We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Marina & Resort

Save
Share
2040 Sunset Dock Rd, Monroe, TN 38573-4104
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sunset Marina & Resort is Dale Hollow Lake's most convenient Resort. Sunset Marina provides access to the nation's cleanest and most pristine lake with over 620 miles of shoreline and unlimited water sports activities. In addition to Sunset Marina's large retail store and restaurant, rentals available at the marina include; cabins, chalets, houseboats, pontoon boats, ski-boats, fishing boats, kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boats, canoes, and all types of water sports equipment such as skis, tubes, and wake boards. With over 30,000 acres of surface area, Dale Hollow Lake is virtually a water lover's paradise. Located only 8 miles south of the Kentucky - Tennessee State Line in Byrdstown, TN directly on Tennessee Highway 111, Sunset Marina is the gateway for boaters of all ages. With close to 500 rental slips, boaters can choose to keep their boat on Dale Hollow Lake overnight, weekly or even year round. Contact Sunset Marina today to book your family vacation aboard a luxury houseboat or a lakeside chalet.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
46Reviews3Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 13
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
patty h wrote a review Sep 2020
Nashville, Tennessee4 contributions10 helpful votes
Went rented a 50 ft houseboat 4 a week. First the boat had not even been wiped down there were rings still on the table. the floor was also nasty. i swept up a minnow from floor and we didn't bring minnows. Our instructor told us the refrigerator worked all the time on DC . I mistakenly took his word 4 it, and I put food inside. we had to wait on the instructor which put us behind trying to find a place to tie before dark. We got tied and started the generator then the A/C which promptly timed out. This ordeal took us one hour and 38 min to get it to work. They didn't answer ship to shore, no cell except the middle of the lake. So when we turned off the generator& we had 1 or 2 lights that worked, because of the blown fuses. They say bring a flashlight and whatever you do bring 2 and a battery pack 4all your phones, because all the plugs A/C AND D/C are just worn out, the things would hold your cord. also the radio wouldn't work except inside, and the faceplate was all worn off. Next day we called and here comes the maintenance boat. (he made 5 total trips during our stay) I had not heard the blower come on so I ask him to check and it was burn up too. I insisted that get fixed to avoid blowing up the boat. We also discovered that the anchor light (ITS THE LAW) was broken, He said the light had water in it which they never fixed. The inverter was tripped, when we left the dock, nothing was charging and all the food was spoiled. The small windows latches were broken, the battery's for the tv remote were also dead. The inverter tripped again mid week at midnight and on top of this no one apologized and said all the problems were because we didn't run the generator 6 hours a day which we tried but it shut down too. The boat has radial tires as bumpers with metal wearing through, Can we say dangerous , also the slide was broken at the end . Just sayin beware
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunset Marina, Owner at Sunset Marina & Resort
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, and we sincerely apologize for the negative items you mention in your review. The floor being dirty; the blower being inoperable; the broken anchor light; the dead batteries in the remote; all of these items are unacceptable and are certainly not typical of our guests’ experiences, as one can easily see from the reviews on this site and other public sites. However, Sunset Marina Management will take issue with all of your statements involving the electricity onboard your boat. ALL of our experienced instructors know very well that the electrical components on the boat do NOT work on DC power unless you run the generator a minimum of 6 hours per day and this was instructed to your party during the check-in procedures. However, for the entire week you were aboard this boat, you only used 12 gallons of fuel in the generator, which equates to only 12 hours of total run time for seven days. Had you operated the generator for 6 hours per day, all of your electrical appliances, including the outlets, would have operated perfectly fine, as they have done for all the previous renters aboard this boat, as well as the current renters that are aboard this boat now, after your stay. Six hours per day for a 7 night stay would equate to a minimum of 42 hours of generator time and approximately 42 gallons of fuel used in the generator, and you only used 12 gallon. The boat you were aboard has been rented by 24 different families before you since May 1st, and currently one family after your visit, with no negative experience concerning the electricity. Therefore, Sunset Marina will apologize and take blame for the items mentioned in the beginning of this response. However, we will not apologize for the “operator error” on your part by not following the instructions to keep your batteries charged up by operating the generator a minimum of 6 hours per day. The male onboard your boat acknowledged multiple times to our service staff of having way too many beers to drink as the multiple service runs were primarily due to him turning off all the DC breakers in the boat, so he could limit battery use and conserve power for all the fans he was using to prevent running the generator. We realize you may have not wanted to pay for the generator fuel for the week, but at least if you had ran the generator, you would have not experienced the negative circumstances that resulted from keeping the generator off. We are thankful the vast majority of our guests choose to operate the generator properly and experience a great time aboard our rental fleet. No one has experienced trouble with the generator aboard this boat, or the DC power, when they operated the boat per instructions. Again, our apologies for the items that were within our control. Thank You !
Read more
gawildcats wrote a review May 2020
Cumming, Georgia411 contributions111 helpful votes
We rented a one-bedroom cabin, which was part of a duplex. It was quaint, with a basic kitchen. Kitchen included two pots and two skillets, along with dishes. The wireless for this cabin was located in the adjoining cabin, so if they mess with it, you get no WiFi. The floors needed a good cleaning, but everything else was clean and comfortable. The bedrooms for both cabins share a very thin wall. We could clearly hear the conversations of our neighbors at all times. The area itself was very noisy. We were in #8, which was literally inches from the main drive to and from one of the boat ramps. The highway bridge that went over the marina provided constant noise day and night from big trucks using their jake brakes and blasting their horns. We received a surprise at 7 am one morning when a houseboat was trucked in with a lot of "fanfare".
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Mike wrote a review Sep 2019
Nashville, Tennessee233 contributions41 helpful votes
The marina and store were very nice, though be aware that beer and food in the store are pricey. The Restaurant was only open Thursday to Sunday but the food was absolutely fantastic. We had fried catfish, BBQ chicken, BBQ pork, and macaroni and cheese as well as salads. We rented two covered boat slips with electric available and other than the tie downs need repositioned to keep the bow from being against the dock the slips A74 and A75 were very nice. Fuel prices $3.90 are high so fill up your boat at one of the nearby gas stations for $2.70 per gallon non ethanol.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SunsetMarina49, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Marina & Resort
Responded Dec 6, 2019
Thank you for the 5 star review! We will pass your comments along to management. Hope you come back soon!
Read more
Max S wrote a review Aug 2019
Evansville,In79 contributions29 helpful votes
We have eaten there several times and found everything we ordered good. Like the nachos. Have better selection than other places on lake. Make for nice boat ride on day if not tons of boat traffic. Ice cream pricey but all else seems reasonable
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SunsetMarina49, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Marina & Resort
Responded Aug 20, 2019
Thank you for the 5 star review! We love hearing from our customers.
Read more
VJBIPL wrote a review May 2019
Indianapolis, Indiana33 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice place, wish they had entertainment on weekends like Willow Grove and Sulfur Creek. Not much to do and the end of the day. Nothing close, so it would be nice to have entertainment at least on the weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from SunsetMarina49, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Marina & Resort
Responded Jul 11, 2019
Thank you for the nice review! I will pass your comments along to management.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeMonroe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Marina & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Marina & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cordell Hull Birthplace State Park and Museum (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Marina & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Marina & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset Marina & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Marina & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dixie Cafe, Subway, and Dairy Queen Grill & Chill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Marina & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sunset Marina & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.