We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,868 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,863: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our first time staying in a castle. We truly enjoyed it, food was amazing. I loved the room and the bathroom the free standing bath was awesome I fully enjoyed a long soak. Only thing I would complain about was the bed was so soft for me personally. We did pay to have breakfast in bed both mornings.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare301987
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed this week,don't think heating was working in hotel.Food very average both for dinner and breakfast.Did give feedback but not dealt with professionally.Was really looking forward to the stay but did not live up to expectations.The hotel did allow me to change my booking at no additional cost which was appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank ashleycope
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

What a castle with the most beautiful grounds iv seen yet. Peacocks was very entertaining following us around the grounds and cant forget the cat who was very intrested in the grounds. Are stay was peacefull and quite. Really can see the age in the building but to remember it is old. It is due a revamp as there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig J
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a great time staying at Ruthin Castle for their Medieval Banquet, booked the De-Grey Suite very French bedroom which had its own hallway and separate lounge room attached, think the roll-top bath next to the bed is for the benefit of the Wedding couples but glad there was a separate wet room en-suite. The Medieval Banquet was great fun,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russelloc
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The website looked amazing but in reality we had a really disappointing experience. Beautiful location and grounds, but the inside of the hotel is in dire need of a revamp. Our Castle room was dingy, unwelcoming and noisy due to a connecting door to a suite next door. Thermal suite has odd dark red lighting! Not the luxury stay we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fox261187
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently through Secret Escapes. Your feedback is appreciated and has been responded to directly, by email. More 

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a fabulous time at Ruthin Castle, when we arrived, there were peacocks wandering around, the grounds are beautiful.The Castle is literally in the town, which is really pretty. Our room was nice, traditional, with a very modern bathroom. We ate in Bertie's Restaurant which was lovely, my only criticism was we had looked at the menu beforehand which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey_937
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at Ruthin Castle. Apologies for the confusion with the menu online, they are for reference purposes only. I am delighted that as always, the staff go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon. We also know a very good... More 

France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were booked in for one night and had a lovely stay. Dogs were not allowed in the hotel and our sleeps in a crate in the car. We had a sheltered position for the car so that was good and it was easy to take her for walks on the lead...there are peacocks roaming freely so leads are a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet O
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following a recent stay. I have no doubt that your comments will give a potential guest considering Ruthin Castle a true reflection of what they can expect. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. I hope that your dog enjoyed his walks of the grounds... More 

Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited yesterday with a family group of 14. The castle hotel is stunning in a wonderful setting. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. We had a cream tea and prossecco in the library bar when we arrived which was ok, drinks a bit pricey. We then went for a walk into Ruthin and what an interesting place... More 

Helpful?
Thank sedgeWolverhampton
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following a recent family visit. It's unfortunate that there were some elements of your stay that you were disappointed with, the drinks are sold in line with pricing of other similar 4 star establishments. As a stand alone hotel, unfortunately, we do not have the buying power nor benefits of group purchasing (which include substantial... More 

Davenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife took me here for my birthday on a Sunday Chillout deal which was 1 night accommodation, 3 course meal in the restaurant, creme tea on arrival and breakfast! I have to say it was brilliant value. The food was fantastic, both the evening meal and the substantial breakfast. The main areas of the hotel are getting a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig John L
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback following a recent stay, we are delighted that you will be returning A.S.A.P and we look forward to welcoming you. More 

Wrexham
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited Ruthin Castle restaurant with my wife, son and his partner on Sunday lunch 27 November. The restaurant is so very romantic and well set out. I can't fault the service and the fid was very tasty. We all ordered roast beef which was cooked nicely but slightly tough but this comment is a bit picky considering. We drank... More 

Helpful?
Thank dwplucas
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,751 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1234)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (406)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (519)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (472)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Lillie Suite (68)
Viewed
Prince of Wales Deluxe Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Castle (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Rear (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
313 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,251 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,006 reviews
15.5 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.3 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: $127 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Stoke, United Kingdom
4 months ago
London
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Would recommend the De-Grey Suite in the turret at the end of the hotel corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles Russelloc, 4 days ago | Read review
“Our room was 111 and overlooking the countryside very quiet. Only 2 rooms past us so no noise in corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles 261janeto, 5 days ago | Read review
“no need, all rooms have a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles sofiesweden2015, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Dont be fobbed off with room 121! The rooms are smaller than a "Premier Inn" room!”
 of 5 bubbles tomm173, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“they have varied room prices”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay