We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Outback Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Outback Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Very rude management. Asked 3 times to have TV fixed. Was ignored. They even had audacity to say problem was fixed. Arrogant and money hungry establishment with terrible service. DO NOT GO HERE!! As a well travelled air hostie who has stayed in accommodation worldwide, this would rank in my bottom 3 (out of 200)

Helpful?
Thank Troy A
shezManager, General Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Troy A We appreciate your review, however, as the manager for The Outback Lodge, I have been investigating this matter and unable to find any booking for you under your name nor any comment by any of our staff in our maintenance/ housekeeping registers. For us to be able to address this matter, it would be appreciated if you... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Was excited to spend 4 nights at this beautiful 100 +year old property, its beautifully restored, lots of lovely features the apartment we were in had a lovely marble fire place with original tiles dating back to early 1900's the kitchen was modern as was the bathroom, everything comfortable, well maintained and presented. "Missy" our 4 legged dog was most... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahhampss
Jarrod G, Reception Supervisor at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are pleased yourselves and Missy had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you when you are next visiting The Outback Lodge. Kind regards Leesa Reception Supervisor More 

Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Yes it sure was wild and windy tried to do some site seeing but decided to stay inside our 1 bedroom apartment and watch movies - it was warm, well equipped with kitchen and hot shower. It s close to beach, easy to get into the city by ferry - our journey was rough a few times which made for... More 

Helpful?
Thank williamthorn58
Jarrod G, Reception at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay. The weather sure was wild. We look forward to welcoming you again if you are ever in Manly. Kind Regards Leesa Reception Supervisor More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Had a lovely stay here. Self contained studio was clean and comfortable. Very close to beach, shops and markets. Nice and quiet at night. Very helpful staff with our late checkin requirements. Unusual entrance to unit but easy access. Highly recommend for budget travellers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shazazzle
Jarrod G, Reception at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you had a great stay with us at The Outback Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you in the future if you happen to be in Manly Leesa Reception Supervisor More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

The location is great, and the room was comfortable. Just like Fawlty Towers. The Manager was completely out of her depth in dealing with my workmates and I when we checked in. Despite paying when booking, and having the printed confirmations, one of my workmates was told that there was no booking for her, and she would have to pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank 569MikeM

Travelers are raving about these Manly hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

10 mins walk from the manly ferry Nice and quiet at night and so close to all that Manly offers. There is a shared bathroom but that is no problem at all. Had a great stay and will be back if I'm ever in Manly again.

Helpful?
Thank Pete M
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Appreciate the review and yes we hope to welcome you back again at The Outback Lodge Manly More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at the lodge! Check in was easy and staff were very friendly! We stayed in a bedsit on the 1st floor with a nice view of the gardens. The room was modern and very clean and cool. The bathroom was just opposite our room, and again was clean and well maintained. I slept so well! Was... More 

Helpful?
Thank misstravels222
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again at The Outback Lodge Manly More 

Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were very pleased with our brief stay at the Outback Lodge in Manly. I was greeted with a smile by the lovely Heidi and shown to a nice room that was spacious and clean. The Outback Lodge is a comfortable walking distance to Manly beach, wharf and shopping centre, about 10 to 15 mins. Be mindful... More 

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and praise for Heidi, its appreciated. Most of our self contained apartments with ensuites and mini kitchens do have shampoo, conditioner and hairdryers but always best to check if booking into a private bedsit. We do apologise for this as reception have all of these items for you. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

We are just about ready to leave after a 5 week stay here to visit family and friends in Manly. Such lovely accommodation and a great location. Two short blocks from Manly's amazing beach and main shopping Corso area. A bit further to the wharf for ferry to the city. must recommend the local Chinese 'Just Eat' restaurant round the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon. More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

Stayed in room 5007 (Pet friendly studio apartment with a/c). Room was at the back of the lodge. You had to walk down the side of another building past bins and an air conditioning unit. The room was not the cleanest, towels were stained and the bed cover had dirty marks on it. Lodge is located a 4minute walk from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy21795
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, yes there are 3 ways to enter the rear apartments however the walkway you refer to is staff access only this is where all bins are stored as well as the air conditioning units - sometimes guests see the gate open and enter from this walkway. We don't know why the towels or doona cover... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
1.1 mi away
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manly Surfside Apartments
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Outback Lodge offers a selection of studio, 1-2 bedroom apartments all with modern ensuite bathrooms and mini kitchens. Also selection of bedsits with mini kitchens and shared bathroom. The lovely "Cottage" is a 1 bedroom cottage house will full kitchen, lounge/dining area, polished timber floors and is most suitable for those wanting something quite special. Short or long stays available, close to beach and transport. We cater for families, mature persons, groups, singles, couples wanting more than back packer style accomodation at an affordable price. Free unlimited Wifi use on the common area, laundry facilities with coin operated washer/dryer and tea/coffee in each apartment. Travelling with your PET then contact us direct as some apartments are pet friendly, additional charges apply and is at discretion of the manager. A number of our apartments are now air conditioned. We can also offer backpacker/student/share accommodation in our newly acquired 2 bedroom apartment on Pittwater Rd. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Outback Lodge

Address: 5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Price Range: $53 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Outback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay