We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Great Ocean Road Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Great Ocean Road Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After reading other reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted warmly on arrival and advised where to put my rubbish on departure. The rubbish part was a little offputting after a long drive from Melbourne. The room was clean and while compact, a reasonable size. Very much a hotel room though with a comfortable queen size bed and table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Poodsters
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We have taken on board your comments in relation to your room not having a privacy blind and this is something we are looking at changing in the near future. We understand that the removal... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Great Ocean Road Resort is excellently situated, has excellent amenities to meet all needs, and the staff are v friendly. The pool and spa with steam room were v relaxing and the gym a bonus, along with tennis & trampolines that compliment the natural assets that Anglesea has to offer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joycebX1462WO
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Hi Joyce, Thank you for your positive review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our on site facilities including the indoor heated pool, gym (anglesea fitness centre), trampoline park (jumpz anglesea) and the tennis court. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of anglesea surrounded by national park forests and... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a 2 night midweek stay at the resort which was booked last minute on lastminute.com.au. A fantastic rate of $100 per night for a one bedroom apartment which sleeps 2 adults/2 children. We arrived late to check in which was not a problem as I had notified reception, however, when it came time for bed we realized there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodie J
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jodie, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found your stay with us great value for money after taking up one great mid week winter special deals. We apologies for the confusion in relation to the sofa bed linen and we are pleased that our staff handled this promptly once aware of the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for somewhere to relax for a few days on the surf coast and this resort did the job perfectly. The staff were all friendly and efficient, the Pool, Sauna and Gym were great and the price I paid was fantastic for everything on offer. Some of the unit furnishings are probably due an upgrade but everything was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank happyguest224
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your time taken to make a review about your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we note and have taken on board yours comments in relation to some of the furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you back at Great Ocean Road Resort when you are next... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Has many rooms with various sizes for couples or families. There is a free outdoor trampoline area for kids, which looks very well maintained. There is a small pool, spa and sauna, however, unusually there are no toilets or change rooms in these areas. The bed was comfortable although rickety. The in room spa was a nice size, but not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Snooper238
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback in relation to our facilities. We do acknowledge that it is not ideal that there are no toilets in the pool area however there are toilets/changerooms in our gym area. I have mention your comments in relation... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent six days whilst visiting family and were terribly disappointed. The bed was terrible - the mattress was very worn and very uncomfortable. During our stay, our unit was only serviced once and then only the top sheet was replaced! The Doona was very grubby and should either be replaced or laundered.

Helpful?
2 Thank Westc0ast
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we take our guest feedback seriously. Since your review we have asked our housekeeping staff to complete an audit on our mattresses and we will ensure any that any require replacing are replaced immediately. We acknowledge that your room was serviced once which is in line with current policy but we always ask our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Anglesea hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over at this resort with my husband after a drive on the great ocean road. It was our stop over destination for the night before we drove back to Geelong and then Melbourne next day. Staff member who attended to us at the reception was very nice. Do the documentation part quick, briefed us about the hotel services and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheka L
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Hi Cheka, Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found our staff friendly and your room spacious and clean. We also note that it was inconvenient that our restaurant was not opened when you stayed. Unfortunately due to the time of the year (low season) our restaurant is opened Thursday through to Monday. We have noticed... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a solo night away. Had everything I needed, parking, restaurant, DVD player, spa treatments - perfect. Room was excellent, spa treatments were very nicely done. Best relaxing night away ever. Also has a indoor swimming pool and 24/7 gym that I didn't use. The weather was good so I went for a run instead. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank JenJen8800
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As per my review about a month ago (all reviews for this resort have somehow been removed) - beware if you need to cancel a booking at this hotel. To recap, I booked via an online booking agent, with a guaranteed free cancellation. I did have to cancel, and for the past THREE MONTHS the agent has been trying to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank daisy20162016
Damien C, Manager at Great Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review

Hi Daisy, The property is now under new management. Can you please contact us directly instead of through your booking agent so we can resolve this issue immediately. We cannot identify you through your trip advisor account and therefore ask that you contact us via email enquiries@greatoceanroadresort.com.au or on 0352633363 to resolve your previous issue with the property. Kind Regards,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We had marvellous time. Our host very warm and friendly. The place was lovely and clean, with crisp beautiful sheets (that I do so adore) Swimming pool spa, steam room and Gym was available for our use. Our Massage on Sat afternoon was so lovely the girls were fantastic, and our dinner on Sat at the on site restaurant Coast... More 

Helpful?
Thank MauzLS
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anglesea
14.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
9.8 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#7 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
14.4 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Ocean Road Resort is a 4-star resort located just over an hours drive from Melbourne in the beautiful seaside town of Anglesea, situated on the spectacular Great Ocean Road. Pristine beaches, rugged sandstone cliffs and scenic natural forests make Anglesea one of the regions most popular weekend getaway and holiday destinations. Nestled directly opposite Anglesea River, Great Ocean Road Resort offers a variety of accommodation types to suit all tastes and budgets. Ranging from spacious one and two bedroom serviced apartments to modern motel units and spa suites. All guestrooms includes free access to Wi-Fi internet and satellite television. Onsite you will discover world class facilities including indoor heated swimming pool, spa, kid's pool, steam room, gym and flood lit tennis court which are all available to guests at no extra charge. The Resort also has a onsite restaurant including bar/lounge area (The Coast Restaurant), a day spa centre and a trampoline park which are available to guests with a surcharge payable. Coin operated BBQ and Guest Laundry facilities are available to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Ocean Road Resort

Address: 105 Great Ocean Rd, Anglesea, Victoria 3230, Australia (Formerly Surfcoast Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Anglesea
Price Range: $68 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Ocean Road Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Great Ocean Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay