We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wonthaggi Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wonthaggi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wonthaggi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Wonthaggi, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in the Wonthaggi Motel and found it to be neat and clean, and the staff very professional. Whilst the rooms are neat huge, the amenities in them are very good, and it does not have the typical motel feel. A nice, comfortable feel and stay.

Helpful?
Thank StephenOrmsby
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Stephen, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you again. More 

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very roomy and clean and in convenient location close to the main street and shops. Room was well equipped the bed comfortable and bathroom spacious. Charming receptionist/manageress who was extremley informative and very polite. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank surfaman
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we value your feedback! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in family suite - 4 adults & 1 baby. The suite was very spacious with very comfy beds, lounge suite & big flat screen tv. Great bathroom with spa bath & again loads of room. Heating worked a treat & everything was clean. Only downside was a few little things that I think is just lack of attention to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
Nadene1, Guest Relations Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property Kerry, we value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
690 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here in Aptil, unfortunately have been out of action and only just catching up on all my reviews Well this is a family owned and run establishment and from the seem of it the only motel in town. It's "ok" but some rooms are better than others. There was a group of us staying so I got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
Nadene1, Guest Relations Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We regret you found a discrepancy in the types of rooms your group stayed in back in April, however we have only recently undertaken refurbishment of all Queen rooms and the feedback has been very positive. (updated pictures and details on our website). We hope if you have reason to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend in July, 2016. Very clean and very comfortable, the best bed I've ever slept on, whilst holidaying. On arrival I asked if I could please have a Microwave put into my room, by the time I drove over to my room, the staff member was already carrying a Microwave to my door.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 51jackieann
Nadene1, Guest Relations Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property Jackie, we appreciate your valued feedback and look forward to seeing you again! More 

Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during the Easter school holidays. We wanted to stay on Phillip Island, but did not realise how busy it would be with the school holidays, as we happened to be staying over a very warm weekend. The rooms looked like they had just been refurbished and when we were there that had just been a change of... More 

Helpful?
Thank snappychappy88
Nadene1, Guest Relations Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and review of our motel - yes, given the close proximity to Phillip Island and other surrounding tourist attractions many guests have discovered us here in Wonthaggi as an alternate destination too! Happy travels! More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

If you stay there , don't expect five star treatment . We had a very poor experience that basically ruined our weekend visit . I consider the Room Rate ridiculously high for 2 nights . This motel located in a small country town . Not a luxury type City hotel . The level of facilities very average . No resteraunt... More 

Helpful?
Thank C4756QLrichardh
daniel p, Owner at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rick. Thank you for posting your review venting your apparent frustration at being charged the appropriate fee for your Motel room being SMOKED in by you and yours. Even though we are not a 5 Star luxury hotel in the city, we believe we have right to an expectation that our property and staff would be treated in a... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

I stayed in a king room for 3 nights and was very impressed. Fantastic comfy bed. Spacious room with a couple of recliners to relax on to watch tv. Extra large bathroom with corner spa with shower over. Beautiful fluffy white towels supplied as well as some basic toiletries. Toaster, kettle, microwave and fridge in small kitchenette. Room is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toni J
daniel p, Owner at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Toni, Thank you for taking the time to review our family property/business. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Wonthaggi. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Friendly, helpful staff. Really comfortable, spacious room at a very affordable price. I would definitely stay there again! The room even had a spa bath! Plus we had 2 super comfortable recliner chairs. The room was quiet too

Helpful?
Thank Gina M
daniel p, Owner at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Gine, Thanks so much for your review, nice to know you enjoyed your stay, your room and were pleased with room pricing. I too like the recliners, very comfy. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

Second time staying here last time a 60 th This time a Wedding Very clean and very warm welcoming stay . Always will stay here Very central to Shops and amenities even a town Market on weekend once a month Defiantly be back

Helpful?
Thank catjas0802
daniel p, Owner at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property, also thank you for your ongoing support of our business. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonthaggi
13.5 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
6.0 mi away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inverloch Central Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Eugenie's
Eugenie's
#2 of 2 in Inverloch
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
12.3 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
7.4 mi away
Motel on A'Beckett
Motel on A'Beckett
#1 of 4 in Inverloch
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonthaggi Motel has 20 Units including 7 extra large Deluxe units with spa bathrooms. Parking is right outside your room. All units have Flat screen Tv's, A/Cond, King or Queen beds, family units, free Internet to all rooms. We are right in town, walk to shops, clubs, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wonthaggi Motel

Address: 40 - 44 McKenzie St, Wonthaggi, Victoria 3995, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Wonthaggi
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing