We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here at central location on M4 to travel around the whole area of Cardiff for our holidays. Petrol station, shops and eating facilities under same roof. Very convenient. Lots of car parking. Very comfortable and friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Wanda192
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a last minute decision to stay in this Travelodge, but within close proximity to the M4 was our reason, and being just outside Cardiff. Our rooms were not what we expected from Travelodge. Even though our rooms were clean, we did not expect to be kept awake all night by continuous traffic noise, our rooms were along side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jet852
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pontyclun hotels

Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Communal areas need TLC. Staff friendly and room clean but basic as you would expect at a Travelodge, however a Sunderland Travelodge we stayed at was far ahead of this Cardiff one. Bottom line its a motorway service station and rest area and at @£70 per night you get what you pay for.

Helpful?
Thank Boiywlad
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a disabled person who uses a crutch but was put in a room on the 1st floor farthest away from the entrance - no lift so had to use stairs. We booked in late Sunday night via the website, after seeing there were vacancies showing online and my eldest son having gone to reception whilst the rest of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryBrowning
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A pleasant hotel that offers good value and a large family room. Good facilities although no restaurant or bar, however as it was located at services there was a Costa, burger king and Greggs on site and ib producing the room key , you are entitled to 20% discount at burger king and Costa. We were made aware of this... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank estherf388
Neyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No staff ever on reception, had to "find" them, one time when pressing had a rude woman shout GIVE ME A MINUTE!!!! Not impressed. Bathroom was gross with lots of hair down the plug hole. Not even a days it looked like a months worth!!!! Training of staff required urgently!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alex K
TravelodgeUK, Adele from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to our Cardiff M4 Travelodge Hotel. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors with your review via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly.... More 

Carterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel because of it's convenient location to the M4.....I wish we'd paid more and gone for a Holiday Inn! This hotel is outdated, cramped, the corridors are smelly and in serious need of refurbishment. Our room was clean and functional which we could have tolerated for one night but we hardly slept a wink due to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teddybug84
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was spoiled by the lack of airconditioning and the noise you experienced from outside our hotel. We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and any external noise, and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good... More 

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I like this hotel for the convenience it offers to the close transport links it couldn't be much easier to get around, the staff are always helpful and have a cheerful attitude, only issue is that being in a service area facilities are limited but plan ahead and it's straightforward, plenty of takeaways close by and supermarkets so if on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rangeyman
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Travel Lodge needs a complete upgrade. We could not find the entrance to the hotel for ages as you have to go through the doors of the food hall to find the entrance. There were no signs. The staff were polite but very narrow corridors in hotel and the bathroom looked very basic and needs upgrading as well. When... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank collins370
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Good location for getting into Cardiff (15 minute drive). The staff were helpful and even called me after check out to say they had found something of mine I had left behind, so very efficient. Overall, a good stay.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kent87
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

We're so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are so pleased to hear this has been achieved. We can assure you we will be passing on your kind words to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff Caerdydd
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
2.3 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Pontyclun Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay