We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Steyne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Steyne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Monday night half price meals are an extremely popular night and of course one must expect a wait on food. After being the first to order from my group we sat down and awaited a minimum 45min for our meals. As my friends buzzers went off I was sure my food wouldn't be too far away as I ordered before... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelmac4
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

If you visit Manly then a refreshing ale in this hotel has to be on your "must visit" list. Location overlooks the ocean at the end of a buzzy corso. Good quick service and reasonable prices. Enjoyed steak for dinner s couple of nights and perfectly cooked.

Helpful?
Thank Roger P
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Yes it was cheap, but one of the best beds and pillows I have found that gave us a really good nights sleep to awake looking out over Manly beach. A small balcony off the room afforded comfortable seats and a coffee table which we had used the night before to eat our late night dinner after arriving just before... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamP60
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

In the Heart of Manly, this structure has different ways to entertain you: - Pub - Live gigs - Table tennis - Open air - Live sport screening A good selection of beers and alcohol beverages. Nice people inside!

Helpful?
Thank Alessandro C
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Steyne, responded to this review

Hi Alessandro, Thanks for the review, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the Hotel Steyne. We look forward to seeing you again soon The Hotel Steyne Team! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
448 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

If in Sydney take the ferry from Circular Quay to Manly and have lunch or a beer at the Steyne. An enjoyable level walk from the ferry terminal through the plaza to the beach and you're there. Always a good atmosphere in any one of the bars or in the bistro dining area with views. We've been several times and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Steyne, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to The Hotel Steyne, there really isn't anything better than having a cold beer while watching the waves roll in on Manly Beach. We hope to see you again soon. The Hotel Steyne Team More 

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

Doormen working outside the Steyne refused to let me in. I had two beers before my arrival. The guys working the door are rude and when I asked them to explain why I wasn't allowed in the said the would call the police. Never been treated like such a criminal at a bat. I hope these men realize what they... More 

Helpful?
Thank ryan g
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Steyne, responded to this review

Hi Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit to The Hotel Steyne. Your review has been passed on to our General Manager for further investigation into the incident, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The incident will be investigated and dealt... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manly hotels

Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

I am so glad I didn't let any negative reviews of this place deter me. Honestly, it holds a prime location, with rooms that are exactly what You should expect above a Pub (ear plugs were useful!) the staff delightful & attentive and a view that makes up for anything lacking or worn. In my view it epitomized what I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MollieMelbourne
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Steyne, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Mollie, we are so please you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

The positive --Great location But Only book this hotel if you like cockroaches on your pillows or on the dirty floor , or like a smelly stale dated room just foul !! Plus No aircon - This hotel family room is a disgrace , the worst hotel room I have ever seen , been in, we lasted 5 mins before... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pernilledalgas
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Steyne, responded to this review

Hi, We are so happy you were able to appreciate the fantastic location spot The Hotel Steyne is, right on top of the Iconic Manly Beach. We are very upset you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we do apologise you believe the standard of cleanliness wasn't up to scratch. I will passing these message straight to our GM who... More 

Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

We stayed there recently as most accommodation in the city was booked out and we missed our flight connection home because of a plane malfunction.I lived in the Manly area 50 years ago and remember the Steyne fondly.Well now I remember it for a different reason.We had a deluxe room welllllllllll it overlooked the Kebab shop that does not close... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Steyne, responded to this review

Hi Liz, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with the constructive feedback. The Steyne Hotel has to be one of Manly's most iconic buildings trading for over 100 years, located right in the heart of manly you can understand that we are surround by all businesses, pubs, bars, shops, restaurants which are... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile

After spending 6 weeks living in a campervan, me and my boyfriend thought we would treat ourselves to a stay in a hotel room. The campervan was nicer. On arrival (we arrived at 7pm), the pub downstairs was going off, which we weren't too bothered about as we knew it was going to be loud. We couldn't find any staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sfount1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Manly Beach
0.7 mi away
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manly Surfside Apartments
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simple pub accommodation in a simple, seaside pub. Prime location on the corner of the Corso & Manly Beach - Family Rooms / Deluxe Rooms / Pub Rooms / Budget Rooms. Ensuites & Shared Bathrooms + Tea & Coffee Facilities + Corso & Ocean Views + Balconies available. Please keep in mind when booking accommomodation that Hotel Steyne is a busy venue, with live music every Thursday to Sunday & late hours of trade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Steyne

Address: 75 The Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Price Range: $51 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Steyne 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Steyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay