We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monachty

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monachty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days in middle of August, we were worried about noise but it turned out there was no need. Staff made us feel welcome upon arrival and helped bring the bags up to our room, the room itself was clean, bright and had fab views overlooking the picturesque harbour. We ate here on 2 out of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller172
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just better than the usual pub grub. Prices not bad compared to some places, especially if you choose from the two meals for £12 menu option (Mon-Fri). Good kids choice menu. Drinks reasonable. Only downside was polite but sourfaced waitress. We felt like we were being a bother asking for more sauce., but everyone has a bad day don't they,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally M
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

arrived at the hotel. Got told we only had one room. Had to tell the guy on the bar that we had booked 2 rooms. This was soon solved and we were given the keys. We were told we had two keys, one for the room and one for the downstairs door for once the bar was closed. Luckily we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 979george
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After sitting for nearly an hour waiting to be served told that we had to order at bar. Another 50 minites later the food turned up wrong , the 2 mixed grills where very good my steak was well done when asked for medium to rare. Had appology and that the waitress would speak to the manager, waitress retuned to... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuart W
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

perfect location food was good the only thing i was't happy with was the poached eggs all i could taste was the vinigar that was in the water that they were cooked in haveing said that the full english breakfast was exellent.anyone with walking difficulties the stairs up to the rooms were very steep, bed was comfortble but bit dissapointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn E
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Rosalyn E Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the minor issues you encountered, I will ensure these matters are resolved so they don't happen again. Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon Kind... More 

Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

i had ajacket potato with barbequed chicken was was good. my husband had a ploughmans lunch . we were not waiting long for the food. a good choice of snacks and reasonably priced. there is also a beergarden which seemed popularwith families.we ate in the bar which was modernly decorated.

Helpful?
Thank mary c
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Mary C Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Kate More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Visited on a bank holiday weekend, and they were extremely busy and we hadn't booked a table. Thankfully we found a seat and ordered food. Although there was over an hour's wait for food - they made us aware of this before we ordered, and as it was so busy we could see why. Happily had a few drinks and... More 

Helpful?
Thank k2354
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi k2354 Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and it's lovely to have such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Kate More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

Clean but shabby room ( room 5) at £85 a tad expensive for a pub in the centre of town. The room was clean. The room was quiet being clear of any extract fans. No grab rails in the bathroom. THE ROOM IS NOT DISABLED FRIENDLY Breakfast service was haphazard and the full breakfast was minuscule and did not set... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy M
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Andy M Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been taken onboard and passed onto the team. We do not advertise our rooms as disabled friendly, this is due to all accommodation being on the first floor and unfortunately we do not have a lift. The room you stayed in was our family... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Myself and my Partner were very surprised to read a review on here which states that the venue is "dog friendly". I do hope that the management are able to reply to this posting. Myself and my Partner needed to grab a bite to eat, mid afternoon, one day a couple of weeks ago. The town was surprisingly quiet, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam12345678
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Adam1234678 Thank you for taking the time to share your views on trip advisor. I'm sorry to hear you felt this was the way you were treated. However, I was the "smiley yet firm young lady" that you refer to and as I mentioned at the time, you were more than welcome to sit inside at the bar area... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Reviews seem dependent on the room you get ! We had room 2 (frosted window with a view of an extremely noisy extractor fan.)Staff member had to look out window when we asked about noise !! Said it would stop at 9 pm !! Stopped at 11 pm . Room very tired and tatty but clean. Breakfast fine but so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
TheMonachtyHotel, General Manager at Monachty, responded to this review

Hi Andrea S Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I'm sorry to hear than on this occasion, we failed to meet your expectations. We have a grading system with the rooms at The Monachty and room 2 is our standard double option. We keep the prices low because of the lack of view... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monachty

Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachty 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachty Aberaeron, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay