We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

One night only for our anniversary.....arrived mid morning, coffee and a warm welcome. Excellent light lunch, a pint or two then a trip to sample the other public houses for the rugby. Room on the top floor very clean, slept like a log. Breakfast was tasty and filling....no complaints from us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as we decided to return to Aberaeron for a relaxing break We arrived for a weekend and found our room was ready which was warm and cosy the bar had just been refurbished was very friendly and the drinks were very well priced we had an excellent lunch of gammon served with an excellent salad and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahblond
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017

I expected a bit more quality given the price. It is a pub with rooms and first glance is not very charming. The room was dated in an attic next to the breakfast kitchen which started cooking at 06.15 bagging and clashes for two hours and the smell coming into the room was awfull. The bathroom was in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
David J, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations .We do not have any attic bedrooms next to our dinning room as this is situated on the first floor The bedrooms near the dinning room are totally new and were constructed last summer breakfast is served from 0730 onwards so cannot understand how there was a smell as the kitchen...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016

The Lunch presentation is lovely, Cottage pie came in a oval bowl, with a colander of vegetables, on a black slate, the only down side was the veg was frozen, If it was fresh it would have been superb, My husband had the gammon, this was a full plate, lovely presentation and he said very nice, The atmosphere was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon o
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We went out Saturday ( 22/10/16) for a meal without booking anywhere and as the castle had previously accommodated us at short notice we thought we'd try them again and they did not disappoint. The friendly staff went that at extra mile to help us and the food was top notch . I'd recommend the fish pie to anyone ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C3435JKsimonw
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We visited this place on 25/10/16 and 26/10/16, this was a big mistake that we will not be repeating a third time! After asking the staff if they were serving food and being told not untill 6pm I gave my 2 year old a small snack to eat. The staff were outraged by this and came over to tell me...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank thegolden
David J, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry the customer did not have a pleasant experience in our café bar ,after an investigation with the bar staff they did explain that the opening hours for dinner in the evening starts at 1800hrs We do not allow food or alcohol to be brought into our café bar from outside the premises The impression I had from the...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Visited the town for the first time and decided to eat here. What a mistake. My husband ordered a cheeseburger for himself and a baked potato with cheese for me.Despite the 'hotel' or rather the pub, was not busy, it took an age for the food to arrive at our table. His cheese burger was huge and served with chips,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redkite128
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

The castle hotel is a big place. It is on a corner and has lovely outdoor seating aswell, this is where we decided to have lunch, it is on a main Rd, but the use of umbrellas do give you a little privacy. The prices are a little on the higher side but the meal was beautiful. The only criticism...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesleylel
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2016

This is simply a pub on the high street with expensive rooms. My room overlooked the busy high street so having the window open in the summer is not an option. Even with the single old sash windows closed you can still hear the traffic .suggestion to management get some double glazing or aircon. The evening bar food was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wp12345
Reviewed July 30, 2016

This isn't a hotel, but a pub with room's above it. Despite being at the top of the building we were kept awake by karaoke until 12. Our room was fairly small and we had to keep the windows shut to keep the noise down (which didn't help much) Breakfast was nice, but staff not the most welcoming. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flori R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
203 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
665 reviews
14.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
53 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Price Range: $91 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Llanelli, United Kingdom
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room at the back if there is one or take ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles wp12345, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for number 5!”
 of 5 bubbles florir169, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
“Go to there web site to get better deals”
 of 5 bubbles janejones2015, Dec 3, 2015 | Read review
“dont go ... there are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles john131142, Nov 23, 2015 | Read review
“I would imagine that there may be larger rooms at the hotel and those towards the back of the hotel would suffer less from traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles andyp225, Jun 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question