We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gartmore House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gartmore House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The website is limited and shows the hotel in a better light than the real thing, as we drove onto the half mile driveway our car bounced over the many pot holes and ruts in the road, surprisingly un kept entrance to the hotel, arriving at the hotel itself was less than impressive, my wife's reaction was "faulty towers" UK... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank steven d
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with two mates the night before my wedding. It all seems a bit tired, including the rooms. Maybe that's the idea? Breakfast was poor... The scrambled eggs were at best, lightly scrambled and at worst, still raw. And there wasn't much else to choose from unfortunately. The pot holes on the road up are not much bother, if... More 

Helpful?
Thank S B
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Firstly, congratulations on your wedding and I hope the day was enjoyed by you and your wife and all the guests. Many thanks for taking the time to write and pass on your comments. I am sorry your stay was not up to what you expected. We are an old building; built in 1793 with lots of money required to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a twin room for 3 nights in August. The best parts about the stay were the overall grandeur of the building, the spectacular views from the back of the building over whole estate, and the very friendly staff. Breakfast wasn't bad either. On the downside the facilities were a bit dated and the room was a bit small.

Helpful?
Thank lovescotland1989
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the building and the stunning surroundings. We are very lucky with our location and views over to Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument. Thank you for the comments on the team too, I will be sure to pass these on.... More 

London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

We arrived at Gartmore, a very beautiful old house in the process of slow renovation, and not very long after received news that we had to abandon our stay and return home. The staff were very helpful, even though we had paid in full they offered us a complete refund (which we didn't take because we had showered etc in... More 

Helpful?
Thank snowybennett
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed what time you did manage to get here. We were sorry you had to leave so soon but hope you get another chance to visit us again. Thanks again, The Gartmore House Team More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Very pleasant stay in a lovely old building with loads of character. Comfortable rooms, excellent service, attentive staff who are working hard to improve the visitor experience and in our opinion succeeding. Beautiful surroundings with lots of things to see and do in and around the area. We fully intend to return with friends.

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Gartmore House and appreciate the kind comments. It was a pleasure to host the walking group and we really hope we will see you again soon. Thanks again, The Gartmore House Team More 

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

The building needs some renovation but it doesn't detract from the delightful interior. We, as a walking group, spent a delightful 4 nights there. The staff are very attentive, the food was great, the bedroom was fine, no TV which was a bonus. large bathroom wait shower. I can't wait to go back and will recommend this venue to anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Mac70
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate all the kind things you have expressed about your visit to Gartmore House and are glad you enjoyed the time you spent here. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Thanks again. More 

Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Look beyond the tired exterior of this hotel and you will find a place of charm and true hospitality. The staff are so friendly and the food they produced for us, a group of around 55 people, was exceptional. Our room was large and the bathroom huge. I would not hesitate in choosing this hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank 37irenec
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your kind comments and are happy you had a lovely stay with us. Your group were a joy to host and we hope to see you all again in the future. Thanks again, The Gartmore House Team More 

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

My husband and I spent 4 nights here as part of a Network 50+ walking holiday.the hotel itself is a bit tired, but quaint and quirky--bags of character!! Our room was clean and tidied daily--the only thing lacking was drawer space but we managed fine for the short time! The lounge was full of a mix of furniture adding to... More 

Helpful?
Thank robmuriel
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Gartmore House. We appreciate all the kind comments and are glad you enjoyed your time spent here. We enjoyed hosting your walking group and are happy that you liked our "quirkiness". Hope to see you again some point in the future. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This hotel is very old and should be closed down for refurbishment part of the establishment is a hostel the other part is certainly not a 4star hotel we are in dispute with them as they have taken seventy pounds from our bank we were told to go ahead with trip advisor we have travelled the world and ashamed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank _elainesmith261
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Firstly, there is no dispute over your money as it was returned on 19th April 2016. Secondly, we do not claim to be a 4 star hotel. We have no star rating at all and have no interest in gaining a star rating. I can only assume you are referring to the 4 star rating we have on... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

Arrived and instantly disappointed by old, run down and badly maintained building. Checked into room and had coffee. Left after half an hour as was a complete let down and did not meet a basic standard for any hotel/guest house.

Helpful?
Thank LouH14
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is very disappointing that you did not stay and left within the hour. Its just such a shame that you never discussed your points when you left or we could of tried to rectify some of them. Yes we appreciate we are an old building, but we have been... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Address: 1 Gartmore, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Price Range: $89 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay