We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Portnellan

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portnellan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Curlew cottage. Very pretty , clean , full furnished and has everything we wanted. We arrived at 10pm but staff prepared everything to made sure we could access into cottage. Warm welcome from staffs. No wonder why this place gets high rate hit! Highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Wandee P
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely chalet accommodation in a very peaceful location. Guess it is very popular for walkers but we just used it as a base to explore the area. Killin and Kenmore are very nice. Chalets are very clean and spacious with lots of games and facilities. If I could take a half point off for the poor wifi I would but... More 

Helpful?
Thank dannyboomer
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We stayed in Lapwing Lodge, perfectly located close to the Loch and with lovely views over the fields and up to Ben More. The location was perfect for exploring the region. The staff were most welcoming and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and the facilities for boating, fishing, cycling etc were excellent

Helpful?
Thank pvs867
Portnellan442, Owner at Portnellan, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I'm genuinely delighted you had an enjoyable holiday at Portnellan and made full use of the facilities available to you. My staff are a great asset to Portnellan and I am pleased they made you feel welcome. Haste ye back. Cameron More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

My friends and I stayed in the Ghillies Lodge for a weekend for my outdoorsy hen doo. The accommodation was perfect and the views were absolutely stunning! There was 6 of us and we all had plenty of space, having 3 separate bedrooms and bathrooms certainly helped! We had a great day using the Canadian canoe, kayaks and rowing boat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
Portnellan442, Owner at Portnellan, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and I am genuinely delighted to read you enjoyed your time at Portnellan. Especially on such an important event. Portnellan welcomes responsible hen and stag weekends at anytime of the year. I look forward to welcoming you back with your fiance very soon. Cameron More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

The site is stunningly beautiful and peacefully quiet. We stayed in The Ghillies Lodge which was fully equiped with everything you could need. The lodge has a large open plan ground floor with a fully equipped kitchen and I mean fully equipped, with a large family sized fridge freezer, cooker / hob, dishwasher, toasty maker, coffee maker and more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Portnellan442, Owner at Portnellan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our Ghillies property especially the private sauna available to you. Furthermore, I am delighted to read that you found the free facilities whilst staying in Ghillies a very positive aspect to your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future. Thank you... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

If you are after an idyllic and very Scottish retreat, stunning scenery all around you with lots to do outdoors, then this is the place for you! We spent 5 fantastic days at the end of April start of May. The accommodation is of a high standard, we sytayed at the Osprey lodge, 2 adults one teenager and out wee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daykz69
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely shocked by the disgusting treatment received by this unprofessional lot! We searched for weeks to find somewhere big enough for husbands 50th , booked the big house & two lodges . Paid deposit & everyone involved went out their way to get specific days off work & get money sent. No mean feat! We received two confirmation emails for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunchaser172
Portnellan442, Owner at Portnellan, responded to this review

I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply because I know that whatever I write it may simply add fuel to the fire and I really do not want that as I can see you are very hurt and angry. I am so sorry for letting you down, not because it has resulted in this review but... More 

Neverland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Perfect place to relax. Lodges are very clean and well equipped, staff are very helpful and really do their best to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Its beautiful place and will definitely come back. Thank you again :-)

Helpful?
Thank Madzia M
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

Had a great weekend in Lapwing. Got that snow we where hoping for at Easter! Lapwing has a secure balcony for Bobby our wee Scottie dog. He loves to sit out and bark at all that dare to go past. Cameron as usual was the perfect host and had the heating on for us arriving. Lapwing is a small comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank elainemoscrop1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Fischer lodge for 3 nights just before the Easter weekend and had a very good time. We had numerous breaks in the weather and made the most of travelling around the West coast, Cairngorms and Loch Lomond so I can't really comment on the nearby area too much. The Fisher lodge was a good size for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcquillan90
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (120)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
14.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
21.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Loch Lomond Waterfront
#2 of 5 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 11 in Crianlarich
5.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portnellan. Where memories are made. This years finalist for the Visitscotland's Thistle Award in the category "Best Self Catering in Scotland" for our region. Portnellan has a 'Certificate of Excellence' from Tripadvisor for the fifth year running with over 190 reviews from guests. A tasteful collection of 4 and 5 star self catering holiday properties owned and run by the Taylor family for over 35 years. Located just outside the picturesque village of Crianlarich within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. A great central location for touring and visiting many of Scotland's attractions and adventure. All properties are positioned thoughtfully on a small private estate with sensational views of loch, glen and mountains. There are many activities onsite to enjoy including free use of rowing boats, Canadian canoes, kayaks and estate loch and river fishing. In addition there is an on site visitors centre with a small essentials shop, fresh organic meat (perfect for BBQing or home cooking), local information, board games and DVDs. Mountain bikes, clay pigeon shooting, WiFi, SKY TV package and BBQ hire are also available. All properties are tastefully appointed to 4 and 5 star standard varying in size from 1 to 5 bedroom with stunning views across the loch, mountain and glen. Other features include Egyptian Cotton bed linen and king size beds with pocket sprung mattresses. Some properties even have sauna and spa bath. There are even fresh eggs available from our hand reared chickens (when laying). This beautiful accommodation is available for short breaks, weeks or longer all year round. A family business for over 30 years proud of their Highland hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portnellan

Address: Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Price Range: $92 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portnellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portnellan Hotel Crianlarich
Portnellan Crianlarich, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay