We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Morwendon Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanaber
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Morwendon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 387: English reviews
London
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Llanaber is just outside Barmouth and the Guest House is right on the coast., great for exploring the area. Some of the rooms have sea views and the dining room looks out across the water. The owners know that "the devil is in the detail" and they get most of the details right. The breakfasts were a delight. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JKTravel
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Morwenden House for 2 nights from 29th July 2011. We stayed in room number 5 which has a lovely bay window and sitting area, with stunning views across the bay and along to the Lleyn peninsula. Wonderful. ...for us this was so relaxing, as we travel around many B&B's and spending time in your room watching telly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hma1909
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the food and we look forward to seeing you again on the 15th. Just for the record and only to prevent others making a mistake the room you stayed in was Room 3 not Room 5. See you in a few weeks! Teresa & Geoff

Burton on Trent
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed in this B&B in August 2011 and stayed in the attic room. At the point of booking, we did not see anything about the height restriction in the en-suite - this information was definitely not available to us and had it been, we may not have stayed there. After a very long day of driving,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LaNobbre
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All constructive criticism is welcome although it would be preferable if you had brought your discontent to our attention whilst you were here. You booked through "Booking.com" for 1 nights stay. The Booking.com site clearly states that this room is unsuitable for tall guests, it also gives the room size at 11sq. metres. It would...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We spent three nights at Morwendon and had a wonderful stay. Geoff and Teresa are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble..they even provided me with soya milk and butter. Planning to visit again in the winter and soak up that amazing view from our superior bedroom..complete with dolphins of course! Many thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belchiro
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are so glad you had a good time on your husbands birthday and that you were lucky enought to see the dolphins. Look forward to seeing you again. Look out for Special Offers! Geoff Challenor

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Morwendon, the view from our room was brilliant and we were made to feel so welcome by the owners. We also had dinner on our first night, the food was great, would definitely recommend eating in!! Teresa even pointed out some dolphins as she was clearing our plates....this made our night and we spent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natcat_78
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We do hope you will be able to visit us again. Geoff Challenor

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2011

NIce people, spotless rooms, super food, good value........perfect

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChrisLee1953
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated. We know that you travel a great deal so it is especially heartening to hear what you have to say about your stay at Morwendon. Geoff Challenor

London
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The room (No 1) was described as an "executive double". We arrived to find a standard double with a very disappointing en-suite shower room. The en-suite had no window, no mechanical extractor fan, just a very dirty looking air brick. The en-suite also could have been cleaner. When we raised these issues with the owner she said that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive F
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are grateful for this review and especially so that this was one of the very few people who bring problems to our attention before they leave, thank you for that. We try hard to make everyone's stay a positive experience but on this occasion we failed. We do not agree with the cleanliness of the en-suite but have taken...

Cambridge, UK
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We only stayed for one night as part of a short holiday. We received a very warm welcome and the room was comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathroom small, but adequate. Fresh milk was provided for tea/coffee. Breakfast was very good - I felt the menu was completely fine for a guest house this size and there was certainly enough choice....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tommyboy83
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again one day. Geoff Challenor

Home Counties, U.K.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

As I usually stay for business in large chain hotels this was a different experience. A small guest guest house with 6 rooms offering a much more personal service. And what a pleasant stay it was. My wife and I booked a superior room for 4 nights which had wonderful views over the sea and a nice little sitting room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tex26
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you both had such a good time and that you enjoyed the freedom of not having to use your car. Also hope your holiday in South of France went well. Best wishes and hope to see you both again. Geoff Challenor

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just returned from weekend break at Morwendon. Our hosts, Geoff and Teresa were extremely hospitable, warm and welcoming. Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Food was excellent. Steak was cooked to perfection! Stunning location overlooking the bay. A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable break. Will be back soon!! Steve and Sue Sidlow. Wrexham.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveSidlow
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again. Watch out for Special Offers after 1 October. Geoff Challenor

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
360 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,376 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Morwendon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“very close to train stop - ideal to pop into Barmouth,”
 of 5 bubbles S2722BIstevej, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a sea view room!”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have fabulous views..”
 of 5 bubbles glynistolley, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 has a fabulous view”
 of 5 bubbles nataliejayne27, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the best view of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles 34JulieB34, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question