We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Traveler (1058)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (401)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1,886Reviews
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 956
  • 578
  • 207
  • 97
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is amazing. Lovely room with a balcony and meals were fab. Staff at hotel were amazing, especially the lady ( older lady) who chatted to us about the menu.... can’t wait to return... Only negative was cream tea, which I feel was poor. Still love this hotel and staff...
Read more
Response from jthomas_lakevyrnwy, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your feedback. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your lovely comments regarding the staff. I have also passed on your feedback about your cream tea, I apologise that this did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Lake Vyrnwy soon. Kind Regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Room nice, clean and tidy. Ate in brasserie, food was nice but they had run out of a lot of dishes. We had to question the bill as items were wrong. Staff pleasant and helpful. Bar lounge nice and relaxing.
Read more
Response from jthomas_lakevyrnwy, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your feedback. Although I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's excellent location and attention by the team, I am sorry to learn that your dining experience in the in the brasserie did not meet your expectations and for the confusion with your bill, for which I apologise. I hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us in the future. Warm Regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Came for an impromptu coffee last year loved the views and the feel of the place so it went on my wish list. This year hubby booked a three night stay in a room with amazing view over the lake staff were all very friendly and efficient service including housekeeping faultless. Excellent breakfast and all meals in both the brasserie and Restraunt were thoroughly enjoyed. This is going to be a place we will regularly visit thank you to all the lovely staff that made it special.view from our room stunning
Read more
Response from jthomas_lakevyrnwy, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your great review, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
We visited Lake Vyrnwy hotel beginning of June to celebrate my husband’s 70th birthday. When we arrived We were told that our room wouldn’t be ready for a couple of hours, and that checking in time is 4.00 o’clock. We decided that we would have a drink in the bar and then went to have a short walk. We returned and were allowed to go up .. quite a way to lug bags etc .we were put in room 31 on entering I felt that the room looked a bit shabby, even though it had a balcony with the Lake view ( best part about it ) . The room had a large bed.. but on inspection because the valance wasn’t in place properly , the base of the bed was all ragged as if a cat had been scratching at it. It also had a greasy head mark on the headboard Uch,, I then went to charge my mobile phone and noticed that there was dust on the skirting board, I ran a tissue along them and the amount of dust that came off was very off putting. I should have gone down to complain but my husband said “don’t bother only here for 2 nights. It was still playing on my mind ,, I had saved for this supposedly special surprise birthday treat.. and at £384.00 for 2 nights B&B I had expected to have had one of the rooms with a four poster bed and large bath.. My son had booked it for me and had requested this .. The 2 days including food cost me £585.00( ( thank God we didn’t order wine ... I dread to think how much it would have cost. The whole thing was a Rip off. During our stay the Spa was having maintenance work done on it, so there was limited opening hours there.. Because we didn’t check in until slightly after 4.00 pm the last entry to the spa on Sunday was at 5.00 pm.. we felt it would be a bit late then with getting ready for the evening meal. Again it didn’t open on Monday morning until twelve noon.. but missed to fit it in as we had gone out around the lake area. They charge residents £10.00 a head to go into the spa . We have sent an email to complain , had a reply ... but I’m afraid not to our satisfaction... sent another email.. didn’t get reply to that one. Would we go there again... NO.
Read more
Response from jthomas_lakevyrnwy, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I can only apologise again for the housekeeping errors you experienced in your room. With regards to your room not having a four poster bed, as mentioned previously in our correspondence, unfortunately we did not receive a request for this when your reservation was made online. I'm sorry you weren't able to make use of the spa facilities during your stay due to the maintenance, however our Spa team made sure to email all guests prior to arrival to inform them of the opening hours over these two days. I have re-sent my second email (sent on 13th June) to you this morning, confirming a partial refund made to the card you used on checkout, I'm not sure why this didn't reach you. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any further queries. Kind regards Jess Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Stayed here with some friends over a weekend. Hotel situated at the end of a lake. Very picturesque. Things to look at, wide variety of things to do. I however, needed just a few hours one morning to complete a video call and complete some work. (More on that later). So, the good things first... Hotel clean and comfortable. Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Staff knowledgeable and helpful. (Never easy smiling and dealing with the public all day long, but they carry it off well) Restaurant staff immaculate - both in service and efficiency. A big shout-out to the restaurant manager, she ran a tight ship very well indeed. The waiting staff were attentive without being too ‘in your face’ and the bar staff were friendly and helpful. However, the menu was lacklustre and unimaginative. If you were staying there for more than two or three days you’d soon be going off to try the other Bar/Restaurant. (Burgers and stuff like that). I understand they’re about to launch their “summer menu” - it can only get better. The major downside to the Hotel, however, is connecting to the 21st Century. There is no phone coverage. The internet speed is so slow as to be negligible and the TV pictures just seemed pixelate and freeze most of the time. The sight of many guests waking around in the car parks holding phones up above their heads to get a signal is not one I thought I’d see at a four star Hotel. (Car parking is free but spaces seemed to be limited - get there early) If you really truly want to get away from it all, then this is the place. If they can spruce up its connectivity and it’s food menu then this could be a really special place to stay.
Read more
Response from jthomas_lakevyrnwy, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially with regards to your room and the restaurant service! I have passed your comments on to our Restaurant Manager who will be very pleased to read this. I'm sorry to learn that the menu in the restaurant did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. I have discussed your feedback with our Head Chef who is currently working on our summer menu as you mention. With regards to the phone signal here, like the weather it's something that we have no influence on but we do have a mountain of correspondence with various providers who keep promising 4G coverage in our area 'in the next couple of months'.... so far this couple of months has lasted about 5 years so we shall wait and see. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Jess Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake vyrnwy hotel llanwddynlake vyrnwy hotel and spahotel lake vyrnwy
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesLlanwddyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing