We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portpatrick Hotel

Traveler (285)
Room & Suite (85)
Storyboard
Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Housekeeping
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
223
241
93
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
223
241
93
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearings holiday shearings hotels superior room self drive sea view cliff top coach driver dining room lovely hotel half board coast country buffet style coach party single room evening meal golf course a la carte menu
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings break to this hotel. We have been to many Shearings Hotels but this without any doubt is the best we have stayed in. I have tried very hard to find a negative to mention and the only one...More

1  Thank scruton8179
Response from PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick HotelResponded 6 days ago

It is so pleasing to read a review where all the hard work of the staff (including Morris) is appreciated. Thanks you so much for writing. I do hope that we see you here again sometime soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a return Shearings coach holiday to Portpatrick for us, loved it the first time a couple of years ago. We rang the hotel before travelling to see if we could have the same room, the manager remembered us and allocated the room -...More

Thank moles_35
Response from PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased everything was as you had hoped. We do try and allocate room requests wherever possible. It's good to hear you got the room you asked for.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a five day break . We have been to many shearings hotels and this is our favourite . Room was clean warm and comfortable the food was very good both breakfast and evening meal . The staff were really helpful and friendly...More

Thank fraser1867
Response from PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in apartment one for 2 nights. Very spacious with comfortable beds but only one bathroom and a tiny kitchen. Views are incredible but small grubby windows don’t make the most of them. It was cold!! Absolutely avoid the restuarant- mediocre food, terrible beer and...More

1  Thank em3858
Response from PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for writing with your opinions. All you had to do was tell us you were cold and we could have at least sorted that part of your stay.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1st room we were given was an insult,freezing bathroom with little or no heat, plus Shearings had emailed about my disability and what I would require of a room. Essential was a walk in shower, I was given a room with a bath! We queried...More

2  Thank maureen l
Response from PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to bring your views to our attention.

View more reviews
About
Description
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is More a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
56
Price range
$76 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Hotel class
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
56
Price range
$76 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Photos
Traveler (285)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Fernhill Hotel
389 reviews
.15 miles away
Crown Hotel
304 reviews
.15 miles away
Knockinaam Lodge
302 reviews
1.98 miles away
North West Castle Hotel
456 reviews
5.83 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 10 nearby restaurants
Campbell's Restaurant
526 reviews
.27 miles away
The Port Pantry
286 reviews
.20 miles away
The Harbour House
253 reviews
.19 miles away
Crown Hotel Restaurant & Bar
604 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Smugglers Cove Gift Shop
90 reviews
.14 miles away
Stena Line
42 reviews
5.77 miles away
Stranraer Golf Club
15 reviews
5.92 miles away
Ardwell Gardens
6 reviews
6.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ktbeagle
August 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from C3M_M | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, but i would assume they do have some. i recommend to aske the staff.
0
Votes
Google Translation
784lisa
May 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from bobmL1122XS | Reviewed this property |
01776810333 Bob
1
Vote
JSPONTE
February 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Jacqueline A | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Room Tips
"room 210 was so quite, room 217 had great views of the harbour"
scruton8179
1 week ago
Read review
"Ask for a sea view. It will be worth it."
JeanC3826
3 weeks ago
Read review
"There are very suitable rooms for those with reduced mobility, but book well in advance"
75davet
Sep 19, 2018
Read review
"I think any room had a nice view. I preferred a shower and got one over the bath. I did find shower a bit..."
PINGU16
Aug 25, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing