secluded, we didn't have a car, and getting a taxi to come to the hotel was almost impossible. However the hotel do have a courtesy car and will if necessary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7silver
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 7silver, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us at Balgownie Estate. We are delighted to see that we were able to give you a fantastic experience at the Resort in all of our facilities and services. We have taken your feedback on board regarding the restaurant menu. We cant wait to welcome you...

Sunbury, Australia
Reviewed March 15, 2017

Both my wife & I were very impressed with our suite & the cleanliness. From the living room & balcony the views were superb. Also the staff were very helpful in answering our questions, with suggestions of where to visit during our stay. I suggest asking for room with the Easterly views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1931johnt
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 1931johnt, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are already looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Reviewed March 7, 2017

The estate was absolutely beautiful, and our room had a valley view as we had requested. Unfortunately, during our stay there was construction happening on the road that leads into the estate, which also runs beside the "privilege" spa suites. We made the booking when the estate were aware that there was construction happening as there was a sign at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Great location in the Yarra Valley close to Yarra Glen and many other wineries. Our room had a lovely view of the valley and the Dandenong ranges. Our room was also close to reception and the car park. We meet up with a group of friends at the resort and enjoyed a great meal at Rae's restaurant that night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George P
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear George, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us at Balgownie Estate. We are delighted to see that we were able to give you and your friends an enjoyable experience at the Resort in all of our facilities and services. We cant wait to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Balgownie...

Reviewed March 1, 2017

Beautiful overnight stay in spacious room with a view to Mt Dandenong. Delicious dinner at Rae's Restaurant with great choices and fabulous wine. Service was friendly, professional and knowledgeable, adding to the enjoyment. Great breakfast the next morning finished everything brilliantly. Thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our resort and all the facilities we have to offer here. We are already looking forward to your next stay. Kind Regards, Balgownie Estate Team

Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile

Nice complex, good food, comfortable room however the staff on check in were quite rude because we'd turned up 30 minutes early. Restaurant and wine tasting services were fantastic. For the price we paid $580, we probably won't be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natty M
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Natty, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with us at Balgownie Estate. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the resort, restaurant and cellar door. However it is disappointing to hear you were not met with warm hospitality as you arrived to check in. We apologise for the rudeness and can ensure you we have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

383 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (359)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
518 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
319 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
135 reviews
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Price Range: $138 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hong Kong, China
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Request top floor rooms”
FaithinTyler, 1 week ago | Read review
“High level for better views”
406johnm406, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“First floor for lovely views over the valley.”
gregcI1227WT, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“try to get a room you can park near!”
  • Kitchen
  • View from room 207
  • Bed
  • Living room
retired_backpacker, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Check with reception if the construction works have finished before you book”
jennycS9087DW, Mar 7, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question