We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Clean, nice staff, reasonably priced...would stay there again. The adjoining restaurant was fun, as well. Plenty of good food, country style, nice barbecue sauces to try, delicious fudge and old country store flavor. Snowed the day we were there, beautiful countryside and great location to rest. Everything in hotel worked well, internet no problem, and wake-up call right on time!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 960karans
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, I will pass them on to the staff. Come back and see us on your next trip over Monteagle Mountain.

Arkansas
Reviewed March 26, 2014

No complaints. The wife and I stayed in one of the cabins recently, and found them clean and comfortable. Good, old-fashioned Southern friendliness. The deer that wandered over each night from the woods was an added treat, and added to the rustic experience. The restaurant was very good; the pulled pork was as delicious as I've had anywhere. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDGArkansas
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and response. Thank you for your business and I will pass this on to our staff. Hope you will come back and visit us often.

Abingdon, Illinois
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed with family on trip from Florida to illinois.motel was clean,staff was friendly and helpful.resteraunt next door was good .a real southern country atmosphere.been through here many times but first time stopping.would stay again and will definetly eat at the resteraunt next time through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nedly52
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Hey, thank you Nedley. We appreciate your comments. Do try our restaurant next trip, we've been serving food since 1960, when our dad, Jim Oliver, started it. We're proud of our family recipes and food preparation. Making many upgrades to the Lodge too, you need to see these when you come back.

St Louis, United States
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very nice place and clean, in the rooms and the property. Friendly staff, very accommodating, staff was notified about toilet in the am upon departure...don't know if toilet was fixed. But the bathroom had toilet easily get stopped up, and there was black mold and ceiling falling apart in the shower area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Sean, in fact we are doing updates right now in all rooms and outside. Now that the weather is getting better we can move on with these items and get it all done. Come back and see what we are doing. Will Pass your comments on to the staff.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you're thinking of a romantic weekend in a rustic cabin PLEASE avoid this place. When we entered the cabins we immediately noticed that the mattress on the bed caved in the middle. Overlooking that, I began starting the fire for the romantic getaway I had planned with my lovely wife to escape our home of 6 kids. Sleeping on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joseph_F337
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

This is the second time you have made these same comments and you are an obvious scam artist. You are just trying to get something for nothing. Sorry you are this kind of person. Please find yourself another place to pick on, and another place to stay. Thanks, But No Thanks! The Smoke House Gang

Sewanee, Tennessee
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The two bedroom cabin has been neglected for quite some time. Stayed here two days. Missing air filter, dirty kitchen, locks don't work, daylight shining through the walls, torn meshing on the porch, wifi never worked, furniture old and broken... Get the picture? The one upside is that the actual beds themselves were comfy. Attention to detail is not their...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank B C
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, so sorry for the problems you encountered. These problems you mentioned in your response seem to be overstated somewhat. We have new beds in all cabins, new leather sofas, and many updates. We'd be glad to give you some refund if these cabins did not measure up to what you paid and your expectations. Call...

Homer Glen, Illinois
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here as a layover on our way home to Chicago and enroot to the Jack Daniels Distillery. The rooms are basic with a country log cabin aura about them. They were spacious and clean. I will stay here again when in the area. 1 suggestion is that you check the other local hotels prices in the area because...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Poppzster
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and for your business. Next time, if you have time to stay a while, try one of our 21 Cabins we have out back, rock on the porch, have a hot tub soak, and just plain relax. All Motels have rack rates, but they don't all give AAA or AARP discounts, good thing...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were thankful to rent a non-smoking room for the weekend, very convenient location to Sewanee. We had low expectations and, yet, were underwhelmed. Floors were filthy, my bare feet were black after walking on the floor. Do not stay in a downstairs unit, as little or no sound insulation from upstairs unit means every step taken by above unit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian W
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. The black on the floors was probably tracked in from the parking lot outside, not due to uncleanliness by our staff. We had been doing some work to the parking lot and it did cause us some problems with dirty floors. Other problems you referred to have been addressed and put under control with new door...

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We rented a cabin as all the hotel rooms were full. Thank Goodness! The cabin was Awesome! Fireplace...Hot Tub...lots of room. Our dog was very happy too...walked right out the door to her grassy paradise. Would totally recommend this place to everyone! The staff was do friendly & helpful...can't say enough good about this place.👍👍👍👍👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pcn46
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, the cabins are pretty awesome; too bad you weren't here 3 weeks ago, we had a winter wonderland with trees frosted over and 3" of snow on the ground, it too was beautiful. We are looking forward to spring, blooming flowers, and trees full of leaves, and the warmer weather that goes with it...

Savannah, United States
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Friendly staff, great rooms, great location. Overall, great experience. Accommodated to my family and pets needs. Restaurant has great food and a down to earth store that the whole family enjoyed. The winery is conveniently located right across the street. I will continue to stay with this Best Western due to the pleasant experiences I've encountered each and every time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much Jennifer, we appreciate feed back and will be looking forward your next visit. JD

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
280 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
159 reviews
19.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range: $56 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Back side of the hotel is away from parking lot & road, decent view. Check room before settling in, see if clean & good condition.”
 of 5 bubbles pkbw59, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road are loud during the day, but still quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 342laureno, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Another hotel till the staff starts to care.”
 of 5 bubbles bryanh756, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“There are no elevators, so ask for a ground floor room to avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles MSGYoungsville_NC, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“A room facing the back would have been better than ours facing the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles TXTravel09, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay