We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chandlers Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chandlers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chandlers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 291: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed one night dinner bed n breakfast, stayed in the Ferguson room lovely and clean, dinner was magic especially the deserts. The hosts were great and make you feel very much at home, we will be back, thanks for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davy B
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I are just back from a two day stay at Chandlers. We had a dinner bed and breakfast deal which we booked directly with the hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful location about 2 miles from Rothesay, and easy flat walk along side the water for most. If you are not able to make the walk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dawn K
Glasgow
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just stayed in the Chandler Hotel for 2 nights using a Groupon voucher and can thoroughly recommend this gem of a place! If returning to Rothesay I would book to stay here again, with or without a voucher deal. Our room was at the back of the hotel but we weren't fussed about a view.....it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GlasgowMrsH
Erskine
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed the weekend as a base whilst cycling on the Island. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We ate breakfast both mornings and had no complaints over the quality or quantity. Cereals, cooked breakfasts, juices, teas and coffee were available along with toast. Didn't eat in the evening as we were out on the bikes till late, but did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I have just had a lovely stay at Chandlers Hotel. We had booked two nights with another couple as part of an inclusive deal. The hotel is slightly outside of Rothesay centre and, as senior citizens, a walk into town was beyond us. There is a bus stop outside the hotel but we didn't use it so...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Artair
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'm bewildered at some of the more recent reviews. The location is lovely, the views exceptional, the food was very good, the presentation of reception rooms, restaurant etc was exceptional, cleanliness superb... so why would I choose to split hairs on a choice of bread or the availability of yogurt (when the choice of cereals, drinks, cooked breakfast options etc...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 0073932
Borders
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel through a Groupon voucher. We arrived just before 3 pm, and the chef gave us our key and told us where our room was. ..up 3 flights of stairs, which wasn't so good if you were elderly/unfit. The room was ok, the cushions on the bed and the bedspread was torn and worn. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SusanBorders
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stay here to attend a wedding at Mt Stuart. It was like chalk and cheese. The hotel needs a refurb upgrade but to be fair that is the Isle Bute. I thought it was expensive £79.00 p.person per night. I can get a 5 star hotel in Melbourne for that price. The hospitality was great and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ydnew0956
UK
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very pleasant stay. Room was very comfortable with a large bathroom containing a bath and a shower. Dined in the restaurant on one night and food was very good, (3 courses for £20) Lovely view from the bar area (and restaurant). Unfortunately not quite warm enough to sit on the decking area. Cooked Breakfast was also included in the deal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bambi123Uk
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We could for a stay with our baby daughter. Was promised a nice room with a bath as we had a small baby. The week before we were due to go we were called saying that the boiler was not working and we couldn't go. That was the only time available for up to go in that season. I emailed...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank Diane S
allisongibb, Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

I note with interest your comments. It was very unfortunate for you that your stay with us had to be cancelled. UNFORTUNATELY for us we had to cancel two full weeks including a bank holiday weekend of customers as we had no hot water boiler. See photos! The disadvantage of living on an island is that we don't have commercial...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascog
1.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
867 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
228 reviews
18.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
11.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,406 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Chandlers Hotel

Address: Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Ascog
Price Range: $78 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chandlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandlers Hotel Ascog, Isle Of Bute
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chandlers Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chandlers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Kennedy Room best”
 of 5 bubbles RnM_McEwan, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
“Although not beach front it is on the coast with views over to the mainland”
 of 5 bubbles LuJam, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“We upgraded from the basic room, and I guess this meant we got the lake view and possibly a bigger room.”
 of 5 bubbles 45gailp, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Titus0ates, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“The montgomery suite”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question