We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Save
Share
1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
$176
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (898)
Room & Suite (163)
Dining (77)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 03/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Updated 03/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 12 hotels in Manly
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Snorkeling
Walking tours
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
1457Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 511
  • 567
  • 233
  • 93
  • 53
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KKate1 wrote a review Sep 12
Sydney, Australia21 contributions137 helpful votes
Stayed at Q station for two nights for it’s convenient location to a concert we attended at the Manly Barracks but it just didn’t work for us. Accommodation is quite basic, poor lighting, very basic (cheap) furnishings and fittings and limited facilities; kettle, cups etc, with four or so rooms to a building sharing a common veranda which meant guests were walking past your window and doors at any time day or night, or chatting on the veranda ’til all hours, and cars and shuttle busses were going by on the road constantly. It was not peaceful. There is no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan or wall heater, which meant if you wanted ventilation you needed the (tiny) window open (more noise and mosquitoes), or your French doors (no security). The accommodation buildings are scattered over a huge area, so you either waited 15-20 minutes for a shuttle bus or else hiked it up and down steep hills over roads/tracks in questionable condition. You were not able to take your car to your room. The housekeeping declined to make our bed after the first night although did provide fresh towels. The Boilerhouse Restaurant on site was very good. There was a basic buffet breakfast for $20 per person, however it could have been replenished more attentively. I found the tables in the breakfast room uncomfortably jammed together in this age of Covid distancing. I don’t believe it was good value for the rate we paid, and wouldn’t consider a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear KKate1, First of all: Thank you for staying with us and for providing your detailed feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations and that you don't believe to have received good value. It's true that being located within 33 hectares of (protected) national park land comes with its disadvantages (such as not being able to allow cars on site), however most of our guests appreciate that we are a bit different and that there is so much open space, amazing Sydney Harbour views and wildlife to be seen. In fact, due to accommodation buildings being spread out, there is more privacy than in most hotels. We sincerely apologise for your disappointment. Glad to hear that you loved your meal at Boilerhouse Kitchen. We will certainly forward your comments to the relevant managers for follow up. Thanks again for your visit and best wishes from North Head Manly, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandy R wrote a review Sep 3
Brisbane, Australia32 contributions8 helpful votes
The acocmmodation was wonderful. Beautiful location. The room was well appointed. Everything we needed for a basic stay. The only issue was with the wedding which was held across from us, less than 20 feet away. The noise from the festivities was not a problem. We were told that the music would end at 10.30pm & we were OK with that. Basically, it was all over bar the shouting by 11pm. However, then the cleaners moved in & their racket went till well past midnight. Very disappointing when you are trying to sleep. Clean up (especialy the movement/re-placement of furniture) should have been left until the morning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mandy, Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that you loved Q Station - aren't we lucky with the location and the views? Really sorry for the noise and that you weren't able to sleep because of it. This feedback will certainly be communicated to the Operations team. Please do accept our sincere apologies. We hope that, nevertheless, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here at Q Station, Sydney Harbour National Park. Best wishes and thanks again, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julieadrianroberts26 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Booked this stay for my bday, room was basic no view, didn't receive our welcome letter & drinks until 12am under door when we arrived home from Boiler house that night, weren't able to use free drink voucher. Ordered medium steak at Boiler house, came back well done, staff were great at boiler house & replaced it straight away. No Bday dessert candle or anything. Room was very cold with open fire nothing blocking cold air coming in & spider webs behind tables. Neighboring room kept partying until after 1am. Was disappointing
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear julieadrianroberts26, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't quite enjoy your experience as you should have and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your disappointment. We have forwarded your comments to the management team to be used for improvement. Thanks again for staying at Q Station. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lfcairn wrote a review Jun 2022
Cairns14 contributions11 helpful votes
This was a special treat for a family birthday. We booked the terrace room and restaurant for the night The terrace room has 2 bedrooms and was very spacious. The views are amazing all around Q station and it's great for walks. We were called a few hours before dinner and asked to come early(around 5.30pm ). We were told we must be out by 7.25 pm. This was inconvenient and the caller from the restaurant was unapologetic. He said they had a conference. We actually were rushed out at 7.10pm again the manager seemed unapologetic. We were lucky to stay away from the crowds as other guests had conference participants vomiting outside their rooms and lost party goers banging on doors at 3am.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear lfcairn, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review here on Tripadvisor. So happy to hear that you got to enjoy the walks and the views - we are quite a unique hotel being located within National Park land. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that happened at dinner. Indeed, not a pleasant experience. This will certainly be communicated to our restaurant manager. In June we were indeed short staffed but have now employed and trained a few brilliant staff members. Again, we are very sorry for this incident and hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back here at Q Station. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah C wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia3760 contributions157 helpful votes
+1
A lovely heritage hotel at north head manly. It was an old quarrantine site in Australia’s early history. You need to park at the reception and a 24 hour van drops you and your things to your room. It was easily on hand. The site is lovely and we like the old world charm. Good to explore. They also do ghost tours. Staff running the buses, restaurant and party venue were all great. Only a few issues; the check in process was very timely. I’m not sure why, but it took about an hour to check in and a very long queue. (Both for ourselves and our family who checked in at different times) - we had called earlier in the week and had asked to use our stay voucher. They said no problem. But when we arrived, they’d already charged us so couldn’t use it. Luckily I suggested using it on the breakfast so did that. - nice rooms, though quite expensive I think
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Need to be quite able and fit to walk around
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear thewhereto, Thank you very much for staying at Q Station and for providing your feedback. Lovely to hear that you loved the service, tours and our old world charm. Please do accept our sincere apologies about the waiting time at check-in. This does rarely happen when we have a lot of check-ins, but please rest assured it certainly isn't the norm. We are also glad to hear that a solution could be found for you to use your voucher. Thanks again for staying at Q Station, Manly Harbour National Park. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zimbo-oz wrote a review May 2022
Joburg66 contributions32 helpful votes
Q Station is a lovely spot with lovely views. For us it didn’t quite hit the spot as a place to stay. The rooms are expensive but very basic. Not even a power point next to the bed. Not even any normal tea bags, just chamomile. The only place for a coffee is the $30 per head buffet which we don’t want or walk down 200 steps to cafe which would be fine if it wasn’t raining! Given the distances to anything, a coffee in the room would be a nice touch (even a plunger would do). Or let me get a coffee without paying for the buffet !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded May 22, 2022
Dear Jimbo-oz, Thank you very much for staying at Q Station and for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the stunning views, we are certainly spoiled in terms of location. Very sorry to hear that you weren't totally satisfied with our services and we will certainly communicate your suggestions in regards to tea and coffee to the team. It was unfortunate that it was raining during your stay because our Wharf Cafe is quite an experience in itself, being located right at Quarantine Beach and housing our free quarantine museum. Thanks again for your feedback and best wishes from North Head Manly, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise W wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
At the time of booking I was lead to believe I could park "on-site next to my accommodation" this in-fact is a dirt dusty public carpark outside the Q Station, you can walk your bags for about 10/15min down a dark winding road or wait for a shuttle bus. Staff and VIPs etc park on site. The room had toiletries for one not two. The Wharf cafe "the menu is not accurate" it might be an idea to tell us before we decide what to order, there is a huge menu on display, the only available options are limited pre-made bakery items in a display case which are microwaved. The ghost tour: the 'smell' in the shower block is the smell from the septic being blown by the wind, the divining rods in the hospital seem to work over the plumbing, the ghost voice translator in the grave-diggers house appear to be modern voices with no accent in-between tuning a radio. Interesting observing if you are a sceptic and the guides don't appear to like being questioned by sceptics.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ensure you have a clear understanding what "parking onsite means' it doesn't mean...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded May 22, 2022
Dear K994PZlouisew, Thank you for staying at Q Station and for joining one of our ghost tours. We are really sorry to hear that you didn't appreciate the car park situation. It is true that being located on national park land with endangered species on site comes with its advantages and challenges. We do send out the information about the car parking situation a few days in advance. The staff is not allowed to park on site, there is a separate car park for staff but walking is still required. We will certainly communicate the feedback about the ghost tours to our tours team and we are sorry that you didn't quite enjoy the ghost tours, it certainly is a controversial topic. Thank you again for your comments and best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Global364717 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The opportunity to stay in a location that has the history, magnificent view and the opportunity to dine in a restaurant where the food was first class was an experience not to forget. Being also close to Manly and the atmosphere of the beach and dining precinct was a bonus. The walk around North heads is a must do. If you ever thought about staying at the location put it on your bucket list but keep your mind open to the adventure it is different from the norm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded May 22, 2022
Dear Global364717, Thank you very much for staying at Q Station and for dining at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar. We are delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed our location and the exclusive access to Quarantine Beach. North Head is such an amazing place to visit and there is so much to do and see, we are certainly spoiled with our location and with the fact that we are surrounded by the magnificent Sydney harbour. Please do visit again and recommend us to your friends and family. Best wishes and thanks again, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne N wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney, Australia1902 contributions272 helpful votes
+1
Loved our staycation at the Q Station Hotel. We stayed in a Harbourview room. A bit quirky being wider than deep. Basic, with comfortable bed, kettle and mini fridge. Great views of the harbour and large balcony to take advantage of the views. We didn’t have breakfast at Q Station, preferring to go into Manly. You can wonder around the grounds exploring or just sit back relax and unwind. Very convenient shuttle buses available to transport you about the hilly grounds. Reception open until 10pm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend Q Station. Next time we would bring some food and drinks. Also be aware cars are parked up near reception. Thus the need for shuttle bus.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is not at your room, rather at a car park near reception. You travel with the grounds on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Executive, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear WayneN795, Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you had a great experience when staying with us. It's true that we aren't like any other hotel in Sydney, with our unique history and heritage aspect and being located within Sydney Harbour National Park, and not to forget the stunning harbour views surrounding us. Thanks for sharing recommendations with our future guests. We hope we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back here at Q Station. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darren T wrote a review Mar 2022
Warrnambool, Australia19 contributions25 helpful votes
Although we were very happy with the accommodation, customer service left a lot to be desired.We thoroughly enjoyed the ghost tour and history tour and the surroundings .However staff at check in at times were rude and uncaring . We were told there was no hope of us being able to get any dinners on the nights we stayed and were told we could get uber eats ! We were told we should have booked ! How were we supposed to know ?? Speaking to another guest the next morning he was able to just walk up and get a table! Had to ask for a taxi number which was given but no offer to ring for us . Breakfast was very ordinary and the serving utensils were dirty, after getting my breakfast i realised even my plate had not properly been cleaned ! It seemed to us that paying guests were treated as second class compared to the conference guests ! A truly unique property sadly being let down by poor staff !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Coordinator, Marketing at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Responded Mar 27, 2022
Dear Darren, Thank you for staying at Q Station and for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for feeling treated in a rude way. We are in the process of recruiting and training a few new team members but the current hospitality staff crisis does put a strain on our operations team, especially on weekends it can get a little hectic at times. Of course, our guests should never feel treated rudely, nevertheless. We have hired a few amazing team members and we are confident that within a short period of time, we will be able to operate like in pre-Covid days. We always send out pre stay emails where we give details in regards to restaurants and services at Q Station and links to book a table at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar. We are very sorry that our restaurant was booked out during your stay. Your very valuable feedback has been communicated to our Front Office and breakfast team to be used for improvement. Thank you for this and we do hope we will be able to welcome you in the future to prove to you that we can do better. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tours and our location within Sydney Harbour National Park. Thank you again and best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Exeutive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
q station hotel manly
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater SydneyManlyManly
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cremorne Point to Mosman Bay Walk (3.9 miles), Manly Scenic Walkway (1.1 miles), and Hayden Orpheum Picture Palace (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Afous, and Fika Swedish Kitchen.
Does Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Vaucluse House (2.9 miles), Q Station Manly (0.6 miles), and The Corso (1.2 miles).
Does Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.