We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Morwendon Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Morwendon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 385: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first time we pulled up into the car park we knew we were going to have a good stay. Such a friendly couple Teresa and Geoff, made you feel very welcome. Excellent food if you wanted to eat here and the views are something else. Our room was very comfortable. Highly recommend the Welsh Highland Railway. The Cycle Ride... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had enjoyable 4 nights at Morwendon House. This is ideally situated for visiting the coast and mountains of Snowdonia. Views from the property are outstanding. Our room looked straight over to sea.. proprietors were very friendly and approachable. Decor was first class. Food was excellent with plenty of choice. Will shortly be booking again for next spring.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Teresa and Geoff were great hosts. We felt very Welcome and had a great time. They know everything there is to know about the area (Things to see/visit transportation activities etc.) The food was AMAZING!!! Make sure you try Teresa's Homemade Ice Cream!! Overall we had a great time. I almost forgot, the View from the house is absolutely incredible.

Helpful?
Thank Olivier B
st.albans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked for an overnight stay as we were on our way to Swondonia,although we arrived later than planned,the hosts were very welcoming,the room was lovely,very clean lovely décor,jug of milk provided for tea(,no little long life cartons)decanted sherry by the sofa,overlooking the sea.Breakfast next morning was lovely,passed the poached egg test. would defineately recommend.

Helpful?
Thank mole250
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Teresa and Geoff were the perfect hosts very welcoming and friendly. Our room at the top of the house was very clean, modern and spotless with two small windows but what an amazing view wow..We had an evening meal and had the Cod Loin and the Ribeye steak chosen from a very varied menu wonderfully cooked by Geoff.The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank glynistolley
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Slightly disappointed after reading all the reviews about Morwendon guest house, We stayed in the Garden room, felt like it was an over priced decorated out house, had a problem with the shower flooding due to blocked/slow drainage, did mention it to owners and they tried to rectify it, but no luck!.... Car parking was an issue due to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank dekka96
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us what a pity you didn't say anything to us while you were here. We did attend to the shower drainage and found it full of sand and we thought we had solved the problem, you didn't say it was not improved! It is worth pointing... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was bright, well decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The service from the owners was second to none, they gave us home made ice cream upon arrival at no extra charge, served on the patio over looking Cardingan bay. Food was well cooked tasty and served hot. Nothing was too much trouble and we even had an anniversary card waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie H
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Daventry
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

The food, especially the evening meal, was outstanding and one of the best features of our holiday. Our room (#3) had one of best sea views we have experienced. Our daughter’s room (#4) was fine but rather cold. The parking was adequate – but not more. A message in the car park to remind guests to front into the rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaventryMan
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay especially the sea views and the food. Our heating is not on in the middle of August and we are sorry your daughter found it cold, you perhaps should have mentioned it. With regard to the parking we send every guest an email or letter in which... More 

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

We've just had our second stay at the beautiful Morwendon House. It is a gorgeous house in a beautiful location. We had a fantastic sea view room, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast lovely, sets you up for the day. Friendly and welcoming hosts. Would highly recommend and already trying to decide when to go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iona B
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

Enjoyed our two night stay at Morwendon House. Sea facing rooms have fantastic views, we were in No. 3 which was spacious and spotlessly clean. Arrived to a very warm welcome, breakfasts great, will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank seeteew
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morwendon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay