We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wynnstay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wynnstay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is old but full of character, the bedroom could do with updating but that said they are clean with a huge comfy bed. Towels and toiletries were provided. The food was amazing really good quality produce cooked to perfection. The staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. They are dog friendly and allow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 23rd - 25th September at this hotel using a Travelzoo offer. Our overall experience was very good. The hotel is in the middle of Machynlleth and it has a large car park at the rear of the hotel. The hotel staff were all very welcoming and friendly. We stayed on a bed breakfast and one evening meal basis.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I must try and find which room you were in to fix the headboard. We hope to see you again soon. Charles More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel room and hotel in general is a bit tired as you do feel it hasn't been updated for 25 years, but the atmosphere from the staff is lovely, as they are very warm and friendly. The food was superb, both the evening meal and breakfast, and I will mention one if the staff, Rhiain, was superb. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I shall pass them on to Rhian. We only completed the purchase of The Wynnstay in mid June this year and have embarked on a programme of cleaning, up-grading and re-decorating. We are concentrating on the most urgent and important areas and only when we have finished inside will we attack the exterior,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The food in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast the following morning, also the service for both meals was good. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Wynnstay for food. The accommodation is another matter and in particular you should avoid room 20. The room was in need of refurbishment but seemed to be clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jadatiger
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We could not offer you another room as we were fully booked all weekend. I take your point about the smoking. We only completed the purchase in Mid June and are hastening to sort out all the faults caused by neglect over many years Sadly we cannot... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were lovely, large and comfortable. We could lock the bikes up in the garage safe and secure. The lounge bar was old, quaint and relaxing. Then into the restaurant and the food for dinner was superb, and the breakfast very posh. This was quite a find.

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are working hard to make the Wynnstay as cosy as possible. The new Cwtch with a new log stove is coming along. The big fire in the main room will be lit on Wednesday. Bikers (cycles and motorbikes) are always welcome. More 

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a special offer but have decided we will definitely return, offer or not. My husband had read earlier reviews and therefore asked for a quiet room, which meant we were in the extension at the rear, so less character but quieter. Our room was a good use of space with a great corner wardrobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToadsMum
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. I will pass your comments about the toilet paper to housekeeping. On the food side, I must admit that we have been a little caught out with being so very busy - busier than we had expected. Having taken over this place from it being closed, it is difficult to plan. We always try... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal last night. I had peppered duck and my wife had lamb. Both meals cooked to perfection with nicely cooked veg. We hate it when carrots,broccoli and cauliflower are left too hard,or coked to a mush. These were perfect. My wife had a huge bowl of mussels for her starter and I had a delicious soup.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith and Jean J
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this. I hope the next dinner was as good. Sorry for this late reply but we have just been so busy this is my first chance to check out Trip Advisor for a while More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night to break my journey home. My single room was sadly in need of a makeover however I now realise this is work in progress. ( BUT cobwebs are easily removed ! ) The bathroom was a good size and well lit ( poor lighting is my usual gripe ) although again in need of updating,... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniem2144
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks. I am not sure we shall ever completely finish up-grading The Wynnstay. It is a rather old building in constant need of attention but we try to keep on top of it. We are sorting the cooling fans so they do not run at night and looking to deaden the sound at all times. Do... More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

visited here out of the blue really, a whim on a travelzoo promotion. WOW what a find, bang in the town centre, good parking at the rear, market day in the town on Wednesday's since 1291 or summat ! Built 1780 as a Gentleman's residence, really good and comfortable accommodation and facilities, but expect sloping floors and creaking floorboards and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MGLB_11
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. No, no lift, the cost is simply beyond our means and we cannot even see where to install one. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here last week with a cousin visiting from Brooklyn. We found it very comfortable, clean and charming, but the restaurant is the best thing! Brilliant food and wine - the owner had spent some years living in Italy, reflected in the menu and wines. Chef in Pizzeria is Italian, which explains fine pizza. I'd go there just for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
1.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ynyshir Hall
Ynyshir Hall
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
11.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
10.3 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#4 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely old Town House hotel, rebuilt in 1780 for the Williams- Wynne family, then a coaching inn known originally as The Unicorn (Our full name is officially : The Wynnstay, Herbert Arms and Unicorn Hotel!!) We have been welcoming travellers for centuries, and would love to add you to that growing list, so book now to avoid disappointment!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel

Address: Heol Maengwyn, Machynlleth SY20 8AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Price Range: $52 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Machynlleth, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing