We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Fabulous location, lovely suite with sea view. Very welcoming and wonderful small restaurant. Need to negotiate single track road to get there but we found it worth it - unrivalled sea views and cosy accommodation. Suitably fitting for special anniversary

Helpful?
Thank 1916JR
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a week away we visited the lighthouse on a cloudy dull day , don't let the weather put you off the views are amazing as is the welcome we received at the lighthouse . My daughter was unsure about the steps in the lighthouse and the gentleman let her look first before paying to go up . She made... More 

Helpful?
Thank sue124079
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is not of Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel which is situated at Corsewall Point, Kirkcolm, Stranraer, DG9 0PD. It would appear your review is of the Mull of Galloway Visitor Centre, however, we hope you may visit us in the future. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I returned to the lighthouse for new year. We literally rebooked for this year the minute we got home. The lighthouse is so relaxing and peaceful. The restraunt is very good and is included in the price. The setting is charming, cosy and gives you a warm fuzzy feeling. The food is excellent, great portion size and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smdx
Birkdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second time at this amazing hotel, accommodation is first class but when added to the fantastic menu for breakfast and dinner it is only surpassed by the high quality of customer service. A great experience which will always leave you wanting to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank neilbillingsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We booked two nights here as a birthday treat. We both like water, and there is loads of it here - the tide never goes out and the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks is constant. Unless you go indoors, and close the windows. Then it's quite quiet. We booked the North Channel Suite on the basis of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank D4ryl
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Spent one night here as a birthday treat and enjoyed it thoroughly (I'm very hard to please). 5-course dinner was excellent and full marks to the chef for sourcing the main ingredients locally. Friendly staff and warm, comfortable public rooms. On the downside, the decor is dated and cluttered - not necessary and must be nightmare to dust for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AyrshireHistorian
London
Level Contributor
340 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Strangely we got charged an extra £20 at leaving due to the excuse that the Booking.com transactions was wrong. Ie. The hotel had increased the price between booking and arriving. Bit miffed as we raced off to catch the ferry. I ran my own business for 20 years and wouldn't have done a price hike like this. Got to keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonTell
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review

I take great exception to being called a thief!! I have checked back on your reservation and you were incorrectly charged, this has been refunded to your credit card. It is our practice to only take a deposit, leaving the balance of accommodation including any extra items (of which you had non) payable on departure. It would have been appreciated... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We travelled down to Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel as a surprise weekend away for my wife's 50th. We had previously tried to book but it was always busy but we got accommodation no problem this time. We booked the Cromarty Firth room as it has an ensuite and a private balcony. the location is brilliant, very remote, fantastic views and exactly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

The drive along a couple miles of single track rough road sets the scene for a different break. Finally the attractive working, but now unmanned lighthouse comes in to view. I was glad that neither coming nor going did we meet any vehicles coming in the other direction, as there are few passing places, (and I am well used to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CityVisitor186534
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

The lighthouse is situated at the end of a single track road at the top end of the North Thinks of Galloway. We arrived at lunchtime in magnificent sunshine to be greeted with spectacular scenery all around. We had lunch in the restaurant accompanied with local beers which were very very good. Our food was beautifully prepared and presented. Decor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
8.9 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
9.0 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel

Address: Corsewall Point | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Price Range: $154 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel Stranraer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay