We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hawthorns

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Hawthorns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on a cold wet afternoon to a warm and cheery welcome. Once signed in Jane gave us a tour of the well thought out amenities and left us to settle in. The family room was more like a suite, with lots of space for an energetic 3yr old and travel cot for the baby. After a very comfortable... More 

Thank Kay J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night with my daughter. Warm welcome from Jane. Room lovely and warm on cold day after walking. Lots of information available and advice from Jane. Nice pub, shop and restaurant in walking distance. Plan to rebook next year when completing West Highland Way.

Thank LindaM1671
Chris C, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review and look forward to seeing you on your return trip walking The West Highland Way. Many thanks Jane More 

Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were given a warm welcome by Chris on our arrival after our first day walking the West Highland Way and despite being earlier than the arrival time on the front door, this presented no problem. We were shown to our room, which was quite small, with a bathroom outside in the hallway but this was reflected in the price... More 

Thank TenerifeRambler
Chris C, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and glad we were here to check you in early. Delighted you realised the budget room was how it is advertised as a “budget” option for walkers. Hope you can come back in the future, Jane and Chris. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2016

My husband and I stayed at The Hawthorns for 3 nights in October. Jane and Chris, who own the B&B, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were great and set you up for the day. Our spacious room was very comfortable - a big, comfy bed, a lovely bathroom with a shower and corner bath and tea/coffee... More 

Thank lcthomson27
Chris C, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you both for a few nights and hope to see you soon when the Aberdeen Angus Lorne sausage runs out and you must come back for more. Many thanks Jane and Chris More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

Set right in the centre of Drymen, attractive to look at from the outside and didn't disappoint when we went in. Had a great family room which could accommodate four of us comfortably with an adjoining door between two rooms. Great shop across the road from it which provided reasonably priced gifts and things you may have forgotten to take... More 

Thank The Three H
Chris C, Manager at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed room 5 with the adjoining rooms and our village shop, hope to see you for a third visit soon, many thanks Chris and Jane. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Myself and two friends stayed here two years ago, and as we were in the area earlier this month we had no hesitation in booking again. Such a lovely couple who were very helpful and provided us with a lovely room (two adjoining bedrooms with en-suite) and a splendid Scottish breakfast. We would highly recommend The Hawthorns to anyone visiting... More 

Thank AB-LS17
Chris C, Manager at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

Hope you enjoyed your time in the wee cottage in the Highlands after your stay. Hope to see you again when you walk another "Way" or maybe another cottage. Thank you for leaving a review we appreciate it Jane and Chris More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the end of August, 16 and were more than happy with the place. The hosts were helpful and friendly explaining points of interest. The porridge has to be the best in Scotland. The room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone travelling to the Highlands.

Thank Mark M
Chris C, Manager at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

The porridge is served with love and that is what makes it so tasty. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Jane and Chris More 

Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Welcomed by our host Jane. A good sized room with excellent separate 'en-suite'. Very comfortable bed and a great Scottish breakfast, bacon, sausage, black pudding, beans, mushrooms and potato scone. Set us up nicely for another day's walking!

Thank Tony R
Chris C, Manager at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

Don't forget the tomatoes!. Thank you Jane and Chris More 

1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2016

I was trekking the West Highland Way and flew into Glasgow in the early morning and begun my trek at 8am. After the long flight from Pittsburgh, PA and then the 14 miles. I was beat!!! but the Hawthorn was wonderful. Chris was the best host and took great care of me. My room was awesome, the bed was soft... More 

Thank CJ S
Chris C, Manager at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

Thanks Cody for this review, pleasure to have you and we hope to meet you again. Many thanks Chris and Jane More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for one night when we walked the West Highland Way. From the moment we arrived we were invited to make ourselves at home and made to feel welcome. The lounge was great after a long walk to catch up. Accomodation clean and well maintained. Highly recommend

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chris C, Manager at The Hawthorns, responded to this review

What a wonderful review thank you, we love when people feel comfortable enough to make themselves at home. hope to see you again in the future, Jane and Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (22)
Dining (3)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Dining (1)
View from Room (2)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
16.3 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, comfortable house, set in own grounds in the heart of this picturesque village in the National Park. All ameneties within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hawthorns

Address: The Square | 1 Gartness Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Price Range: $82 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hawthorns 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Hawthorns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
The Hawthorns Drymen, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Hawthorns staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hawthorns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Nice idea having no TV in the lounge, just in bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kayj847, 1 week ago | Read review
“you cant go wrong with any room here.”
 of 5 bubbles 140cjs, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Top of the stairs on the right was very good”
 of 5 bubbles 830paulf, May 23, 2016 | Read review
“We were booked for a double room but got a family size room.”
 of 5 bubbles 108HelenK, Jan 4, 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the rooms downstairs - which were very plain - but I'm guessing the rooms upstairs were more impressive.”
 of 5 bubbles 404mattd, Jul 11, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay