We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Esplanade Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Esplanade Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We visited the Esplanade for lunch and as it was a cold day opted for the macaroni and chips. The food was piping hot which was a bonus as lukewarm food always puts me off returning. The Esplanade is a nice place for lunch. Should we return to Rothesay I would be happy to return to the Esplanade.

Helpful?
Thank marionweir
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016

Went over for the day and asked a local for a recommendation for lunch the esplanade was suggested. Well the lunch was excellent, Home made curried sweet potato soup then we had another starter scallops black pudding and bacon with salad absolutely scrumptious. Followed by spotted dick which did not disappoint. Two glasses of wine all for £33.30. Excellent value... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

This is a typical old, tired but clean establishment, the pub/restaurant is very busy and food looks good, I can say breakfast was fine! There is no double glazing and unfortunately doesn't help with the drunken revellers passing by the main square through the night which did get very noisy. The bed had a plastic protective cover that crinkles every... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_C187
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Barbara for your review. You are correct, the restaurant is always busy and it is where the locals eat. Yes, we are a bit old fashioned but very clean and the rooms are also reasonably comfy. What happened with the bed we do not know. These are expensive beds and we use mattress protectors (not plastic) for good hygiene... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Lovely welcome and good service. We had the haddock which was excellent but the chips were not as good. We were told that it was the type of potato. Overall lunch was very good and I would recommend this resturant.

Helpful?
2 Thank undian
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

My husband and friends and I have just spent 2 nights in this iconic hotel, from the moment we arrived until the we left we were treated to a wonderful experience in Rothesay hospitality, the room although not ensuite were simply decorated and catered for every need, we had a room overlooking the square which was lovely, we ate in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan160752
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stopped at this lovely hotel for dinner last Sat 25th Oct with my husband and 3 children. Food was delicious and would definately go back. The staff were very friendly and it was a lovely atmosphere. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Visited Isle of Bute for day trip in Rothesay and decided to have a coffee - we are fussy coffee drinkers and their coffee was made from freshly ground coffee beans. Managed to get a table on their 1st floor restaurant in the long window overlooking the bay, stunning view of sunny blue sky and departing/arriving ferries. Decided to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita H
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice on a recent visit - the second time only because a family friend wanted to go. On both occasions my husband and I were acutely aware of the very overseasoned food. We tried the steak pie and the chicken special the first visit and the chorizo cassoulet and lasagne the second time and all were very salty.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aliandderek
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Not very good for our ratings but we suppose we need to take the good with the bad. Very over seasoned food? Its off to the kitchen to see what's going on and for a wee taste. The result? Well I like the food and being the busiest restaurant in Rothesay, I think I am... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rothesay hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Not the most appealing building from the outside, and the interior could probably do with a facelift too, but as a lunch venue it is ideal. Situated in the town centre, a short walk to the ferry and with views across the bay, it is handy for locals and travellers alike. The menu selection was pretty standard fare, soup, toasted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Finlay122
Cumbria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last week was my first visit to the Isle of Bute, and I was staying from Monday to Friday at the Glenburn - a fifteen minute walk into Rothesay. Went into the Esplanade Hotel on Tuesday looking for Pinot Grigio, as they were charging an eye watering £19.50 per bottle at the Shearings hotel! The co-owner, Angela I think, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeoneCumbria
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Bay Glenburn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#8 of 19 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade Hotel is situated prominently beside the harbour with spectacular views over Rothesay Bay. Offering good quality budget accommodation and excellent food, it is very popular with groups interested in fishing, walking and golfing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Esplanade Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing