We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
SAVE $20
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (258)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Updated 12/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#27 of 150 hotels in Memphis
Travelers' Choice
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
1,735Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 616
  • 494
  • 362
  • 153
  • 110
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lorna W wrote a review Oct 2020
Detroit, Michigan59 contributions14 helpful votes
Arrive at 9:30 pm after driving 12 hours. Was given a room on the 10th floor. Went up to our room, thought we heard noise in the room but tried our key anyways and it open only to find guests in the room. We dragged our luggage back down to the front desk and explained what had happened . Front desk staff only explained that housekeeping showed that the room should be empty. She then checked us into a different room on the 10th floor and gave us new keys. So we went back to the elevator and up to the 10th floor. Same thing we heard noises outside this new room, this time we knocked and found there were guests in this room too. They had us try our key which open their room which obvious they were not happy about either . At this point we just went back to the front desk and ask them to cancel our reservations. We said if we had stayed there we would have been afraid that someone would have a key and try to walk in on us in the middle of night as we unknowingly did to others. Also during this time of the COVID pandemic I have no assurance that they are keeping track of what rooms they have or haven’t cleaned if they can’t even tell which rooms still have guests in them. Hallways also smelled liked smoke and was disgusting dirty. Ended up finding a different very nice hotel in the same area that about $20 less a night and also didn’t charge for parking . If we had stayed at the Crowne Plaza , there was a $22 parking fee to park in an area with both gates open so definitely wasn’t a fee for secure parking .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from G M, Owner at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incidents that occurred while you were here. It is never our intention to disappoint; therefore, we are sorry for letting you down. We are investigating what went wrong in your instance, and we are taking measures to prevent such scenarios from happening again in the future. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, Patrick Jordan General Manager
Read more
Annette X wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for one night only and were disappointed in the quality of the room. The bathroom was small. The room was in Rough shape. The cabinet door would not shut where the refrigerator was stored. The lamp shade was damaged. For the money it was not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from G M, Owner at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Thank you for sharing a review. We regret you were not entirely satisfied with the quality and condition of our accommodations. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate individuals in our organization. We hope to have the opportunity to make a better impression on a future stay. Sincerely, Patrick Jordan General Manager
Read more
RGH wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We arrived late at night after 12h drive so we were exhausted and didn’t pay attention to the room, only noticed the bed dirty headboard But was too tired to request a new room. The next am when we stood on the floor, we felt crumbs, saw new clothing plastic tags, and olive’s pits on the floor which indicated the room had clearly not been vacuumed; we had not eaten or used anything other than jump into bed right away; hanging behind the bathroom door was a dirty damp towel stained with body fluids, a small blood stain in one of the two tiny pillows given to us for a king size bed that had only sheets despite the temps being in the 60f*s, the coffee maker was stained but new towels, toiletries, and the usual folded toilet paper seemed to indicate the room was “prepared” for new guests. This is ALL during the pandemic Covid-19 where the standards in cleaness and sanitation should be upmost, this room wasn’t even wiped in the headboard in the bed, absolutely disgusting, dangerous and irresponsible... I payed ~ $100 USD for a night, so I wasn’t expecting 5 star hotel standards of course, but this was basic sanitary and hygiene expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Response from G M, Owner at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Thank you for sharing a review. We are very compassionate to the frustrations you experienced due to the current circumstances. Our guests' safety is always a high priority, and our staff has been working diligently to ensure all guidelines are being followed. Therefore, we apologize for the items that were overlooked in the preparation of your room. We take your concerns seriously and will promptly address them with the appropriate individuals. Please allow us to regain your confidence by staying with us again when your travels bring you back to this area. Sincerely, Patrick Jordan General Manager
Read more
Nelson W wrote a review Sep 2020
Miami Springs, Florida, United States7 contributions1 helpful vote
To start, this hotel falsely advertise that they had breakfast included . Once I arrived I stayed in room 923. The entire time the staff never once Colleen the hallway pieces of trash accumulated during the stay. The room had a problem with the lock, I had to have it reprogrammed every day. The phone, when I tried to call down, didn’t work either. As you can see in the bathroom there was black mold on the ceiling. I stayed the entire Labor Day weekend in this really gross place.I would’ve checked out but I have nonrefundable stay there I wouldn’t mind paying rack rate for any other place but there was no way I was going to pay that and double.j. I do not recommend it to anyone if you can, stay at the Hyatt rather than this dump.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from G M, Owner at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Thank you for choosing us during Labor Day weekend and sharing your valuable feedback. We are sorry your stay was anything other than perfect. We appreciate you bringing these concerns regarding your room to our attention and will review them with appropriate individuals as we are committed to offering exceptional service for our guests. We also regret your disappointment with breakfast not being available during your visit. Please know we have updated information on our hotel's website so you can be aware of what we currently offer. We would like an opportunity to serve you better in the future and encourage you to return the next time your travels bring you this way. Sincerely, Patrick Jordan General Manager
Read more
jackiem wrote a review Jun 2020
world541 contributions146 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights while on Cosmos tour. Great room. Shame the pool wasn't open as it was October. 5 minutes walk to tram to downtown area so very convenient. Tram very cheap. Very comfortable bed. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Responded Jul 1, 2020
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown while you were here for the tour. We are delighted to read how much you liked your beautiful room and that you slept well on our comfortable beds. Your business is appreciated, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Jordan General Manager
Read more
$126 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
crowne plaza memphis, memphis crowne plaza
Wyndham Garden Hotel
United StatesTennesseeMemphis
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Danny Thomas/ALSAC Pavillion (0.2 miles), St. Mary's Catholic Church (0.05 miles), and Precious Cargo Exchange Gourmet Cafe (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alcenia's Desserts & Preserves, Westy's, and Notes & Provisions Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Memphis.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sun Studio (1.1 miles), National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel (1.3 miles), and Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum (0.9 miles).