We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 472: English reviews
wakefield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We received a warm welcome from Hazel and were shown up to w large room with a four poster bed which was very comfortable. The room was spacious and like the bed comfortable though the bathroom looked a little tired and like the room in need of a little tlc. However the room was very clean and met our needs... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jonboyWakefield
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have already reviewed Bishopsgate but felt compelled to write another review with regards to our recent visit. We went back for the fabulous steak and great homely atmosphere while visiting Angelsey. A family member unfortunately had a choking incident which concerned us all, Hazel and her team were amazing in helping with the situation and could not do enough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stokiegirlie
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I so hope your Mum recovered and is well, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a lovely hotel! Everything was exactly as expected and we were not disappointed by anything. You and your wonderful staff were attentive and extremely welcoming. We much enjoyed your outstanding menu; the meals were of excellent quality as was your wine list. Our room was lovely and comfortable and we loved the personal touches that were dotted around the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Herbie C
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review as I know you have not previously done one. Amy was delighted with the gift you left her, and for me is is lovely to see my staff recognised by the guests as I do believe they will bend over backwards to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am writing this as I sit in the most pleasant dining room eating amazing cuisine. Nothing seems to much trouble for the staff, infact when I checked in the pleasant lady made a point of saying it is a tiny hotel and not in our interest for anybody to be unhappy so please let us know if you need... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank myfanwy2000
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Chose hotel for family visiting because we had previously enjoyed celebration meals here. Also it's the only hotel in the town that has guaranteed parking space. Our family were very impressed with the warmth and hospitality of the hotel. The hotel is located in a great location in the town, with everything in walking distance. Having read previous disappointing reviews... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
Moniaive, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the staff were friendly and helpful, we were very disappointed by The Bishopsgate which seemed to offer so much. Our bedroom was tired, the bed small with lumpy pillows, the shower (with mould between the tiles) and loo were cramped in a cupboard space. The food, which sounded delicious on the menu, was also tired and my kipper at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel based on it's Tripadvisor rating. I booked two deluxe rooms. Room one where my husband and I stayed was certainly far from deluxe but we were only there the one night so no point complaining. Room nine where my parents stayed was much nicer and had sea views. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacblenners
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is very shabby, and also rather smelly and our bathroom had mould in it. The pillows on the beds were lumpy and my husband repeatedly bumped his head on the low ceilings. The patio area outside the dining room was dirty and full of rubbish. Even the reception area was chaotic and untidy. We couldn't wait to leave.

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am not entirely sure you are reviewing the right hotel as anybody knows we do not have a patio area anywhere near the hotel. We are a Georgian terraced property with no outside area other than the car park. More 

Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were excellent, we had a friendly welcome and good service for breakfast the next morning. The hotel is ideally located for the town and the waterfront. The décor in the bedroom was tired and the chairs well worn. Overall we enjoyed our stay but for £111, I expected a bit more

Helpful?
Thank Simon P
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well we have come back home! Back to our second home in Beau Maris that is. The Bishopsgate Hotel! This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, and we have to keep coming back as we miss it so much. So there was no iffiing or arring where to go for our Wedding anniversary we just knew where... More 

Helpful?
Thank BearNBabe
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Price Range: $92 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay