Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course

Pod lunch
Traveler (814)
Room 8
Room & Suite (145)
Amazing capture of our 800 year old manor house, 4 luxury dining domes and Titan Sky Bar dome on a winters evening.
Dining (85)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Mon, Apr 22
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
$146
Fully refundable before Sun, Apr 21
$117
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Oldmeldrum
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
One of The Sunday Times Top 100 UK Hotels, Meldrum House is an 800 year old manor house set in 240-acres of Aberdeenshire countryside. Now a multi-award-winning luxury hotel, we have 51-bedrooms and an 18-hole golf course, ranked within the top 100 in Scotland. We are proud to have four luxury private dining domes that grace our lawns outside our Cave Bar as well as Titan Sky Bar, winner of ‘Best Bar’ in the county. Our Cave Bar boasts over 120 blends and malts as well as a private members’ whisky club with 44 lockers. We also have an outside Terrace, Drawing Room, 2 Restaurants, Ballroom and conference facilities, which complete the portfolio. Our private members’ golf course is open to hotel guests. There is a Clubhouse, Pro Shop and world-class practice facilities including a driving range. For guests looking for exclusive use but with all the benefits of the hotel on your doorstep, we have Chain Lodge at the entrance of our drive with 5 bedrooms all with ensuites, a lounge, dining room and kitchen.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Internet
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,121 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in a serene setting, Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course has garnered accolades for its array of luxurious amenities, including private dining domes and splendid rooms with stunning views. Guests have called out the professional and attentive service, although a few have experienced delays. The hotel's ambiance strikes a harmonious balance of traditional charm and modern elegance, ensuring a comfortable stay. Rooms are celebrated for their spaciousness and opulence, while cleanliness is of an exceptional standard throughout the property. While the value proposition receives mixed feedback, afternoon teas come highly recommended.
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,121Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 818
  • 170
  • 65
  • 40
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
billeeedee wrote a review Oct 2020
Strathkinness, United Kingdom396 contributions240 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just spent a very enjoyable couple of nights in Meldrum House. The external appearance is stunning and it sits in lovely grounds.

The room (627) was simply and tastefully furnished, well appointed and the large double bed provided a comfortable night’s sleep. The bathroom was very modern with a powerful shower which you didn’t want to step out off.

The menu was limited and it was disappointing that the menu was the same on both nights of our stay. The food was well cooked with reasonable portion sizes but not over generous.

Staff throughout the hotel were warm and friendly and provided an efficient level of service.

We were on a golfing break and, although the hotel has its own course, we felt that it was overpriced at £65/round for hotel residents. As a result we didn’t play the course as there are several other good courses within a 20 minute drive which provide better value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Jun 9, 2021
Dear Bill D, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us in October 2020, I am delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed one of our stunning estate king rooms. As you have kindly highlighted, the team are the Hotel's biggest asset and I have the pleasure of working with them on a daily basis. Our Knights Golf Course is ranked in the Top 100 Golf Courses in Scotland by Golf World, I am disappointed that you didn't get the opportunity to play on it. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily L wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I booked this hotel for 5 nights after not feeling confident to go abroad in case travel was affected by covid restrictions. Travelling from Suffolk (with our little dog) meant that we wanted to make sure we were in a comfortable place. This place totally delivered.
We have stayed in many dog friendly hotels and have been charged a hefty fee for him, £15 a night for our dog was a fair reflection of what we got in return- a dog bed, water and food bowl and little treats. Never have I had that in other hotels we have stayed in. We often get put in the ‘dog room’ in other places which is normally smelly and well, doggy! But our room in the Stables was clean, comfortable and had no signs of any previous canine visitors. The room was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was modern with a large bath and walk in shower. High end complementary shampoos and shower gels included in the room was a very welcoming touch. The mini fridge included fresh milk and bottle water which was restocked daily along with a deep room clean! There are just too many things to complement about the room- very happy with it.
Dining at the hotel was also very lovely, locally sourced food and a very polite service to go with it. The cave bar (stunning!) allowed our dog in and the staff were brilliant with offering him water etc. Breakfast was really nice too with and had good quality food in the right portions sizes, not to overindulge. The room service was also spot on and after a long day of travelling it was lovely to have a place to eat a nice meal in the room. We were also lucky enough to experience dome dining (which also allowed the dog!) this was amazing. Really lovely food, brilliant service and it was clear that everyone in the domes were treated like the experience was a sentimental treat.
Overall, I cannot express just how happy we were with our experience at Meldrum House and I am already eyeing up to book again in the near future. For dog owners- this hotel is perfect if you have a needy dog like ours! It’s very comfortable and our dog was treated like a guest and not an inconvenience. My partner and I had an amazing holiday and I would like to thank all of the staff for such a great experience. We will see you all soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Dear N5363OCemilyl, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. It's a real pleasure of mines receiving feedback from our valued guests and sharing it with the team on how we exceeded expectations. We are very fortunate here to have a charming 13th century mansion house steeped in history alongside our modern estate wing constructed in 2016 - the perfect blend of old and new being a balance for all guests. Our Scottish contemporary Stable rooms are the perfect setting to unwind with your furry friend. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in due course. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Marion S wrote a review Nov 2020
28 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Meldrum House on Saturday (I will review the stay separately) and we were lucky enough to get a private pod to have dinner under the stars. We wanted to have a special meal to celebrate what should have been our wedding day and this certainly exceeded out expectations! The pod was beautiful and well equipped, I was worried about being cold and had bought my coat but needn’t have worried. The pod was well heated, romantically light and there was a speaker to listen to our own music. The staff were a credit to the hotel, being outside away from the main dining areas they were still highly attentive and food was brought quickly and piping hot. The food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed every course. We were never left waiting or wanting for anything, our waiting staff were so friendly and funny.

For anyone still worried about dining out with covid restrictions this would be an excellent option. Hand sanitisers are everywhere, staff are wearing masks and you really are in your own private bubble without a care in the world.

It was also an lovely location for a romantic, memorable, delicious and fun meal, something we will remember for years to come.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Dear Marion S, Thank you for taking the time and sharing feedback on your recent dining experience at Meldrum House. We are genuinely delighted to read your very kind comments about the service and food quality here at the hotel. It really does make it all worthwhile when a guest enjoyed a visit as much as you did. The team have worked hard in ensuring the domes provide something different but have all the things you need for the perfect dining experience. I am delighted that you have enjoyed such a memorable occasion and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen M wrote a review Aug 2020
Inverness, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time guests, we decided on Meldrum House on the basis of past reviews, location and a good deal. Suffice to say we were not disappointed. From our arrival we were impressed with the warm welcome of the reception staff, a theme that was constant throughout our stay with friendliness and willingness to help common to those we came across. Our room (no. 2) was very clean and comfortable with views across the well kept golf course.
We had booked dinner and very much enjoyed our starter and mains which were served in the ballroom which was set out to ensure distance between tables. Breakfast the following morning was cooked to order.
Thank you for giving us a memorable stay at a beautiful location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Oct 21, 2020
Dear Stephen M, Thank you for taking the time and sharing feedback on your overnight experience with us here at Meldrum House. We are genuinely delighted to read your very kind comments about your overall stay here at the hotel. It really does make it all worthwhile when a guest enjoyed a visit as much as you did. As you have kindly established, one of many things that make Meldrum House stand out from the crowd is our award-winning team who have adapted to the new regulations very well. I have the pleasure of sharing your feedback with the team who will be delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. Best regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VickiDoubleYou wrote a review Oct 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom45 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited twice in one week. Once on a Saturday for afternoon tea and then again for lunch on my husbands birthday.

Hand sanitizer stations were plentiful, every guest had their temperature taken before getting past the front door and all staff and guests wearing masks whilst walking about.

The afternoon tea was served in front of the fire on a very wet day. The haggis bon bon, sausages roll and selection of cakes were lovely. The sandwiches not so much, or what was advertised on the menu, but we did feed this back before we left.

Lunch the following Tuesday was served in the ballroom. We were surprised how many walk ins there were, we could tell by how many were asked to complete track & trace.

Two courses for £15 or three courses for £20. Great value for money and we were spoilt for choice. The food was served quickly, piping hot and was very tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Dec 11, 2020
Dear VickiDoubleYou, Thank you for taking the time and sharing feedback on your recent afternoon tea and lunch at Meldrum House, it is always fantastic to see our guests return. We are genuinely delighted to read your kind comments about the hospitality here at the hotel and I have had the pleasure of passing this on to the team who have been working extremely hard throughout this challenging time. We have worked hard to provide a safe environment for our guests to comply with current regulations, so it is great to know you felt so comfortable upon your visit. This is one of our main objectives here at Meldrum House. I look forward to welcoming you back to Meldrum House. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mairead wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed at Meldrum House on many occasions but I was severely disappointed by our latest experience. One thing that has irked me for a while is the fact that whenever I’ve phoned the hotel reception to ask or query something before arriving, the phone always rings out. Yet on our recent stay I found two girls manning the reception desk at all times. One day I phoned on 5 different occasions at varying times of the day and still no answer. It took 5 hours for someone to phone me back after leaving a message.

The second thing is the Sunday menu/food. Having been a guest in the hotel, we looked at the menu at lunch time in the Cave Bar and thankfully decided that all the dishes were too heavy for what we wanted and instead wandered down to the clubhouse to eat. Thankfully we did because as we arrived for dinner in the Pineapple restaurant, we were presented with the exact same menu.

My cauliflower bhajis were charred and tasted burnt. The roast dinner sharing board was also barely warm with the meat tasting very dry. It made me think that the food had clearly been prepared earlier and left to sit. Not what you expect for a dinner at all, regardless of whether it’s a Sunday or not. The only reason we never complained at the time was the fact that we received a free bottle of wine and the food was discounted due to my partner being a golf club member.

At breakfast the next morning I waited 40 minutes to eat having been served the wrong order and then discovered one egg was over cooked and one was under cooked on my eggs royal so I ended up eating half.

Normally the food is very good at Meldrum House but I just really didn’t enjoy our stay because of this this time. The standard of the rooms are always second to none and my partner loves being a golf member there with the clubhouse always serving good food with plenty of choice. However if the service and food in the hotel don’t improve, then I wouldn’t be rushing back to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Mairead_McLoughlin, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Meldrum House. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for not exceeding your high expectations from your previous stays at the property. The Sunday offering at the hotel has been in place now for some time and something that has been well received and very popular with our patrons. I have shared your disappointing feedback with our kitchen team and will certainly aim to make quick improvements. I am thrilled to hear you both enjoyed the clubhouse offering and I'll take pleasure sharing the feedback with the catering team. Best regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager Best regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela M wrote a review Jan 2021
30 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As previous travellers have noted the general ambience was good with, yes, lovely fires in the entrance lobby and cave bar. What a shame the roaring fire in the beautiful sitting room was replaced by the presence of candles. During these covid restricted times we stayed for three days so that we could see our family, who live nearby. Our exceptionally clean bedroom was lovely with beautiful views of the golf course and the majority of the staff were friendly and attentive. All was going well until our family visited for dinner on the Monday evening. Two of our young granddaughters, aged six and seven, are diabetic type one and one of them is also sadly coeliac. The reception staff had reassured my daughter several weeks previously that the gluten-free requirement would be attended to by the chef. I repeated this requirement on our initial Sunday arrival at the hotel reception. At the beginning of our meal the chef highlighted those dishes, which were gluten free. Sadly and worryingly the desserts the children requested were not those eventually delivered, and ,thankfully, we managed to remove the non gluten-free dessert from my coeliac daughter before she started to eat it. My husband received a different dessert to what he had ordered as well. Service up to this point was exceptionally slow. We were then told that the smarties on the sundae, which had been ordered, were not actually the gluten free variety as originally highlighted as gluten-free by the chef. After 2 hours for a 2 course dinner for 4 adults and three children under the age of 10, we would appreciate reassurance from the management that this was a one off, never to be repeated experience. After our stay a survey was sent online to me, which I duly completed. I have had no reply, despite specifically requesting one. I also note that, so far, negative comments do not receive a response from the the hotel management on this website. I do hope that this will now change.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Mar 23, 2022
Dear G6844NEangelam, Thank you for sharing your experience with the team and I following you three night stay at Meldrum House. I am naturally disappointed to hear about the service issues relating to your second meal in the hotel. The food & beverage teams view dietaries in high regard and is something that is trained to all members prior to guest interaction. I have raised your feedback as a matter of urgency and we'll aim to make quick improvements to prevent this occurring again in the future. I am thrilled to hear the room exceeded your expectations and I had the pleasure of sharing your positive feedback with our Head of Housekeeping. Corrective training has since been implemented and I do hope you'll find our service much improved on your next visit. Best regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike T wrote a review May 2021
Cheltenham, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed recently for 2 nights with friends at this beautiful hotel.
We were given a very comfortable and well appointed room - it was spotless and had all the luxury touches such as robes, luxury shampoo, shower gel etc. Also a very comfortable bed and soft sheets.
The food was outstanding- we dined one night in a dome, which was definitely an experience that I would recommend. Top notch service and food in beautiful surroundings.
Breakfast was also delicious- such a good selection all brought to the table. I loved my full Scottish breakfast!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They really made our stay special.
We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Jun 17, 2021
Dear 976miket, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your 5 star feedback on your recent stay with us here at Meldrum House. We are genuinely delighted to read your very kind comments about the service here at the hotel. It really does make it all worthwhile when a guest enjoys a visit as much as you did and I have the delightful job of passing your feedback on to the team. The team have worked hard in ensuring the domes provide something different but have all the things you need for the perfect dining experience so I am delighted that you got to experience this. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gmitch1234 wrote a review Dec 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom40 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Turret Suite for my wife’s 60th birthday and reserved a dome for a evening meal at night. When booking through the website and my follow up emails about rooms and dining were replied to promptly and put me at ease about our booking. On arrival we were warmly greeted at reception and got keys for the room. The room was fantastic, very big, the bathroom was huge, bathtub was brilliant according to my wife and the shower in the turret was excellent and unusual. It was little bit cold but we had a Dyson heater in the room that we used to warm up. Giving the age of the building and size of room and it was freezing outside it was understandable and did not put us off.
There was a small decanter of whiskey in the room, but we not really whiskey drinkers but what really impressed us was there was small bottle of milk in the fridge we could have with our tea/coffee. We have traveled all over the world and usually get powdered milk or the rubbish little containers so to us this was a nice classy touch.

We went to the cave bar for pre dinner drinks, service was good and nice little bar area. Then we got shown to the dome. First time we have used a dome and it was quite a unique experience which we enjoyed, got to use Bluetooth speaker and play our music from our phone. Considering it was freezing outside dome was quite warm, the heater did stop at one point and it quite quickly got bit cold but waiter fixed straight away and all was good.

Food was lovely no complaints and service was excellent, timing’s between courses was good so not sure about these other negative reviews. We actually felt sorry for the waiting staff, in and out of the cold can’t be easy. We thought the staff were excellent throughout. One thing we both really enjoyed was our main course of Beef cheek which we both thought was delicious.

Breakfast was very good, service was good and food hot. (Only thing I was disappointed in was it was not proper fresh orange but that’s me being very picky)

We will go back and I’m really surprised we did not know about the place before as we only live 30 minutes away, but if you looking for nice romantic night away can’t fault it.

I don’t do many reviews only if it really deserves it or if it misleads you. So Meldrum house thanks for great night and dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Turret room was great and dome dining very romantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Dec 27, 2022
Dear gmitch1234, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback from your recent Stay and Dining Experience with the team and I here at Meldrum House. I am delighted to read your positive comments throughout the guest journey for such a special occasion and have the pleasure of sharing your feedback with the team. It really does make it worth-while when a guest enjoys their stay as much as you have! I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in due course. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HRH-Garden wrote a review Oct 2020
Aberdeen98 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were going to Meldrum house for a meal from my brothers 40th birthday. There were 6 adults, three 5 year olds and a 2 year old.
We were in an estate room, which is in a new wing that was built recently (I say recently but its been 5 years since I have been there so within that time) and it was absolutely huge with great views across the golf course.
The shower was great, beds were comfy and was just very spacious. They had blackout curtains as well, which was good considering the size of the window in the room.
Dinner was in a private dining room and was great. I had a burger, my wife had a beef dish. The desert was great, cookie dough with ice cream and the drinks were great too - they have a good cocktail menu, the only thing that took me by surprise was there was a bit too much orange liqueur in the old fashioned cocktail but it was ok, its not worth knocking the place back for that.
Breakfast was in the ball room and was nice. One small criticism is that it was a wee bit slow, but when you have two kids in a restaurant during a pandemic, you just want to get in and get out!
There are hand sanitising stations all over the hotel and also a good temperature checking machine at reception. All staff are also in masks - I felt completely safe when I was there - no issues at all.

Thank you Meldrum House for letting us feel a piece of normality again during these unusual times.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordan Charles, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Dear HRH-Garden, Thank you for taking the time and sharing feedback on your recent dining and stayover experience at Meldrum House. We are genuinely delighted to read your very kind comments about the service and food quality here at the hotel. It really does make it all worthwhile when a guest enjoyed a visit as much as you did. Special occasions and our food offering is something Meldrum House has a first class reputation in, and I have the pressure of sharing your kind comments with the team and thanking them for their continued hard work. We have worked hard to provide a safe environment for our guests to comply with current regulations, so it is great to know you felt so comfortable upon your visit. This is one of our main objectives here at Meldrum House. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Jordan Charles / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from spgnana
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom77 contributions65 helpful votes
There is lots to do in & around Aberdeenshire. 2 pubs in Oldmeldrum that serve good food. Inverurie about 7/8 miles away also has lots of restaurants. Castle trail & Whisky trails are close by too
Answer from jad13
Peterhead, United Kingdom83 contributions28 helpful votes
Really apologise- didn’t see this until now . Hope you got sorted out .
Llisa M asked a question Mar 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
Can you keep the dressing downs that they provide?
Answer from Rugbymania2002
Elgin, United Kingdom17 contributions29 helpful votes
Definitely not
Alison A asked a question Aug 2021
Elgin, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
Which rooms have beautiful bath tubs?
Answer from 57Andrea1957
Elgin, United Kingdom182 contributions81 helpful votes
Frances and Michelle.... unfortunately I didn’t stay on this occassion.... only had afternoon tea in a dome. I am so sorry.
notsosweetdreams asked a question Nov 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom41 contributions22 helpful votes
Hi is your hotel open now
Answer from Gary
Aberdeen, United Kingdom69 contributions90 helpful votes
Yes it is still open
FoodHeaven81 wrote a tip Apr 9
Aberdeen, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a bespoke restaurant experience so I would recommend booking ahead"
Read full review
Emma B wrote a tip Apr 7
Aberdeen, United Kingdom86 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely book a table for food or drinks as the bar gets busy. The snug is really cute warm spot for drinks too"
Read full review
Lorraine G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A must especially for a special occasion "
Read full review
david p wrote a tip Mar 2024
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great hotel to relax in"
Read full review
leighanne wrote a tip Mar 2024
Aberdeen, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s actually beautiful in the dome when it’s raining!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oldmeldrum area.
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireOldmeldrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MELDRUM HOUSE COUNTRY HOTEL & GOLF COURSE $101 ($̶2̶1̶5̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Which popular attractions are close to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Nearby attractions include Haddo House (3.6 miles), Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life (4.5 miles), and Tolquhon Castle (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eat on the Green, Morris's Hotel & Restaurant, and The Murly Tuck Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Haddo House (3.6 miles), Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life (4.5 miles), and Tarves Medieval Tomb (3.7 miles).
Does Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars