We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 461: English reviews
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We ate next door at the Smokehouse which is always very good. Decided to stay overnight because it was rainy,foggy and dark. We didn't want to travel in these conditions. The rooms were pricey and we were shocked when we found out they offered "nothing" as far as ammenities. Also, the heating - air system's fan was VERY NOISY to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank slb1447
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Aminities are standard and what are required by Best Western. If you are talking about Frige and Microwaves in rooms, we do not offer these in every room; by request only in certain rooms. We are always open to suggestions and improvements while customers are here to correct any problems our guest have; move you to another room, or whatever... More 

columbia,sc, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Cabin was substandard and over-priced relative to quality -- restaurant was rustically-cute, but totally awful. We have visited the area many times, and even enjoyed the quaint nature of this lodge, but this time the cabin and food experience amounted to very poor. Also, attempts to compensate us were totally insufficient.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Robert, I've checked our lodging logs and cannot find that any comments were entered about compliants about your stay with us. We are always open to suggestions and improvements while customers are here to correct any problems our guest have; move you to another cabin, or room, or whatever is needed to help. It is hard for us to make... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Clean rooms, a convenient setting, friendly people, live music and good homecooked food next door make this a great place to stay. We enjoy staying at The Smokehouse when visiting Sewanee, and have stayed twice already in last three months.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank louiseh534
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response and we are looking foward to your return again soon. More 

stow, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I had ants in my room the first night of my stay and there were so many of them they were climbing on the bed and got into my suitcase. I got a new room and the dead bolt was broken I reported it and nothing was done due to the time of night. I felt unsafe since this is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Krista T
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response and we are looking foward to your return again soon. More 

Portage, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

For the money this is a poor quality hotel,It is clean and adequately decorated and the plus is the restaurant next door that makes it convenient. All along the highway the signs were for 33-59 dollars. This was an unpleasant surprise of 90 and no deals with a rewards card or being a senior with an aarp card.A small breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, we appreciate your input. We do not advertise prices on our billboards, it is the Mountain Inn you saw advertising those rates, they are down the road same exit as us. The weekend you were here was a high demand weekend where every property in a 30 mile area charges higher prices due to demand... More 

Marietta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Hotel very clean, beds were excellent so were pillows. Nice smokehouse restaurant attached, food very good especially breakfast. Country style store combined with restaurant, selection excellent and jams, jellies, sauces excellent both in taste and price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis B
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. Come back and see us. More 

tallahassee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

hotel staff was very welcoming and made us aware of the restaurant/bar deals going on that night with a "great local band". The room was standard, clean and nicely appointed...not a fan of laminate floors, prefer carpet myself and the AC was iffy. But overall a pleasant stay. No Wifi or breakfast, both of those were disappointing

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. The Internet was on the blink a few days due to lightning damage to some of our equipment, all back up now. No contintenial breakfast but we give every lodging customer a discount card for up to 35% off menu items at the restaurant for any meal, breakfast lunch and dinner. Also 15%... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room is clean and functional. A good place to stay when visiting your Sewanee college kids if the Sewanee Inn is booked as you are only in the room to sleep and shower. It is very convenient for transfer to the airport as the Groome Airport Shuttle picks up and drops off... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SLSMDJD
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. Hope to see you on all the special occasions going on at Sewanee, The University of the South. More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We looked forward to a great time after I made a reservation for a cabin(#437) at The Smokehouse in Monteagle, TN. The advertisements indicated "Rustic" but they should have said "Run-down". The cabin was relatively new in construction, but already looked and felt the wear and tear of use! The screen door was missing on the "screened in" porch, the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ports707
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. When credit cards are given for payment, funds for payment for those services are only verified to be there once the transaction is complete, it is not charged prior to your arrival; so asking for it again at your check in is the normal proceedure, we have to electronically swipe the card upon... More 

Wood River, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

made reservations on line. did not have a complimentary breakfast, they had a restaurant on premises, that you got 10% off. we went there for dinner, and discovered after eating a buffet (that was over priced) that there was cats walking around by the food, etc. How gross is that. Bathroom door in our room was off the hinge and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Larry S
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for our review and comments. So sorry for your less than desireable stay. We are still finishing up with the last few details of the room up grades, and all the curtains have not been installed yet. We don't advertise that all rooms have microwave & frig, only certain rooms have these items. The buffet is in plain... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 W Main St, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356-7027 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay