We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shore House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shore House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Good location with nice views, excellent service and friendly staff. Only let down is that for £5.50, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a few more than 5 garlic mushrooms and four king prawns on a £9.50 pizza. Quality of ingredients good though.

Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow_01
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nearly perfect review of the Shore House. I'm sorry, but a little surprised, that you felt your food was overpriced. The large fresh mushrooms were accompanied by a generous salad garnish and home made pizza bread. The king prawns on our home made pizzas are large, and of course you are not just paying for the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best view you could hope for. The food was excellent, and the staff even nicer, so accomodating despite being very busy. Great bar too, lovely atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. Will definitely return it's just right. The room was one of the nicest we've stayed in, very good quality everything - Just great.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Sophie for your wonderful review. It seems the Shore House was very much to your liking and that's fabulous. Everyone here does their best to give guests an enjoyable time with us and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you here again. Gillian Curtis More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of drinks, in the very homely bar, and we're lucky enough to get a table for dinner in the very busy restaurant. The choice of speciality beers and single malt whisky went down a treat. Our meals were delicious and served by very friendly staff. We are hoping to return in the near future to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank LillyDumfries
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your superb review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your meal and the delights of our 'wee bar'. I hope you can come and stay at the Shore House before too long. Gillian Curtis More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is at a lovely spot at top of the loch but unfortunately appears to be very rarely open. We visited on a Monday and the inn was totally dubbed up with no bar or anything. We did see a notice saying it was closed on Mondays and Tuesday's. So we phoned for a table on Wednesday to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Your review is not accurate. We are open five days a week Wednesday to Sunday and have chosen to operate our business this way for the last eight years. It works very well for us. You were certainly not told we were closed on a Wednesday but were most likely told the restaurant was fully booked, as it often is... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from a night at the Shore House Inn. It is now a lovely memory. The location is amazing, the food was fresh and tasty and served in a dining room with a gorgeous view and the room was elegant and very comfortable. We hope to return! M&E

Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. It's very satisfying to have such good feedback from happy guests. I look forward to welcoming you back one day. Gillian Curtis More 

west yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights! First night in a beautiful double room overlooking the loch WOW, a little bit disappointed on the second as we had to have a twin room! Was still a lovely room just without that stunning view! My fault may I add!!! If only I had booked sooner! Still no problems were encountered Gillian made sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthbarb55
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

That's a fabulous review - thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I do hope you return soon (make sure you book a loch view room in plenty of time!) Gillian Curtis More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited here without booking on a Thursday evening, restaurant looked quiet but we weren't sure if a table was available by the way the waiter was huffing and puffing and a bit abrupt. Tasty starters and my pizza was beautiful and too much for one, desserts were a tad plain but the ice cream was lovely. Meal was tasty, hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and considered it good value for money. We do our best to keep our pricing at a reasonable level and enjoy a lot of repeat business because of this. Hope you will come back soon. Gillian Curtis More 

London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

The location is beautiful, had a couple meals here and the food was lovely, I especially like the open plan kitchen as it allows you to watch the chefs at work who are very talented. Good menu and reasonable priced for what you get. Food service was different on both occasions, the first visit the gentleman was friendly and efficient,... More 

Helpful?
Thank pink2099
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Shore House. The open plan kitchen certainly works very well for us and for the customers. The service you had on the two visits should have been very similar but people have their own ways of doing things. However, you were obviously delighted overall with everything else so that's great. I hope... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Had a family meal here while on holiday and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their menu choices. We booked ahead which was wise as it's a popular place. Lovely chicken dishes with plenty of fresh veg, and a tasty venison pie. Desserts weren't maybe as high a standard as the mains with some better than others, but overall the food and service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pilsner78
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Shore House. I am delighted that you and your family had a very enjoyable meal and we look forward to seeing you here again on your next trip to lovely Lochgoilhead. Gillian Curtis More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We called in for lunch as we were staying in a local cottage. We had walked down for dinner on the Tuesday evening, but they were closed (everyone's entitled to a day off!) We were warmly welcomed & a high chair was provided for our daughter. Service was quick & friendly. We both ordered pizza & we ordered the children's... More 

Helpful?
Thank rkner
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of the Shore House. Glad you all enjoyed your lunch - the little picnic platter is certainly popular with little ones. We are always happy to provide take home boxes for left over pizza (our homemade pizzas are quite generous!) I do hope you will come and dine with us again on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
6.1 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#4 of 18 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shore House Inn sits on the waters edge at the lead of Loch Goil. Savour the stunning view from our specially designed restaurant featuring an 'open kitchen' and traditional wood fired oven. Enjoy speciallity pizzas, prime Scottish steaks, freshly prepared dishes and Sunday roasts. In our cosy bar you will find a warm welcome, real ales, whiskies and perhaps an impromptu music session! Bed and breakfast available in comfortable en-suite rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shore House Inn

Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $115 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shore House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Inn Lochgoilhead, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay