We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodbank Inn

Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children

About

#19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Contact
4 Balloch Galleries Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SS Scotland
Getting there
Glasgow Intl Airport11 mi
Glasgow Prestwick Airport35 mi
See all nearby hotels
10Reviews
0Q+A
3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
We called in for lunch - we had tried another place but they were not interested in serving us so we left and found this place - very pleased we did! service was fine; menu simple; food quality - outstanding! Helping size - ample; taste - outstanding. I would definitely come back
Read more
Immaculate room, less than immaculate service! Myself and a friend stayed here for 2 nights 2/3 June (we booked in January) as a convenient location for a charity event we were taking part in. We arrived around 19:00 Friday evening and were shown to our room by a friendly member of staff. Please note, this is not a hotel as such, merely 5 rooms above a trendy, lovely looking bar/restaurant. The rooms were very nicely decorated, if a little cramped. As we were spending very little time in the rooms, this wasn't an issue. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom is small, the shower door doesn't open fully due to the sink unit, but was fine for the two of us. During the night we appeared to have had a power cut. Further investigating showed it was just the sockets that were not working. As we were heading out for a 30+ mile charity hike, heading out with wet hair and mobile phones less than fully charged wasn't ideal or particularly safe. We spoke to other guests on the landing, who were in the same situation as us, and equally as frustrated as apparently it had already happened to these guests the previous day. We rang the number of the Woodbank Inn to be met by an answerphone. I left a message informing them of the issue as we were heading out at 07:30, and not due back for at least 12 hours. I further called the Inn twice during the day, to ask on progress rectifying the fault. The first time I called, the female I spoke to had no idea of the message left. The second time I phoned she said the electrician was due within the hour. We arrived back at the Inn at 20:45 after a very long tiring day. The sockets were working! But not for long it would seem! Again, during the night, the sockets had 'tripped' and once again there was no member of staff on site to inform of the problem. I spoke to a member of the kitchen staff at 09:00am who was waiting outside the Inn for his supervisor to let him in. He informed us that the issue had been ongoing for several days, and they thought the problem was due to a fault in Room 1 causing all the sockets to trip. And that over the past few days, rather than getting an electrician out, they'd just been resetting the fuse box themselves! Once the female supervisor started work, she knocked on our door to ask about the issue. She herself tried to reset the fuse box again, but without success. Several other furious guests also appeared in the landing. Rightly so too! The supervisor said she was going to ring the owner. With a 3+ hour drive back home ahead of us, we decided to cut our losses and leave. We spoke to the female supervisor once again downstairs in the restaurant. Understandably so, she was embarrassed, and very apologetic. She informed us that the issue has been ongoing since at least Tuesday and that an electrician had never been called, they'd just been resetting the fuse box themselves! She was unable to get hold of the owner, and was unsure what to do. She very kindly offered us a free breakfast (breakfast isn't included in the cost and isn't served before 9am when the staff come in), but a complimentary breakfast wasn't going to make up for the 'Fawlty Towers' establishment the Woodbank Inn is! Should you at the very least provide your guests with an emergency number to use should any problems arise during the night when the premises are unmanned? What if one of your guests had to rely upon a power source for medical support during the night? If there were any problems caused as a result of not having anyone available at night, you would be liable for not providing the required staff on site or emergency number. What use is it providing the number of the establishment downstairs which is manned by an answerphone, picked up (or not as the case was) until 9am at the earliest? We left our contact details with the supervisor who informed us the Manager/Owner would be in touch. Over 48 hours later, we've still heard nothing. Such a shame. The Woodbank Inn looks a lovely place, they've got the look just right. But the service is shocking! Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there. But the Tullie Inn just over the road is a fantastic eatery, and a great selection of alcoholic beverages too! What should have been a fantastic child-free weekend away for two friends, raising money for Macmillan, was turned sour by the Woodbank Inn!
Read more
Responded Jun 7, 2017
Thank you for your review and comments, We are not "hands on" Owners and rely upon our managers so it is interesting and informative to receive all feedback. 1. Unfortunately we had an issue with a malfunctioning kettle in one of the rooms which was not immediately apparent. This was causing the electricity to trip. Tripping switches do not require an electrician call out, simply some patience to locate the offending item. It has however highlighted to us the need to put each room on its own RCD Box rather than have one in the central corridor which serves all the sockets across all the rooms. We are looking to have this done as soon as practically possible. 2. There is meant to be an out of hours contact number in the welcome pack which goes to a mobile held by the responsible out of hours staff member and for more serious emergencies, the responsible staff member is meant to attend within 15 -30 minutes. There should also be a list of all the emergency services numbers too. We will be asking the manager to respond to us and explain why this was not so. I am sorry we managed to "sour" your fundraising weekend. Perhaps you can take some comfort knowing that the woodbank has a history of supporting McMillan. Sincerely
Read more
We booked one night and called to confirm we would be late arrivals. We were provided with a code by text and informed our key would be in the door. When we arrived at 23.40 and let ourselves in there was no key in the door as promised. We called the text number 5 times which was not answered and then received a text to say someone would be with us in 10 minutes. We then called again and we're given the number of another member of staff who informed us that they would be there in another 20 minutes. After the 20 minutes, we decided that no one was coming and started to walk back to our car as we presumed no one was coming. However around 30 minutes following our first call a member of staff arrived to let us in. The following morning, we left completely disatisfied with the employee who checked us out. We feel the hotel has a duty of care towards its customers and failed in this, should there have been an accident, incident, fire or anti social behaviour 30 minutes is far too long for a member of staff to attend. We still await the call back from the manager who we wished to raise our concerns with. I would never stay here again
Read more
Responded May 14, 2017
Dear D.D. I have spent some time with our staff looking into this matter and gathering evidence so a balanced view can be formed. I understand you were at a wedding and did not check in as required during normal times. To assist, our staff contacted you to give you the security codes for the main door and informed they had left your room key in the door. I understand that one of your fellow guests at the same wedding who was staying in the room across from you took it upon themselves to remove your key from the door and go to bed with it effectively locking you out. You called our out of hours number and a member of staff made haste to attend to give you an alternative key. Our records indicate they took little over 15 minutes from when you first contacted them. We have CCTV, alarm systems and door monitors which all record times. Our staff maintain that your conduct both at the time and the following morning was both abusive and threatening. Our staff on duty were females under the age of 25. They even had other members of the public from the restaurant offer to give witness statements and were in the process of calling the police to get you removed. I understand amongst your threats, you made comments about deliberately setting fire to the premises. All in i can understand your frustration about finding your room locked, however given this was caused by someone at the same wedding as you and not the staff or the hotel i think it completely unreasonable for you to behave the way you did. One matter we will agree upon is that you are not welcome back. sincerely
Read more
3 night stay to use as a base for biking in the area. Great location, right next to Balloch station. A well-equipped clean room and modern bathroom with good shower. Friendly staff happy to accommodate a couple of additional requests. Nice peaceful base for a short break.
Read more
Very easy to find and a friendly greeting when we arrived. The room was newly decorated and very clean and fresh but a bit tight for space as was the en suite. Fine for a few nights with little luggage (didn't find the drawers under the beds till we were leaving as we had pushed them together to give more space). I had to go and ask for the WiFi access and also there was no shampoo or shower gel provided in the room, they very gladly got a bottle of each for us when we asked. Very comfy beds, we slept really well even though the hotel is on the main road.
Read more
Responded Feb 7, 2017
Dear Molly W, Thank you for your constructive review, We have taken your constructive points on board and are making appropriate changes. Hopefully we will see you again soon. David M
Read more
Previous
12
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National ParkWest DunbartonshireBalloch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing