We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 499: English reviews
nashville, United States
Reviewed April 6, 2015

Paid too much when booking online. I made my reservation on line (and paid in advance). I paid a total of $125.25 When I checked in - the rate the front desk was giving was $71.99 That is a $50 difference. In addition, Best Western was paid on March 24, 2015. I did not check in until April 4, 2015....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Betsy S
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your review Betsy. Thank you for your comments. Lodging rates can be inconsistent, especially on the day of renting due to high or low demands for rooms, cancellations, changes in group needs, etc. Best Western Reservations is given our standard rack rates, and that is what they and we sell in advance, which is great for guaranteeing your...

chicago il
Reviewed April 6, 2015

This was our 3rd stay here on the way home from Florida. The hotel has been remodeled the room was great and the staff very helpful and pleasant. The restaurant Jim's Smokehouse is the best BBQ I have had he meets you as you walk in and lets you sample the food he has smoked. The service is great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42timer
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your review, that is just what we want to hear, all good. Come see us again, and we'll give you another free sample of ribs!! JD

Indianapolis, United States
Reviewed April 2, 2015

very poor, no continental breakfast, and wouldn't eat in their restaurant since dinner was bad and service at dinner night before. Place under remodeling. lobby in bad shape as work was being done. (staff however was pleasant), room lacked a table, refrigerator, microwave (which are always available in all Best Western hotels), noisy from upper rooms movement. had to physically...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richrard M
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however it appears that nothing anyone could do would please you during your stay. It is hard to believe all your compliants, about the lodge and the restaurant. It appears from your language that you were dissapointed with no free breakfast and that jaded the rest of your stay experiences. Sorry for your inconvenience while...

Murfreesboro, United States
Reviewed March 29, 2015

I think this is a GREAT option if you are looking for an affordable, nice cabin for a weekend getaway. It is private, clean, with all the amenities, and the staff is wonderful. I think you really get your moneys worth. No need to spend a fortune somewhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurora F
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

The cabins offer lots of privacy and quiet time as a couple or a family. Our rates are quite a bit better than the cabins offered in Gatlinburg, and our area has lots to do and see as well. Hope you will find the pleasure to visit us again on your next tirp thur our area.

Reviewed March 28, 2015

Hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, internet service sufficient. Though the rooms were a little outdated (for the price), we had everything we needed and we were very comfortable. This hotel is pet-friendly (we had our Irish Setter with us), and the staff is efficient and Very pet-friendly as well! We were given a 2nd floor room, so it was...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolynr597
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate honest and fair comments. As you found out, we don't offer free breakfast, but we do give discounts at the restaurant, up to 35% off the buffet, and 10% on all menu items, 15% in the gift shop; all in all much better than free breakfast. Hope you will find the pleasure to...

Arab, United States
Reviewed March 27, 2015

The cabins are very peacefull, would recommend them highly if you want some quiet time. The mountain views are very nice also. We have been coming here for 20 years, and still love it. They have a very good restaurant next door, that has something for every one. You can walk right to it.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franklin J. S
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Repeat customers are our favorite. We appreciate your comments and glad you find our cabins and restrauant all to your satisfaction. Your 20 years of experience in coming to the Smoke House says volumes about our service and your continued positive experiences. Thanks so much for all those years of your patronage, we appreciate your business.

Reviewed March 26, 2015

I wish the people behind the counter was more friendly instead that acted like I bothered them. they had better things to do then check me in. when I asked if they had breakfast, they acted like how dare you to ask that.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 277susannel
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments,. and we apologize for any negative experience you encountered with the front desk. This is unusual as our employees normally get very high positive reviews on their attitude. Hope you will find the pleasure to visit us again on your next tirp thur our area.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed March 20, 2015

Definitely cabiney i.e. No phone in room to call front desk to ask why no cable TV (they didn't know) no mini fridge, no water pressure in shower, no stairs to my side of second floor (had to walk around to other end) and wasn't sure about trusting the decking to the rooms as they didn't feel like they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank todsqd
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, we can't hope to please everyone. Sounds like you had issues before you checked in and took it all out on us in your review. Wea've had an overwhelming positive response to all that we are doing here at the Smoke House and we are very pleased with all the results. Thanks...

Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

Had to be in Chattanooga on business at UNIVERSITY OF Tennessee for our son .This place is still a great stay.A slice of heaven. On top of one of the tallest mountain ranges from east of rockies Monteagle mountain is a must see.The smokehouse Restaurants are unbelievable. Breakfast and lunch and dinner buffet. Love this stay! !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martyteresa317
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review, we appreciate your comments. Some people get it, some don't, obviously you see what where we are going with our theme and style. We have had an overwhelming response to all we are doing and appreciate positive feedback about it all.

Reviewed March 20, 2015

This hotel was perfectly serviceable for my business trip to the area- the price was right, the room was clean, and hotel staff were accommodating when I asked to check in fairly early. The food was excellent at the Smokehouse adjoining the hotel and I brought home BBQ sauce for family. My room did have a small fridge. Across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderHike
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments, thank you so much for your excellent review. Some people get it, some don't, obviously you see what where we are going with our theme and style. We have had an overwhelming response to all we are doing and appreciate positive feedback about it all.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
164 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
254 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range: $56 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Must drive down to Sewanee College of the South”
 of 5 bubbles Mruth67, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The rooms allow pets”
 of 5 bubbles 08harleyglide, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“Back side of the hotel is away from parking lot & road, decent view. Check room before settling in, see if clean & good condition.”
 of 5 bubbles pkbw59, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road are loud during the day, but still quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 342laureno, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Another hotel till the staff starts to care.”
 of 5 bubbles bryanh756, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question