We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 513: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Five of us ate at the Rosslea on a Saturday evening and had a a vey enjoyable meal. Service and food were excellent.House wine was very good and overall value was brilliant. We shall definitely be returning very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Rosslea was defined by the incredible friendliness and accommodating nature of the staff. As tourists from another country, this stood out to us more than anything else since we relied heavily on the staff during our trip. Before we even arrived I had to change reservation dates several times and the first few days of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahrZ2929OE
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 8, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a good stopping off point on the way north and offers decent accommodation at a reasonable price. The staff are friendly and rooms clean with all the basics. That said this is not a place to go if you want luxury accommodation or pampering. I found the bed on the hard side but the linens and towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 556HAH
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here once before and came back because my first stay was enjoyable. This time I had a nice quiet time, staff were friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. This would be my first choice in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham W
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Three adults stayed here for one night. Our first reaction was a bit apprehensive as we had arrived when a wedding reception was in full swing. No need to be concerned about excessive noise at all. Rooms were away from the guests staying overnight and were quiet. Our meal was taken with no disturbances at all. Everything was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetraveller435
Eastry
Reviewed November 17, 2016

The people here are really warm and welcoming. The rooms are generally really good, clean and well-appointed, as I've tried a few now. Its better if you're on an upper floor, as those on the ground floor suffer from noise carried from the reception area and also the regular sound of church bells. Staff are brilliant and accommodating and really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank squiddyEastry
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding here on the 5th Nov. The full day was amazing, the attention to detail is second to none. Every staff member was well trained & enthusiastic to their roles. The food & drink was absolutely gorgeous. Cannot wait to come back & stay again. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie A
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Suzie, Thank you very much for this fabulous review. The opinion of our guest's matter to us and it is through feed back we get the opportunity to improve. I am delighted that you both had a great time and thank you for sharing this very special event with the team at Rosslea. I'm sure we will all...

Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

Had booked a table for family meal for my wife's birthday but should have realised that on a Saturday evening they may have had another function on in the large hall and as luck would have it there was a wedding on. The guests were outside the restaurant window sitting on the window sills having their smoke breaks and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William N
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rosslea hall. I am so sorry that the behaviour of other guests at the wedding celebration spoiled your birthday dinner. We try our utmost to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience but totally understand that the ambiance can be disrupted when another large party...

Paisley
Reviewed November 7, 2016 via mobile

Highly disappointed in this hotel, I had heard from the bride how lovely it is,but I was left disheartened. I will start with the only 2 good parts that I can mention was the Staff they were lovely and the food was nice however when I asked for a 2nd roll for the soup I was told they could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashalee83
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointed to read a review such as this and sincerely apologise for the shortfalls you encountered but feel I need to point out one or two things. You failed to mention that prior to checking in you were upset and complained at quite some length about our payment policy because you would have to pay cash...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Fantastic place to stay, warm friendly and attentive staff. Had a great view from the room, looking out on to the River Clyde. We had dinner in the bar and breakfast in the dining room, the food was excellent with a good selection to choose from, would definitely recommend staying!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iael
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iael, Thank you for your very good review, your opinion matters a great deal to us and thank you for sharing with others through tripadvisor. Reviews such as this make it all worth while and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thanks Again...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Family Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Seaview Room (16)
Viewed
Single Room (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
3.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
354 reviews
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the picturesque village of Rhu overlooking the Firth of Clyde, near Loch Lomond. The Rosslea Hall offers you a choice of traditional elegance and modern facilities. Our award winning Restaurant and wedding venue are famed for the quality of food and service. Built in 1849 by Architect Daniel Walkinshaw, who was so enamoured by Italy in general, decided his house should be italian in style and built on the shores that most resembled his loved Bay of Naples. To this day, with its bell tower clearly visible from the peninsula in Rhu Rosslea still has the Italianate flavour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Ferry Road | If Travelling by Car Please Use a Neighbouring Post Code of G84 8RL, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslea Hall Country Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country Rhu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors and gardenside rooms offer better views and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrZ2929OE, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a front facing room to get best views.”
 of 5 bubbles thetraveller435, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“not room 2 unless you have mobility issues, due to church bells”
 of 5 bubbles squiddyEastry, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“No problems with noise..rm2 groundfloor is lovely (and accessible),large room and huge ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles 597patsyj, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles ag6120, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay